We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of George & Abbotsford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
George & Abbotsford Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Me and my other half was with the urquart coach and found the whole stay amazing rooms were nice and clean and tidy the food was great friendly staff great food will be coming back again with out a doubt we might even come back for Christmas we enjoyed it that much

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rangers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    108
    61
    43
    85
See reviews for
62
171
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

hotel very clean,friday dinner was lovely,breakfast not great was told it was buffet but wasnt,only allowed 2 slice bacon a buffet is when u help urself,saturday dinner was inedable,burnt mince rock hard dumplings trifle with no jelly,custard,or sponge, when complained andreas attitude was terrible,and could not be offered a substitute as they counted us and cooked exactly to numbers,no bread or butter on tables,would not recommend this place to anyone, been on many urquart deals always great till we hit this one,urquart should be removing this one,not making them look good..

Room Tip: too many stairs not suitable for elderly or disabled no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanette j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andria g, Owner at George & Abbotsford Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Sorry you was not happy we do like all the other hotels do for breakfast and have a member of staff serving due to HOT SERFACES we do a 7 item breakfast and a choice of 3 types of eggs Sorry we do not put bread and butter on the tables but in the welcome talk if says if you would like bread and butter with meal it is available on request ,you was offered sticky toffee pudding as an alternative to the trifle, but was not taken. Orders are taken at breakfast for evening meal this is to cut down on food waste and to help and speed up service at meal time. Sorry about the stairs but the hotel is 300 year old, and it says on David Urquarts web site about stairs and there no lifts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melrose hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

6 off us stayed for one night to attend a family funeral.
Bedrooms were comfortable and clean.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
Food was good and very reasonably priced.
Hotel is in the centre of Melrose.
I would definitely stay again, hopefully in happier circumstances.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clazzerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

i have just returned from a 5 day stay at this hotel and i couldn't fault it at all, the staff were great as was the food and the upgrade is well under way. my room was clean and tidy and the bed was spotless, if you asked the staff for anything they were very obliging and the locals made my friend and i very welcome in the hotel. i would like to wish the management all the best for the future, thanks again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

From Canada and was looking forward to a nice Breakfast .The sausage dried out and overcooked ,bacon could not cut with a knife and the black pudding was burnt to a crisp .The meat was not cooked that morning . The rooms were okay very clean and had a on suite .Service was good but could not get over what they put down for us to try and eat for breakfast

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

As per my husband's review, our meal at this hotel was by far the worst we had in our two week Scotland trip. However the young waitress was very sweet and we saw no point when she asked us how our meal was, to list all its many deficiencies (given that her role merely was to deliver it to us). We accepted her kindly invitation to sit in the lobby after our meal and use the internet to do our emails. It was a very unpleasant experience suddenly to be verbally attacked by a staff member (maybe she was the owner, she did not identify herself) and loudly ordered to leave the building. The owner's response to my husband's review makes it clear that she considers such behaviour towards G & A customers is acceptable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Felicity G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Just been refurbished we had a lovley stay clean Room good food the room was a good size ,good staff food and bar nice will go back.the garden is nice to sit out in lots of car parking very old hotel lots of charm we was very impresed with breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melrose
1.0 mi away
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
0.0 mi away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Melrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#4 of 7 in Melrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
3.1 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Clovenfords Hotel
The Clovenfords Hotel
#2 of 3 in Galashiels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George & Abbotsford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George & Abbotsford Hotel

Property: George & Abbotsford Hotel
Address: High Street, Melrose TD6 9PD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Melrose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — George & Abbotsford Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run hotel we took over the hotel in Dec 12; we are under refurbishment at the moment to bring this good old B listed hotel back to its former glory. We have 32 en suite rooms. The rooms are warm, clean and we can offer a warm welcome. We have a lovely bear garden in the middle of the hotel. Families and dogs welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your George & Abbotsford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George & Abbotsford Hotel Melrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing