We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“six of us on a bike trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
George & Abbotsford Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“six of us on a bike trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We got to the G&A hotel very wet after 65 miles on a bike, we were asked if we wanted all our wet stuff including shoes put in the boiler room to dry out, there was also safe lock up for our bikes in the dry , after a nice little trip up to our room the only complaint i can say is the water pressure in the shower was weak but on a hotel this size cant complain. The bar area was nice and clean and had a lovely cider on sale, we decided to eat here as one of the lads spare shoes were soaked and glad we did , me and another had the 2 course sunday lunch and the ham and pea soup was very nice but the Sunday dinner was one of the best i have had in many years, i will be coming back , if its another bike trip or just a family day out.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geordie-married-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    110
    63
    48
    88
See reviews for
65
178
23
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is a very good value for money hotel. We travelled with a coach trip and we enjoyed our stay. Evening meals were very good with choices for all 3 courses. Food is more home cooked than cuisine but still very tasty. Some of the meals were excellent and very well presented!
Breakfasts were fairly basic, not much choice. Eggs fried or poached only. Bacon streaky not back bacon. Tinned tomatoes in pieces not fresh tomatoes or whole tinned tomatoes. Only two choices of cereal - no weetabix - but beautiful cooked porridge as well which we enjoyed. Coffee was nice but may have been normal dried and not filter. However, we still enjoyed our breakfasts and there was more than enough choice for us. Again, it was very good value for money. Other hotels may be more expensive.
Regarding the bedroom, it was nice and quiet. However, I don't like red carpet in a bedroom and would not dream of putting a red carpet in my bedroom at home. Soft blue or green would be much better colours for an area of rest. Travellers are generally a bit frazzled when they arrive and need soothing colours.
Bed and sheets were clean. Duvet, as in most hotels, was synthetic which I find too hot. Towels were changed when necessary. Shower over the bath was excellent after my taller partner managed to get it to stay in an upright position as it kept slipping down. Lady in charge of hotel and waiting staff that we saw were all efficient and pleasant and helpful. We would certainly go back again and there is no higher recommendation than that.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mantras108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel for one night in order to attend a wedding nearby. Whilst the location was good I would not describe the hotel as value for money. Having booked online, and paid the full balance upfront, upon check in we were asked for our credit card details (incase we damaged anything) and a large key deposit (incase we didn't return it). Our first impressions could have been better and we should have been made to feel welcome instead of not being trusted!

Hotel needs updating urgently - carpets look old and worn, felt the bed springs whilst sleeping and the water in the shower went from hot to cold. Would appreciate a hairdryer in the room also.

On the plus side the location was good and there was private off street parking.

Will not be returning through choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lil_Lisa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andria g, Public Relations Manager at George & Abbotsford Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Yes you was not happy with the key deposit but we find it right to do that as when we have guests that are here for parties we find they are not returning keys to us and we take card details like lots of hotels do just in case they is any damage done , note on your stay we had a problem with one of the guests from that wedding being sick on the doorstep and them trying to kick the door in because they was so drunk they could not get the key code to work we don't now which guest it was that night that did this but this is why we take these details . all the beds in the hotel are new beds and we have just redecorated all the hotels rooms we have hairdryers at the office .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melrose hotels

Hawick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
366 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

My wife and I visited the bar at lunch time and we were pleasantly surprised at the good value food and drinks on offer. The place was quite busy but the service was excellent and the very pleasant staff are a credit to the owners. We shall definitely return - recommend the soup/sandwich deal!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenock, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Just returned home from the G&A Hotel and we had a great time - Andrea captains her ship well and has polite and friendly staff. Food was great, bar was relaxing (some of the locals are lovely) and rooms spotless. It was just right for that wee break..Melrose itself was beautiful with lovely boutique style shops and the Abbey is just at the top of the road..I will certainly be back!!!

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems or older ask for a room towards the front of the hotel. It is a very o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Sadly the need to stay in Melrose was due to a family bereavement but we were pleased to find a hotel with a family room, having two young children. The kids loved the bunk beds but us parents had two tiny twin beds!! Not even as wide as a single bed so we struggled to squeeze in one together. If ever there was a need to snuggle up to your husband/wife in bed, it's when you've suffered the trauma surrounding a family loss!! £120 was way over-priced for B&B in our opinion, and we've stayed in a LOT of hotels. Saying that, the bar and waiting staff were fantastic - can't do enough for you! They are the one redeeming quality. The food was also over-priced. "Haggis mash" sounded delicious - those potatoes had never been introduced to haggis! It was mash! And double the price you would pay south of the border for an equivalent meal! We were also not treated to the "friendly family welcome" having made an error of judgement due to inadequate signs on the doors. We were spoken to in a particularly unpleasant and condescending way, despite our polite apologies and explanation. Finally, during the very basic breakfast (no vegetarian options offered despite informing them in advance - surely you could pop out and buy some Quorn sausages when you are aware you have a veggie in for breakfast?) there was a child (clearly not a guest) running through the breakfast room, backwards and forwards. This again, was not the standard expected when we were sitting quietly as a family, reflecting on our loss. Very disappointing overall but thanks to Vicky for making the children smile at a really difficult time.

Room Tip: Don't choose the family room if the adults want to sleep together!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familyj244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andria g, Public Relations Manager at George & Abbotsford Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
In response we are a none smoking hotel and fire doors are for fire use only ..... they are signs on all the fire doors about them been alarmed and this set all the hotel alarms off we have notes in all the rooms about our smoking policy and they is 3 areas for smoking in [ not on fire escapes ] the room you was in was a family room on the second floor that as a new zip/link bed in there you was asked when you arrived if you wanted them in king size or 2 x 3 ft singles and you said the singles was fine so we left them . our food is very reasonable E.G steak meal 7oz homemade chips for £7.50 full chicken breast haggis mash for £ 8.50 sorry you was not happy with the prices but we have to make a living it is very hard to please everyone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

this is the second time myself and my wife have visited this hotel we came down for the weekend for the popular melrose sevens rugby we stayed for a couple of nights we enjoyed it even more than the last time. the staff were amazing place was really busy which was great to see food was great we both had soup for starters mixed grill for mains and cheese cake for desert which was 10/10 for both of us we will be back again later on in the year as its a beautiful town and a great hotel

Room Tip: they are all great rooms i bet we like to stay in the newer part of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rangers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melrose
0.9 mi away
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
0.0 mi away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Melrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#4 of 7 in Melrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.0 mi away
King's Arms Hotel
King's Arms Hotel
#5 of 7 in Melrose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
3.1 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George & Abbotsford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George & Abbotsford Hotel

Property: George & Abbotsford Hotel
Address: High Street, Melrose TD6 9PD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Melrose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — George & Abbotsford Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run hotel we took over the hotel in Dec 12; we are under refurbishment at the moment to bring this good old B listed hotel back to its former glory. We have 32 en suite rooms. The rooms are warm, clean and we can offer a warm welcome. We have a lovely bear garden in the middle of the hotel. Families and dogs welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your George & Abbotsford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George & Abbotsford Hotel Melrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing