We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeding Expectations, with Outstanding Food, Staff and Residential Proprietors”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
George & Abbotsford Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Exceeding Expectations, with Outstanding Food, Staff and Residential Proprietors”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Having stayed on a David Urquhart three night coach tour we found the staff very friendly, caring and efficient lead from the front by committed new proprietors who were making every effort to improve and update the hotels facilities.
The rooms were warm, comfortable and clean with all appropriate facilities but due due to fresh paintwork in our room 8 the window would not open.
Tasty home cooked food was served for Breakfast and Dinner with Dinner Menu choice being made at breakfast. The food was fresh, hot and exceeded expectations, ensuring clean plates and satisfied looks on the faces of the 7 members of our group. The Dinner Menu during our stay included such choices as Smoked Haddock Fish Pie, Aberdeen Angus Meatballs and Pasta, Goats Cheese Tart, Salmon Fish Cakes, and Haggis including the option of a Vegetarian Haggis on Burns Night.
The Burns Night Dinner on the 25 January 2014 and entertainment were also excellent.
We will definitely return and wish the proprietors and staff every success in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8 but others of our party had rooms 5 & 6 which were nicer than ours but we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingman2150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    112
    64
    49
    93
See reviews for
67
179
23
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

havin stayed at the george and abbbotsford a few weeks back with a coach tour i was disgusted at the poor managment skills andrea holds she is very rude and kept persisting we write nice comments on here and according to other members of staff who might i add are polite but slow at dealing with a request she is constantly asking coaches to do it well i am sorry i will not be returning on a tour to this hotel there are many lovely hotels to be visiting in the scottish borders. the rooms are freezing sometimes even the sheets are covered in stains and smells damp and musty in the rooms!!! the food comes out cold when it is getting served and it is always rushed of you while you are still chewing your last mouthful and even at that it tasted microwaved and slightly off at that. after speaking to others on our return most agreed that stuart and andrea have took on far much what they can handle and rather than speaking down at people you really need some social and hospitality skills digusted and i will be contacting david urquhart to complain and make sure nobody else has this problem. absolutly disgusted

Room Tip: bring water bottles or a extra duvet for warmth
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katerine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andria g, Guest Relations Manager at George & Abbotsford Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
We have lots of happy visitors that stay at the G & A l wish you would have said something at the time then we may have helped you ,if you was having problems with your heating you should have told us as the rooms are controlled by yourself so you can have then any temp you require .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melrose hotels

Melrose, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Disappointing to have had to argue the toss about the quality of a lamb-burger. I would have been comfortable walking away with “honours” even, but was requested to pay for the chips consumed from the meal returned. Overview: Surprised.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cust0mer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bath
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We have been visiting the bar at this hotel over the last 10 years approx. The recent change of hands has really boosted it. Everywhere inside and out is so much cleaner. Stuart behind the bar is a sweetheart . We haven't stayed here so can't comment on rooms etc. this couple are obviously working hard to drive this business.

Room Tip: Did not stay so can't comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gubby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I have just returned from a Friday to Monday stay at the george and abbotsford in melrose and i was really impressed with the hotel . The owners are lovely people who are working very hard to provide an excellent service to their guests and they are very pleasant and helpful, the hotel is situated right in the middle of Melrose and is comfortable, very clean, flat screen TV's in the rooms and the food is of a high standard I would be happy to recommend this hotel to anyone and will certainly return in the future.

Room Tip: I was in three of the bedrooms as i was there with friends and visited their rooms every room I saw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janice w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I cant thank the owners and staff of this hotel enough for catering for my and 2 of my friends special needs regarding our diets. I am allergic to many ingredients and my friends are on glutton free diets. Andrea and staff went out of their way to make sure we had food to suit our needs. I have never experienced such service and the food was fab. Many thanks Andrea. Will be back to your hotel in the spring. Margaret

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We spent last night at this hotel. What an improvement from a couple years ago!!! Warm and welcoming, extremely comfortable and clean, excellent food and great service. We will definately return. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glendaveny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melrose
0.9 mi away
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
0.0 mi away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Melrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#4 of 7 in Melrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.0 mi away
King's Arms Hotel
King's Arms Hotel
#5 of 7 in Melrose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
3.1 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George & Abbotsford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George & Abbotsford Hotel

Property: George & Abbotsford Hotel
Address: High Street, Melrose TD6 9PD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Melrose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — George & Abbotsford Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run hotel we took over the hotel in Dec 12; we are under refurbishment at the moment to bring this good old B listed hotel back to its former glory. We have 32 en suite rooms. The rooms are warm, clean and we can offer a warm welcome. We have a lovely bear garden in the middle of the hotel. Families and dogs welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your George & Abbotsford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George & Abbotsford Hotel Melrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing