We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Townhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2005

We have just returned from holidaying in Scotland. Our first night was spent at The Townhouse. The hotel is very well presented, the downstairs rooms in particular are beautiful.Our room was very large and right on the front of the building, perfect for a good view if it had't been pouring with rain during the whole of our stay.
We were pleased to see that our 9 year old daughter had her own bed, a nice touch as she is often gven a campbed.The room itself was prettily decorated and had a four poster bed.One problem was the leaky ceiling,although this only appeared as we were about to check out.We only ate breakfast at the hotel, although this was of a high standard.
On the whole, the cost of £120 for the night was probably overly expensive.

Stayed: October 2005
2  Thank staffordshiretrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2005

The Townhouse is the perfect small hotel in the heart of the Scottish Borders. Our room was spotless, if a tad bit tight in space. The service was the best we have experienced in Britain during our 8 months here, and dinner was incredible.
This place is tops, don't stay anywhere else in town!

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HeathersWanderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2005

Excellent service, very good food and an all-round good find. Room could have been slightly larger, but would definitely reccomend.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wombat1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2005

We found this Hotel through Trip Advisor.
The hotel has been refurbished to a very high standard.The staff were very helpfull . We had the set menu for Dinner which was first class as was breakfast . We will return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DRK29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
522
Reviewed 9 March 2005

My wife and I have just returned from a night at the Townhouse. A change of ownership has seen a lot of money invested in the place and it looks and feels great. Clean, comfortable and warm rooms meant a great night's sleep. Breakfast was excellent and the staff were friendly and attentive without being too much "in your face". The food is award winning and rightly so. Surprisingly good value for food and rooms. Will definitely be back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Christchurch, New Zealand
15
Reviewed 3 February 2005

What a transformation ! The Henderson Family of Burts Hotel have refurbished The Townhouse Hotel(Formerly Millars Hotel) to a very high standard. The Brasserie is very groovy and Contemporary with very imagiative food. The Chef Colin Clark is a wizard ! The Thai King Prawns are too die for.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2004

This is the fourth time we have spent New Year at the Millars Hotel and our findings could not be more different from those of the Yarm visitor. We found the rooms to be extremely comfortable and well-decorated and the food of a consistently high standard. The activities organised were excellent and well-planned and greatly enjoyed by all who took part. We fully intend to return next year and would heartily recommend it to others.

2  Thank Ex-teacher61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melrose
0.0 mi away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
319 reviews
0.0 mi away
King's Arms Hotel
King's Arms Hotel
#5 of 7 in Melrose
133 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
969 reviews
0.0 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#4 of 7 in Melrose
157 reviews
0.0 mi away
George & Abbotsford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse Hotel

Address: 3 Market Square, Melrose TD6 9PQ, Scotland (Formerly Millars Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Melrose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Price Range: £98 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Townhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhouse Hotel Melrose
The Townhouse Hotel Melrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing