We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
George & Abbotsford Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We have been visiting the bar at this hotel over the last 10 years approx. The recent change of hands has really boosted it. Everywhere inside and out is so much cleaner. Stuart behind the bar is a sweetheart . We haven't stayed here so can't comment on rooms etc. this couple are obviously working hard to drive this business.

Room Tip: Did not stay so can't comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gubby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

I have just returned from a Friday to Monday stay at the george and abbotsford in melrose and i was really impressed with the hotel . The owners are lovely people who are working very hard to provide an excellent service to their guests and they are very pleasant and helpful, the hotel is situated right in the middle of Melrose and is comfortable, very clean, flat screen TV's in the rooms and the food is of a high standard I would be happy to recommend this hotel to anyone and will certainly return in the future.

Room Tip: I was in three of the bedrooms as i was there with friends and visited their rooms every room I saw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janice w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I cant thank the owners and staff of this hotel enough for catering for my and 2 of my friends special needs regarding our diets. I am allergic to many ingredients and my friends are on glutton free diets. Andrea and staff went out of their way to make sure we had food to suit our needs. I have never experienced such service and the food was fab. Many thanks Andrea. Will be back to your hotel in the spring. Margaret

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We spent last night at this hotel. What an improvement from a couple years ago!!! Warm and welcoming, extremely comfortable and clean, excellent food and great service. We will definately return. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glendaveny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My wife and I decided to try out the food at the G&A as we discovered it is now under new management. It was simply stunning and Will the chef clearly knows what he is about! The smoked salmon starter was absolutely delicious as was the fillet steak which is sourced from Shaws butchers (who have a very good repuation locally). The coffee mouse for desert was to die for!
We cant recommend this highly enough. The staff were attentive and efficient and made us feel really welcome. This was a much welcome break from dining at Burts Hotel up the road which has seriously gone downhill of late. The rooms have been recently refurbished to a high standard and clean and airy. You will struggle to find better value for money in the Borders.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blokerods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Well where do I start this hotel would benefit from total closure, the food is served cold and bland the whole place is freezing throughout the day and night the management do not seem to be bothered about the basics of running a hotel but are more than eager to take your hard earned cash quickly enough David Urquhart should remove this hotel from their border tour and perhaps use a more proficient hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 805jimmymac55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We were at the G&A 4th Nov. till 8th Nov. with David Urqhuart travel
The hotel is in a brilliant location right in the centre of Melrose
Although everything is basic it was good value for money
The staff are brilliant.
John & Helen Stuart

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnboyaberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melrose
0.0 mi away
King's Arms Hotel
King's Arms Hotel
#5 of 7 in Melrose
133 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
0.1 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#4 of 7 in Melrose
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Melrose
276 reviews
0.0 mi away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
322 reviews
20.9 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George & Abbotsford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George & Abbotsford Hotel

Address: High Street, Melrose TD6 9PD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Melrose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Price Range: £56 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — George & Abbotsford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run hotel we took over the hotel in Dec 12; we are under refurbishment at the moment to bring this good old B listed hotel back to its former glory. We have 32 en suite rooms. The rooms are warm, clean and we can offer a warm welcome. We have a lovely bear garden in the middle of the hotel. Families and dogs welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your George & Abbotsford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George & Abbotsford Hotel Melrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing