We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Couldn't be better!!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tweed Rig

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Views over the famous Eildon Hills
Dining table (seats 14) and living area
Living area: Samsung 51” Plasma TV. Full Sky package. DVD player
Dining table seats 14. High chairs available.
Living area and open plan kitchen
Dining table seats 14 and open living area
Living area with access to balcony
Living area
Kitchen
High chairs available for the dining table to accommodate the little ones.
Open plan kitchen.
Living area
Master bedroom: kingsize bed. Full ensuite. Closet room. View over Eildon Hills
Master bedroom with views over Eildon Hills. Additional Travel cot available
Master bedroom. Full ensuite: Bath, Shower and WC
Closet room with cot
Double bedroom (1): kingsize bed (this bedroom is adjacent to the main bathroom. Bath, Shower & WC)
Main bathroom. Full Ensuite: Bath, Shower & WC)
Main bathroom. Full Ensuite: Bath, Shower & WC)
Double bedroom (2): double bed. Ensuite shower & WC
Twin bedroom: two single beds. Ensuite shower & WC
Twin bedroom: Ensuite shower & WC
Family room: double sofa bed & 2 single beds. Ensuite shower & WC. PS2 with selection  games/movies
Family room: Ensuite shower & WC.
Gallery bedroom: two bunk beds suitable for adults
Utility room
Tweed Rig has a woodland garden
Table tennis located down in garage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Melrose, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tbuilder2...
Fort William, United Kingdom
1 review
“Couldn't be better!!!”
Reviewed 30 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

I booked Tweed Rig for a family weekend to celebrate my wife's birthday and retirement. The house was amazing - well equipped and beautifully furnished with amazing views over the surrounding countryside. the only downside was the last 100 metres of the approach track which was a bit steep and rough.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeandMa...
Essex
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spacioius property with amazing views.”
Reviewed 22 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The house was situated at the top of a steep hill but the view from the balcony made it all worthwhile. The town of Melrose is extremely pretty and full of history. The hotels and pubs were all very good and reasonably priced. The house is spacious and bathrooms are very modern with good showers. The property did have a lot of equipment for babies and children (which we did not need but realize that some people do) and we had to clear out wardrobes in order to store our clothes - a minor detail! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Scottish Borders and great walking and golf.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
killywhan
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Short Break”
Reviewed 1 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Spacious, comfortable, modern house set amongst the trees overlooking Gattonside and the River Tweed towards Melrose and The Eildons. Great for walking and exploring the Borders countryside. Plenty of places to eat out too.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2017
Thank you very much for the kind review. Hope to have you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suedunne
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely Brilliant”
Reviewed 22 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Just spent a wonderful four night stay over Easter 2017 at Tweed Rig (we travelled there from Hull, Yorkshire) - 12 adults, 3 children and 3 dogs. From the moment I made the first enquiry to the time we left, the owner and her team couldn't have been more helpful. The house is really spacious, spotlessly clean and is equipped with everything you need. We had more than enough room everywhere in the house, never felt on top of each other at all. On Easter Sunday we cooked a Sunday roast and were all able to sit together at the huge dining table to eat. Melrose is only a 15 minute walk away, nice shops and friendly pubs and eating places. We will definitely be returning. Highly recommended. Cannot thank you enough Debbie, Jean and team. Sue and Family.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2017
Thank you very the kind comments. I am glad you found the house well equiped and had everything you needed to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We always encourage guests to enjoy the scenery and have a walk down to Melrose over the bridge to experience everything Melrose has to offer. Looking forward to having you back for your next stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmcleanmc...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful situation on hill above Gattonside”
Reviewed 13 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Attractive, modern and very spacious property with extensive and comfortable living/dining area with kitchen at one end which was well-equipped with plenty of cutlery, dishes and utensils for our party of 10. Plenty of space in the fridge/freezer. Modern cooker and dishwasher.
Rooms and bathrooms all nicely decorated and furnished. Plenty of towels and bedding. All beautifully clean too.
We felt that much thought had been put into the possible requirements of a large number of guests and there was plenty to entertain the younger members of our group. All ages catered for!
We enjoyed sitting out on the balcony which runs the length of the house and has plenty of seating. Magnificent views across the Tweed Valley.
We all agreed a return visit was definitely necessary!
Good places to eat within walking distance such as The Hoebridge Inn in Gattonside and not far from facilities in Melrose. Many great walks close by,

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2017
Thank you very much for the kind review. Glad you found the house well equiped and enjoyed the wondeful views from the balcony. It is important for us to make your stay as conveniant and comforable as possible - we look forward to welcoming you back at Tweed Rig for your next visit. J
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole M
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 24 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Cannot reccomend Tweedrig enough. Right from the first time I enquired about the property the owners couldn't have been more helpful. Everything was so simple to arrange. Upon arriving the house was just brilliant. It was really clean and well put together. It has everything you need for a getaway. Unlike most self catering places it was so well equipt with everything.
The views from tweedrig are fantastic. It's great for an option of chilling out but also so close to gala and Melrose if you wish to venture out.
Would reccomend to anyone and would go back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing