We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kirklands”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melrose
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kirklands Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 12 Melrose B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My wife and I have stayed a few times at Kirklands and have been satisfied with our stay at every occasion, normally we only stay for one night as we visit an aunt much further north of Inverness,on this occasion we stayed longer in order to see the local attractions,'though it rained pretty bad we still got about. Douglas told us sites to explore and where to eat but and as we have visited before the advice on new places was welcome. I won't go on about Kirklands as it has all been said in previous comments but maybe enough to say we will be back.Thanks Douglas and
Penny.

Room Tip: We have tried them all and have no preferences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

We had a very welcoming reception when we arrived . This two bed roomed cosy cottage had a lovely feel to it from walking in the front door, which had a beautiful blue clematis growing beside it. Cosy and warm with electric blankets a treat at bed time. Set next to a great B&B in very pretty grounds. The cottage looked out over blue painted stables (unused)and a cobbled courtyard. We have enjoyed our stay and will definitely return either to the cottage or B&B to explore more of the most pretty part of the Borders.

Room Tip: All beds very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We had the pleasure of stopping here for 2 nights on the way to Forfar. Douglas is the perfect host, nothing is too much trouble and the room was perfect for our needs, it was more of a wing in the house with 2 bedrooms and a lovely bathroom solely for our use. Our 2 kids were fine in the other room, and Douglas was happy enough to let our dog stay with us in the room. The breakfast is really something else! You certainly won't be stuck for choice or quantity and the quality is extremely high. It's probably not the cheapest B&B in the area, but I don't mind paying extra for facilities as good as we experienced here. A hidden Gem.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrewsizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Found on the Internet and so pleased we did. Douglas and Penny are excellent hosts, their attention to detail is fantastic, breakfasts are wonderful, can honestly say the best B&B we have ever stayed in. We definitely be going back...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Highly recommended! This place is lovely!!

My father, infant son, and I stayed at Kirklands Bed and Breakfast in early July 2013. We had an excellent stay all around! The hosts were friendly and welcoming - offering travel suggestions and maps and happily attending to our queries and needs (providing a travel cot and highchair for us etc.). The Bed and Breakfast was elegant and the grounds beautiful - with a lovingly decorated set of rooms (a common room for guests use on top of one's bedroom/bath) and well-tended yards. It's ideally located for a visit to Melrose or as a 'home-base' for a trek through the Borders. Breakfast was superb as well - with a gourmet fruit salad provided to compliment a hearty Scottish breakfast.

I cannot say enough to recommend Kirklands! Frankly, I think it's quite under priced for all that's offered/included. It's a 'must-stay'.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indigo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Had a lovely weekend stay in Melrose during the Sevens weekend. The rooms were tastefully decorated and we received a warm welcome with the offer of tea in the guest sitting room on arrival. Penny was most helpful, giving us information on the tournament and the daughter of the house was a wonderful hostess for both our breakfasts which were very good. The only negative was the spa bath -which on use produced very off putting black sediment - I thought this was as it had not been used for a while but occurred when my daughters tried it too. I would not let this put me off going back however as overall we thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melrose1974, Owner at Kirklands Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Bath problem now rectified - pump was faulty and has been replaced, sorry for inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

When we stayed at Kirklands in September, we happened to be the only guests. Douglas's wife was away so it was just the three of us. He made us feel like we were his houseguests, not just paying guests. His advice of places to go or eat made it easier for us to pick what to do. The only problem with his breakfasts were their size - they were huge, even when we had him cut down the size each day. Someone mentioned it being cold in the hotel. Yes, it was chilly but Douglas offered to turn on the heat and we said no, we like to sleep in a cool room. We enjoyed our stay here very much.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeteranTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melrose hotels
7.1 mi away
Fauhope House
Fauhope House
#1 of 1 in Gattonside
271 reviews
6.5 mi away
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
6.4 mi away
King's Arms Hotel
King's Arms Hotel
#5 of 7 in Melrose
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
323 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Melrose
277 reviews
6.4 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#4 of 7 in Melrose
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirklands Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirklands Bed and Breakfast

Address: Kirklands House, Melrose TD6 9DL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Melrose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Melrose
Price Range: £60 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kirklands House is an 18th century (circa 1730) former dower house situated in the beautiful Scottish Borders near Melrose. Set in 10 acres of parkland and gardens, the property is 5 minutes walk from the Rivers Tweed or Leader and an ideal base for fishing (freezer on site), cycling or walking - storage is available for all of these activities. Although pets are not permitted in the house external facilities for your canine companion are available although prior notice is required. A family suite is available at Kirklands as well as individual twin and double rooms with their own private facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kirklands Bed And Breakfast Melrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing