We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Impressed”
Review of Burt's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Burt's Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

A warm and friendly welcome with the owners (the Henderson family) enthusiastic and amiable hosts and clearly integral to the running of this excellent small hotel. My room was of a very good standard, breakfast was excellent, served in the very nice dinning room. I enjoyed a very good bar meal the night before washed down by well-kept Timothy Taylor's.
I would thoroughly recommend Burt's Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Centrally placed in the town with parking. The food was excellent. Dining room old fashioned but also old world feel which was very relaxing although most people were eating in the bar area and with not many people in the dining room it lacked atmosphere. Room was clean and fresh with all amenities but a little noisy at times as it faced the Main Street. Owner very friendly and attentive, dining staff a little harassed a t times but service generally good.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This was the first time we had stayed in Melrose. Have walked past the hotel many time. On the recommendation from friends booked a 1 night stay. Found the hotel lived up to everything we had been told. Warm welcome and friendly staff. Room had recently been decorated and the bathroom was very clean and well fitted. The food we had in the Bistro/bar was one of the best meals I have eaten out for quite some considerable time. Cannot rate it highly enough. Both quality and quantity were very good.
Will definitely be back there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ken_Simpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel is in a great central location and has a real country feel about it with all the amenities you would expect in a city hotel. The dinner menu and food are exceptional, good home cooking, portions just right and wonderfully presented. The staff are really friendly, nothing is too much trouble. I had to leave early and was provided a nice breakfast that was delivered to my room the night before. My only gripe was my room (7), was on the small side and was a wee bit cramped, I was booked in for 1 night, therefore decided to put up with the small room. Would definitely stay at this hotel again but not in room 7.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing Main Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jackdaniels26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Very pleasant in a slightly 'old fashioned' way, my room was very comfortable and spotless, the breakfast was excellent with a huge choice. Staff all very nice although I was hardly in hotel really. Very central and convenient for attractions of Melrose. Didn't dine there but has a great reputation .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed at the Burt's for two weeks for work. The rooms were tidy, with good supplies of pleasant toiletries and all the essentials. The proximity to Eildon Hills and the Abbey ensured that there were plenty of places and hiking trails to explore in the evening for us in the evening. The staff were always friendly and helpful. The breakfast was lovely and made to order so served fresh. There's a wee living room on the first floor with a telly and books and a lovely view of the town that I preferred to sip my wine in instead of the bar(which is very busy almost every night). Only worry for me was the limited number vegetarian options on the restaurant menu(which I suppose is a problem elsewhere as well). Would definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the Eildons! Staff will be happy to offer you one if available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Juhi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed at the Station Hotel at the start of the St Cuthbert's Way, as Burts was outside the budget, but decided it eat here after looking at the other options.
It was a good decision. The place was busy with locals and tourists but service wuss quick and efficient. Though the place and the menu appeared quite traditional, the food itself was very good, and quite reasonable value too.
Would certainly recommend.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank walkmanFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melrose
0 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Melrose
278 reviews
1 mi away
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
0.1 mi away
King's Arms Hotel
King's Arms Hotel
#6 of 7 in Melrose
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#4 of 7 in Melrose
162 reviews
3 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
986 reviews
3.4 mi away
Buccleuch Arms Scottish Borders
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burt's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burt's Hotel

Address: Market Square, Melrose TD6 9PN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Melrose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Price Range: £92 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Burt's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Burt's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burts Hotel Melrose
Burt's Hotel Melrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing