We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Townhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Certificate of Excellence
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2005

We found this Hotel through Trip Advisor.
The hotel has been refurbished to a very high standard.The staff were very helpfull . We had the set menu for Dinner which was first class as was breakfast . We will return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRK29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    58
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
28
127
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2005

My wife and I have just returned from a night at the Townhouse. A change of ownership has seen a lot of money invested in the place and it looks and feels great. Clean, comfortable and warm rooms meant a great night's sleep. Breakfast was excellent and the staff were friendly and attentive without being too much "in your face". The food is award winning and rightly so. Surprisingly good value for food and rooms. Will definitely be back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2005

What a transformation ! The Henderson Family of Burts Hotel have refurbished The Townhouse Hotel(Formerly Millars Hotel) to a very high standard. The Brasserie is very groovy and Contemporary with very imagiative food. The Chef Colin Clark is a wizard ! The Thai King Prawns are too die for.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2004

This is the fourth time we have spent New Year at the Millars Hotel and our findings could not be more different from those of the Yarm visitor. We found the rooms to be extremely comfortable and well-decorated and the food of a consistently high standard. The activities organised were excellent and well-planned and greatly enjoyed by all who took part. We fully intend to return next year and would heartily recommend it to others.

Helpful?
2 Thank Ex-teacher61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2004

This was my first visit to Millars and found it a most pleasent hotel and we enjoyed our new year break.Our room was in very good state of decoration and we enjoyed the programme of events including archery & cross bow.Food was to a high standard at all meals.Pity it was raining when we went outside to see the New Year in the high street with pipers and fireworks.(Ours were not cancelled unlike Edinburghs though these were not on such a grand scale) Melrose is a pleasant busy little market town and we would be happy to return to it and Millars.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2004

We had the misfortune to stay at this hotel during New Years. We found the rooms to be cold during the day..one of our party was ill and so this was an important issue for us. We felt that the food was poor in quality and badly prepared, and noted particularly that the breakfast buffet was held in heated trays which appeared to be totally inadequate for the purpose. The entertainment provided was, in our view an afterthought designed to fill time in as cheaply as possible. The decorations around the hotel seemed cheap and ill considered, but it was the attitude of the owner that we shall never forget. A request for a sandwich was greeted with a curt "No" despite the fact that one of our number was unable to attend for dinner. We sought a simple apology (twice) and the owner does not feel able to offer that. All in all, and with the standard of service on offer this year, £520 for two nights stay was excessive in the extreme. I should point out that this was our second stay at this hotel....oh how things have changed!! Definitely not recommended!!

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melrose
0.0 mi away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.0 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#4 of 7 in Melrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
3.0 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
6.4 mi away
Best Western Pus Scottish Borders Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
0.0 mi away
King's Arms Hotel
King's Arms Hotel
#5 of 7 in Melrose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse Hotel

Property: The Townhouse Hotel
Address: 3 Market Square, Melrose TD6 9PQ, Scotland (Formerly Millars Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Melrose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Townhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhouse Hotel Melrose
The Townhouse Hotel Melrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing