We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Townhouse Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Burt's Hotel(Melrose)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Station Hotel(Melrose)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Kingsknowes Hotel(Galashiels)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Whitmuir Hall(Selkirk)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveller rating
206
70
7
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
206
70
7
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscullen skinkmusselscream saucehigh standardsmall hotelwine listlarge comfortable bedcharming small townlovely hotelvenisonstayed for one nightmarket squarerecommend this hotellovely roomefficient staffthe owner managerscottish borders
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 292 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed overnight and found this to be a very comfortable, convenient and well run hotel. The breakfast was delicious and the staff very helpful. We can only say good things about every aspect of our stay. Would definitely recommend the Townhouse to other travellers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

My wife and I have driven through the Scottish Borders on a number of occasions and have never stayed in the area but as we wanted to visit Abbotsford House, which is only 3 miles away and well worth a visit, we thought of looking towards Melrose as a base. Having decided to try Melrose we, once again, trusted ourselves to comments made on Tripadvisor. The hotel that we settled upon was the Townhouse hotel in the market square and we were very pleased with the experience. Every member of staff was friendly and courteous and the well-appointed room was spotlessly clean. For our own reasons we chose to have our evening meals in the Brasserie rather than the main restaurant but weren’t disappointed in any way and there was certainly plenty of choice. The acid test that we always apply is ‘would we go back to this hotel’ and the answer is a most emphatic ‘yes’. It is difficult to imagine what it is that you may be looking for if you came away with a negative experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrasmereFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The Townhouse is ideally located on the main square in this charming Borders town. We got a very warm welcome from Elaine and went to room 10. The room was quiet (even though on the street side of the building), beautifully decorated, the bathroom spacious and all the fixtures clean, up to date and working.

Elaine arranged a late afternoon cup of tea for us in the conservatory. We had dinner in the dining room and were treated to a wide variety of Borders' treats…grilled darne of salmon (will we ever be able to have salmon anywhere else again?), shoulder and loin of lamb; great memories! The wine list was smallish, but offered a wide choice.

The Breakfast menu was extensive and the food well cooked and attractively presented. Table service was enthusiastic at dinner and in the morning.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hct1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We have just celebrated our Golden Wedding in "The Town House Hotel" Melrose along with 68 of our friends and family from as far as Abu Dhabi and Australia.
The food, service and welcome were outstanding, with our Australian friend stating that his vegetarian dish was the best he had tasted anywhere in the world!
The entire evening was discreetly supervised by our host James, who has to be congratulated on a superb evening enjoyed by all.
Ogilvie&Flora Dickson

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The Townhouse Hotel is located in the beautiful Melrose town square area with wonderful shops and just around the corner from Melrose Abby, which is a MUST VISIT site if you like to experience the history of Scotland. Our room was very comfortable with all the amenities we needed, including free WIFI and a hair dryer in the room. Breakfast was absolutely delicious and included both cold and hot items, the hot items were made to order and brought to your table by very attentive servers. The entire experience was very enjoyable, I happily recommend the Townhouse across the board.

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms available, and from what we saw pretty much all of them are great.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank POSitiveBrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews