We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
George & Abbotsford Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
scot
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Arrived as part of a coach tour last month and was very Dissapointed with the room it is stated that all rooms have been refurbished but the room we were allocated was obviously not. It was old fashioned with a very thin type of duvet and a grubby blanket.during our 4day stay the room wasn't cleaned only bins emptied, also the bathroom was ignored. As for the food it was mainly from frozen the vegetables were either mashed or solid and cold. Breakfast was almost passable but cheaply made. There is a problem with management, a bit of bully boy tactics so complain and BEWARE!!!

Room Tip: Don't dare ask for good room, or on your own head be it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank satJock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    112
    64
    50
    96
See reviews for
67
182
23
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Arrived by coach [David Erquhart] friday afternoon to a friendly welcome frome owners,told meal times,evening meal 1815,breakfast 0800-0915.
1815,arrived for evening meal,large cold dining room told that we cannot be served until we are lectured about fire safety.Thirty minutes later my menu choice is served haddock,it could have been sole,it was so hard it would have done well on my shoe,the chips would have made good nails.
I suppose you pay a small price you get small meals.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikedot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jarrow
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

call in here as it was raining and the first place we came to. menu was limited. went for the roast pork loin. pork was tasteless, cabbage was day befores reheated, turnip was nice but we literally got a tablespoon full on the plate but the yorkshire pud was delicious. For the starter we had homemade leek and potato soup this however was excellent. the building itself was a bit drab glad i wasn't stopping here. if we had more time i would left and gone elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed at the George and Abbotsford for 3 nights, 14 to 17 February with an Urquharts tour.

On our arrival we found the room quite cold, however we turned on the radiator and were soon very comfortable, The room was freshly decorated, very clean and had a generous supply of tea and coffee making materials. The bed was crisp and fresh. The en-suite toilet/shower was perfectly adequate and, again, very clean.

We had three dinners each over our stay, all from short but imaginative menus, of very good quality and generous portions, and beautifully served by quick, polite servers. Our three breakfasts were from a hot buffet containing all the traditional favourites, You could eat as much as you could possibly want.

There was entertainment, on the Friday and Saturday nights, which we enjoyed, and we found the atmosphere in the bar very cheery and friendly.

Our week-end was a great success and we intend to return before too long. We really can recommend the George and Abbotsford, they certainly impressed us, It is obvious that the management have put a lot of effort into the running of the hotel and I think that the service given in what is, after all, a 2 star hotel is really excellent. Douglas H

Room Tip: Our room, number 12, faced the front of the building looking over the main street. However Melrose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We have just returned home after spending the week-end at this hotel and I cannot praise the owners and staff enough.The food was excellent throughout as was the service.The staff were all very friendly and helpful,nothing was too much trouble to all of them,we were made very welcome from the first contact to the last.This is a very old and well established Hotel but full of old world character.This Holiday weekend was arranged through David Urquhart Travel and I for one thank them for choosing this hotel for us.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 342Robmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Had a bar supper in their restaurant last week,great after visiting friends in the area.the location in the small borders town is great and this place could be really good but that's about.it .Food was just ok .The Bar noise at times was a bit off-putting but i suppose it added to the zero atmosphere in the "Restaurant" I don't think we would visit again.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melrose hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Having stayed on a David Urquhart three night coach tour we found the staff very friendly, caring and efficient lead from the front by committed new proprietors who were making every effort to improve and update the hotels facilities.
The rooms were warm, comfortable and clean with all appropriate facilities but due due to fresh paintwork in our room 8 the window would not open.
Tasty home cooked food was served for Breakfast and Dinner with Dinner Menu choice being made at breakfast. The food was fresh, hot and exceeded expectations, ensuring clean plates and satisfied looks on the faces of the 7 members of our group. The Dinner Menu during our stay included such choices as Smoked Haddock Fish Pie, Aberdeen Angus Meatballs and Pasta, Goats Cheese Tart, Salmon Fish Cakes, and Haggis including the option of a Vegetarian Haggis on Burns Night.
The Burns Night Dinner on the 25 January 2014 and entertainment were also excellent.
We will definitely return and wish the proprietors and staff every success in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8 but others of our party had rooms 5 & 6 which were nicer than ours but we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingman2150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melrose
0.0 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Melrose
258 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
0.0 mi away
King's Arms Hotel
King's Arms Hotel
#5 of 7 in Melrose
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#4 of 7 in Melrose
146 reviews
3.1 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George & Abbotsford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George & Abbotsford Hotel

Property: George & Abbotsford Hotel
Address: High Street, Melrose TD6 9PD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Melrose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — George & Abbotsford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run hotel we took over the hotel in Dec 12; we are under refurbishment at the moment to bring this good old B listed hotel back to its former glory. We have 32 en suite rooms. The rooms are warm, clean and we can offer a warm welcome. We have a lovely bear garden in the middle of the hotel. Families and dogs welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your George & Abbotsford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George & Abbotsford Hotel Melrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing