We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food, warm friendly atmosphere ,value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
George & Abbotsford Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We had a great stay, under new management, the food was excellent, everyone was very friendly, the new owners haven't been in long and had started decorating.the rooms are to be redecorated but they were very clean and warm with comfy beds,would recommend

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Band1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (447)
There are newer reviews for George & Abbotsford Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

409 - 415 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2013

My familiy and I (4 generations) stayed for Hogmany. We all had a most enjoyable time whilst at the George and Abbotsford. The food,,breakfast and evening meal was excellent and plentiful. The entertainment was also really good culminating in a full pipe band coming into the hotel to play a number of songs but best of all was the welcome from the new owners who could not have been nicer or attentive towards us. The new owners have now said that they are embarking on a renovation of the rooms in the hotel that are inadequate which we could see from the areas which have already been updated, We will definitely stay again as the hotel (complete with ghost) should look fabulous when completed,

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Perry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

I booked this hotel for Friday 21st September but did not consult Trip Advisor first. Myself and 2 pals planned to do the 4 Abbeys cycle route and needed an overnight stay where our cycles could be stored securely. The G&A were on the official list of places supporting this cycle route with these facilities and I had trouble getting 3 single rooms in the B&B’s at short notice. We were offered 3 single rooms at a good rate, but on reviewing trip advisor afterwards I began to wonder if I had made a mistake. I am pleased to stay our stay was more akin to those staying earlier this year or late last year than the those providing the more recent very critical reviews. The staff were very helpful, the food we had was pretty good and reasonably priced and overall gave us what we needed. Yes the hotel is a bit run down and needing refurbishment, but there is significant competition in Melrose and I suspect this establishment is missing out on the trade which might help get them to the point where they can afford to do this, We ate at the bar at lunchtime on Friday and in the evening after our first day's cycling. We enjoyed most of our food and the real ale was excellent. My pudding at the evening meal was the only low point. A few simple well made sweets would help improve this part of their evening menu. The room I had was quiet and comfortable. No problem with hot water. Both bath and shower were ok. My only gripe was that the duvets seemed to be narrow and with no under sheet kept sliding off during the night. Breakfasts in the morning were ample with a reasonable choice. Worth considering if the price is right.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back and consider taking a spare sheet !
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Everything seemed to be a disappointment. The room and the hotel was grubby, and seemed to be suffering from a lack of general maintenance. No bath mat almost caused an accident, clean towels were dirty, the tv was like a postage stamp, the carpets weren't vacuumed. The hotel is suffering from understaffing, poor management, and general neglect. I've stayed there a few times for golfing breaks, but I won't be going back.

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sensayuma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the George and abbottsford in July for 2 nights after discovering there was nowhere else with availability in Melrose.

When we arrived the reception area was dated but ok, it's the only place I saw a cleaner.

Once we started to climb the staircase to our room we realised the hotel was very dirty. The stairs didn't look like they had been hoovered in ages.

When we entered our room it was old fashioned with cobwebs hanging from the ceiling, wallpaper falling off the walls and the bathroom was dirty. All black around the bath.

We had breakfast alone, the hotel was like a ghost town.

Melrose is beautiful, so come on George and abbottsford, the potential is huge but sorry, we will not be returning!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adnats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This hotel is shocking i paid £95 for a double room, that had a cracked window, mould in the bath, the shower on gave you hot water no cold, the toilet had brown stains on and the bed was like lying on a brick. shocking place for £95 - atleast dick turpin had the good grace to wear a mask

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank allan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

My husband booked us in for Saturday night. Advised on phone we'd get Room 20 - a lovely room overlooking the garden. Arrived and were given Room 5 - apparently Room 20 was unavailable. Room 5 had wallpaper hanging off walls and ceiling. A huge dusty cobweb hung off the ceiling over the bed. The headboard was thick with dust. The bedding was old and washed out. Everything about this hotel was shabby. We decided not to stay as the £84 charge was excessive for this very poor standard. Went a few doors up to Burt's Hotel which was only slightly dearer but was welcoming, freshly decorated and immaculately clean.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melrose
0.9 mi away
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
0.0 mi away
King's Arms Hotel
King's Arms Hotel
#5 of 7 in Melrose
131 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Melrose
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#4 of 7 in Melrose
155 reviews
3.1 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George & Abbotsford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George & Abbotsford Hotel

Address: High Street, Melrose TD6 9PD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Melrose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Price Range: £75 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — George & Abbotsford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run hotel we took over the hotel in Dec 12; we are under refurbishment at the moment to bring this good old B listed hotel back to its former glory. We have 32 en suite rooms. The rooms are warm, clean and we can offer a warm welcome. We have a lovely bear garden in the middle of the hotel. Families and dogs welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your George & Abbotsford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George & Abbotsford Hotel Melrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing