We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Border delight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Townhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Border delight”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

My wife and I have driven through the Scottish Borders on a number of occasions and have never stayed in the area but as we wanted to visit Abbotsford House, which is only 3 miles away and well worth a visit, we thought of looking towards Melrose as a base. Having decided to try Melrose we, once again, trusted ourselves to comments made on Tripadvisor. The hotel that we settled upon was the Townhouse hotel in the market square and we were very pleased with the experience. Every member of staff was friendly and courteous and the well-appointed room was spotlessly clean. For our own reasons we chose to have our evening meals in the Brasserie rather than the main restaurant but weren’t disappointed in any way and there was certainly plenty of choice. The acid test that we always apply is ‘would we go back to this hotel’ and the answer is a most emphatic ‘yes’. It is difficult to imagine what it is that you may be looking for if you came away with a negative experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrasmereFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    59
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
29
130
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
206 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The Townhouse is ideally located on the main square in this charming Borders town. We got a very warm welcome from Elaine and went to room 10. The room was quiet (even though on the street side of the building), beautifully decorated, the bathroom spacious and all the fixtures clean, up to date and working.

Elaine arranged a late afternoon cup of tea for us in the conservatory. We had dinner in the dining room and were treated to a wide variety of Borders' treats…grilled darne of salmon (will we ever be able to have salmon anywhere else again?), shoulder and loin of lamb; great memories! The wine list was smallish, but offered a wide choice.

The Breakfast menu was extensive and the food well cooked and attractively presented. Table service was enthusiastic at dinner and in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hct1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We have just celebrated our Golden Wedding in "The Town House Hotel" Melrose along with 68 of our friends and family from as far as Abu Dhabi and Australia.
The food, service and welcome were outstanding, with our Australian friend stating that his vegetarian dish was the best he had tasted anywhere in the world!
The entire evening was discreetly supervised by our host James, who has to be congratulated on a superb evening enjoyed by all.
Ogilvie&Flora Dickson

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The Townhouse Hotel is located in the beautiful Melrose town square area with wonderful shops and just around the corner from Melrose Abby, which is a MUST VISIT site if you like to experience the history of Scotland. Our room was very comfortable with all the amenities we needed, including free WIFI and a hair dryer in the room. Breakfast was absolutely delicious and included both cold and hot items, the hot items were made to order and brought to your table by very attentive servers. The entire experience was very enjoyable, I happily recommend the Townhouse across the board.

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms available, and from what we saw pretty much all of them are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank POSitiveBrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed here on several occasions. Very comfortable rooms with good facilities. Friendly and helpful staff. Brilliant breakfast. Free car parking in the car park opposite, right in the heart of town, a few minute walk from The Abbey and other attractions.

Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank cumbrian1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We spent two nights at the Townhouse and had dinner there twice.
The family room was very spacious, tastefully furnished and the huge bathroom with separate shower and bathtub was spotless, but the great surprise came from the restaurant where we had some of the best food in ten days visiting Scotland (and that includes the Caledonian in Edinburgh and Cameron House on Loch Lomond !)
The staff was friendly and efficient.
An excellent location for exploring the Borders.

Room Tip: The family room on the ground floor has a street-facing window, but there is no noise from the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea_Alexandre_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

What a lovely little hotel in a beautiful town - the rooms are comfy, clean and roomy - nice toiletries from Arran Aromatics too! Food is excellent value and great quality - and the staff are friendly! Set right on the high street amongst tiny little character shops - great place for a break away and to explore the Borders

Room Tip: Only been in room 3 but it was comfy and away from the main road - not that there was much traffic a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melrose
0.0 mi away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.0 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#4 of 7 in Melrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
3.0 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
6.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
0.0 mi away
King's Arms Hotel
King's Arms Hotel
#5 of 7 in Melrose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse Hotel

Property: The Townhouse Hotel
Address: 3 Market Square, Melrose TD6 9PQ, Scotland (Formerly Millars Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Melrose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Townhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhouse Hotel Melrose
The Townhouse Hotel Melrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing