We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Gitana”
Review of Roulotte Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melrose
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Roulotte Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Mallaig
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Gitana”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

A wonderful experience, just a shame our stay was so short - only two nights. Still, we left feeling fully recharged and now already planning another visit. It has been said before but Avril and Alan have created something truly magical and special. We would certainly agree with all the positive comments made by others on this site. Many thanks.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GFL2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    9
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
7
98
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edenbridge
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I booked to stay here for 2 nights in July and couldn't have been happier I did. It was a surprise trip for my husband's 50th birthday and I wanted to stay somewhere a little different. The roulettes are that and some with all the luxuries you would expect to find in a hotel or 5* lodge.

Avril was amazing helping me put together hampers & champers for our arrival and keeping them hidden until the right moment. She even helped out with ice buckets and a gloriously tasty salad picked 30mins previously from her neighbours garden.

Alan & Avril can't do enough to make you feel welcome and to make sure you get the most out of your trip to the Scottish Borders. Even to telling us where to go and take a picture of the vintage 1966 Alfa Romeo Spyder we had hired in front of some 1960's petrol pumps.

Don't expect wifi & large screen tvs, why would you need it when you have the peace of the meadow, the dark skies and Scottish Borders hospitality.

Fabulous!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RecentlymarriedKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We had a wonderful stay in the beautiful Shivanni roulotte. The caravan is richly decorated, with silks at the windows (some stained glass!) and delightful arty touches.
The bedroom is cosy and the bed SO comfortable with good quality linen. Heavenly.
The caravan is well equipped, but also nicely furnished with rugs, lamps and antique furniture.

The bathroom works well and the shower is great - powerful and plenty hot water.

The deck outside is lovely with pretty wrought iron furniture and far enough from your 'neighbours' not to feel overlooked. New trees have just been planted to make it feel even more private. An enormous amount of work and planning has gone into this gorgeous wildflower meadow to make it look like nature intended it to be! It is a delightful spot.

Avril and Alan are great hosts, seeing that you are comfortable and have everything you need, while respecting your privacy and solitude.

A wonderful romantic retreat, which would also be great for getting a group of friends together, too.

Room Tip: We stayed in Shivanni which was lovely, but peaked in all roulottes and they all appear to be to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzeNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We recently stayed here for the second time, this time being lucky enough to stay in the beautiful new shivani roulette. It was just as we remembered and more. Cannot recommend highly enough... We are already planning our return next year... I don't know if I can wait that long tho!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katwalk87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

A welcome break from the rigors of life at the time.

Beautiful craftsmanship, decor and everything required for a relaxing indulgent break. Fantastic waking up to the sound of the geese, getting the kettle on and having coffee on the deck taking in the sights of the meadow.

Can't wait to go back and sample another roulotte :-)

March 2012

Room Tip: Going by the standard presented in Maharani - simply pick Roulotte Retreat, you won't be disappo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RudeNot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

My sister purchased me and my partner a 2 night stay in Devanna. Wow....what a wonderful place! The melodic bird song, the gentle sway of the meadow grass in the wind, the soothing splashes of Daisy, the friendly goose, in the lochan, just removed any trace of stress from my body and mind. Alan and Avril were faultless hosts and extremely accommodating. Devanna the Roulotte was glitzy and plush with soft furnishings you wanted to touch. Mod cons were on hand, kettle, toaster, oven, hob and fridge! Not to mention a fantastic shower.A full sized double bed, which was very comfie indeed. And yes, all this in a small and wonderful package that is a roulotte. My only complaint.....I had to leave, but like Arnie....I'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank the-mad-tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

After seeing this place reviewed on Scottish Passport I couldn't wait to go. We were lucky enough to spend a night here during the May weekend. From the moment we set eyes on Karlotta our stresses just faded away. Amazingly well presented and equipped, there is everything you could ever need.
The bed is amazingly comfy and the shower fab. If you ever feel the need to hide from the real world this is the place to go.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 23fhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melrose
2.3 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Melrose
258 reviews
0.0 mi away
King's Arms Hotel
King's Arms Hotel
#5 of 7 in Melrose
125 reviews
2.6 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
302 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
3.0 mi away
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roulotte Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roulotte Retreat

Property: Roulotte Retreat
Address: Bowden Mill, Melrose TD6 0SU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Melrose
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Melrose
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Roulotte Retreat Melrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing