We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
George & Abbotsford Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“exellent hotel”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 days on the 1st August 2014. We travelled with Glenfield travel in Leicester. We had a wonderful week end we went to the military tattoo. the hotel was excellent lovely food very clean very friendly we really enjoyed our stay. Thank you Wendy and Martin Blackwell from Nuneaton

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    112
    65
    51
    100
See reviews for
67
186
23
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was a David Urquhart tour in July. The driver was great and The hotel is located in the centre of Melrose. The hotel proprietor however treated us like school kids. Actually counted us into the dining hall before giving us a long speech about hotel rules and then shutting the driver out in the passage to have his meal at a small table because he was late down. Then she blamed him for errors in the menu orders which had to be made on the coach. Meals were ok but not great. You have to ask for a hairdrier and then the water pressure was so bad I wasn't able to use it. In a well run hotel you are treated like guests and the management stays in the background but this was her show and she liked to hear her own voice on a mic not only in the hotel but on the coach. The staff were good. I would never return to this hotel but Melrose is lovely.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat5772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melrose hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bembridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed at the Hotel for one week and was very well looked after
Plenty of locals using the bar and pipe band practice in the courtyard on a weekday night
A one hour commute to Edinburgh and plenty of parking spaceat rear of hotel all in all a pleasant stay

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hughshiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Have just spent the weekend at the George & Abbotsford weekend to go and see the Tattoo in Edinburgh. What a wonderful time they gave us, The rooms spacious and very clean lovely white bed linen, and ensuite shower room. The meals were very Scottish and very plentiful. wonderful service and Andrea could not have been more helpful on advice on where to go and what to see.
We were a group of eight and we all enjoyed out time there and would recommend it to all. Melrose is a beautiful market town, amd the Abbey is a must to see well worth the small amount they charge for entry,

Room Tip: Most bedrooms on first floor, with stairs, not too bad and the staff are helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esjay65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week, after a horrendous journey coach turning up late getting lost. What a pleasant lovely place to stay. Stuart Andrea and all there staff were excellent nothing was to much. Food excellent.Very Highly Recommended.

Unlike the the coach company David Urquhart which should be avoided at all costs.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Les B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014

stayed here a few years ago and what a difference this time around the place is a lot smarter and cleaner and the new owners seemed to be switched on to making a go of the this, room i was in was clean and well furnished for my requirements .All the main areas and bar area seem to have a tartan theme which is well suited and melrose is a nice town there also a large car park at back of hotel which is great for car owners. I ate in the restuarant which was fine the menu is limited and the quality is acceptable nothing to rave about for a restuarant but overall i think the new management team should take a pat on the back for the work they acheived in this old hotel i would stay again as its value for money

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank molcolm65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend when down for a weekend brake with David Urquharts.the G&A is a nice hotel in the center of Melrose, the family hotel is nice and homely feel to it with a gourgess out side beer garden to it. The rooms are nice a clean, bed was nice,bathroom was clean. The breakfast was lovely in the morning ,staff are nice and helpful. This is a gourgess old hotel I would definitely be staying agian!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j300fordrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melrose
0.9 mi away
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
0.0 mi away
King's Arms Hotel
King's Arms Hotel
#5 of 7 in Melrose
125 reviews
0.0 mi away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#4 of 7 in Melrose
148 reviews
3.1 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
928 reviews
6.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George & Abbotsford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George & Abbotsford Hotel

Property: George & Abbotsford Hotel
Address: High Street, Melrose TD6 9PD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Melrose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — George & Abbotsford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run hotel we took over the hotel in Dec 12; we are under refurbishment at the moment to bring this good old B listed hotel back to its former glory. We have 32 en suite rooms. The rooms are warm, clean and we can offer a warm welcome. We have a lovely bear garden in the middle of the hotel. Families and dogs welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your George & Abbotsford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George & Abbotsford Hotel Melrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing