We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most enjoyable stay at Burts -----say the Robinsons!!”
Review of Burt's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Burt's Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Certificate of Excellence
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most enjoyable stay at Burts -----say the Robinsons!!”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Just returned after 2 nights at Burts Hotel . Loved our stay. We were celebrating my Mums 90th birthday. Rooms first class , well kept and manicured . Hotel staff couldnt have been more helpful and obliging. Food excellent and loved the elegant dining room !!
Melrose a lovely town with nice shopping facilities.Will certainly recommend.
Well done Burts !!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 381linda62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    85
    29
    14
    11
See reviews for
46
132
22
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Although we stayed over the road at the sister (or perhaps I mean brother) Hotel - the Town House we dined over two nights as small group at Burts.

Our first night was in the lovely dinning room, where we enjoyed selection from the restaurant menu. All dishes were perfectly formed, delicious, served stylishly and with just the right warmth and friendliness of service.

I do love good food and all too often am somewhat disappointed by food and also service - but not here. I enjoyed a scallop and lobster starter, succulent guinea fowl and a beautifully plated rhubarb creme brulee dessert. Stunning. And fantastic value. We will be back.

We also enjoyed a lovely wine from the selection. A lovely evening was had as we adjourned to the bar and tried a few selected whiskies and just a short stroll across the road for our beds.

The 2nd night was a bar meal, with some more lovely selections though I couldn't manage dessert. We had a last minute increase in numbers which was accommodated with no fuss as best possible. The owner/manager could simply not have done enough and was a charming 'host' throughout our evenings there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eildons3, Owner at Burt's Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thanks to you all from "The Brothers!" It was a pleasure looking after you all. Cheers to "The Alfisti"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We recently stayed here for the Melrose Sevens Rugby tournament. We received a warm and efficient welcome. Our room facilities were clean and comfortable. The hotel reception, bar, restaurant and lounge were all decorated to a high standard and we warm and cosy ambiance. Food at breakfast and dinner was excellent with plenty of choice and service friendly and efficient. My friends have been going there for the past 6 years and always book for the following year before leaving.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer3520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eildons3, Owner at Burt's Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We Look forward to seeing you at "The Sevens" next Year.
Nick Henderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Have visited here often over the past few years and the pub lunch menu has always had a great selection of dishes. We have never had a bad meal and enjoyed our experience very much. Friendly staff, shame you don't hear a local accent ! Log fire was burning and the room is cozy. As a wheelchair user my only moan is the lack of a disabled loo.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hils646464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eildons3, Owner at Burt's Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your review and your kind words. Hopefully we will have better facilities for disabled Loo in the not too distant future. Nick Henderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Spent overnight here, dinner and breakfast as well. The dinner meal was fabulous - do NOT miss dessert! The staff were very friendly and professional. Room was very comfortable. Would definitely stay again when in the Borders.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa27516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eildons3, Owner at Burt's Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your generous review of our Hotel and Bar. Haste ye back ! NH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergerac, France
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Have never stayed but have eaten here on many occassions when visiting family nearby & am never disappointed. They have a good menu with meat supplied by an excellent local butcher,other locally sourced produce & a menu that combines lots of things that one misses when one no longer lives in Scotland (try the chicken stuffed with haggis if it's on the menu....yumm!!) The chef is consistantly good & the desserts always look amazing......although I can never manage on, my son tells me thay taste as good as they look;so good we never even get to taste!!Try the triple chocolate terrine!!Every time we go to eat in the bar (lunchtimes) it is very busy so would advise booking.Restaurant also excellent .Good service & I think very reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henrietta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eildons3, Owner at Burt's Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our Hotel. It means so much to the team when they read positive and generous reviews about their hospitality. Thanks NH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My idea of the perfect accommodation is one that has (in no particular order) a great bed and linens, a roomy bathroom with very strong water pressure in the shower, and superb food. It is an added bonus if the staff are professional, gracious and helpful. Burt's has it all, and more (e.g., a cozy fire in the lounge/bar and beautiful appointments throughout the hotel). My partner and I just returned from a three-night stay at Burt's on the bed, breakfast and dinner offer, and what a TOTAL bargain that is for the quality of the accommodation and food. We have dined in lovely restaurants all over the world, and I don't think we've had better food anywhere. The fish was so fresh and beautifully prepared that we both had fish for all three dinners and I ate fish for breakfast as well! (smoked haddock and kippers) But the menu choices also included venison and pheasant as well as beef steaks, lamb and chicken. The desserts were heavenly and the house wines are also quite good. The room was very inviting and the bed and beddings were luxurious and comfortable. All this is topped off with professional service in all stations, from reception to restaurant staff. I didn't want to leave. It was just too perfect.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmarquiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eildons3, Owner at Burt's Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you! Best Wishes, Nick H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melrose
0.0 mi away
King's Arms Hotel
King's Arms Hotel
#5 of 7 in Melrose
125 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
3.0 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#4 of 7 in Melrose
148 reviews
0.0 mi away
George & Abbotsford Hotel
6.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burt's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burt's Hotel

Property: Burt's Hotel
Address: Market Square, Melrose TD6 9PN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Melrose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Burt's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Burt's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burts Hotel Melrose
Burt's Hotel Melrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing