We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveller rating
120
10
3
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
120
10
3
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubwood burnerbreakfast hamperwildflower meadowgypsy caravanpeace and tranquilityoff grideildon hillscooking facilitiesmod conson arrivalearly aprildark skiessecond bedroomday bedrustic charmoutside world
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 137 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Just back from 2 nights stay in Devanna,after wanting to visit the Roulotte Retreat for ages.It was everything we had hoped it would be.Peace and tranquility !We were lucky with the weather for the time of year and spent the two nights we were there wrapped in a blanket outside,with a glass or two of wine ,doing a bit of stargazing.Felt like we could almost reach out and touch the stars they were so bright on the first night. The Roulotte was really cosy and we made use of the log burner to warm up after stargazing.It was really well equipped .Really comfortable bed and a great shower too. Glad we ordered the breakfast hamper filled with goodies that was more than enough for the two days(we brought some home with us) Special mention for the pork and pear sausages! Thankyou Avril and Alan,we are looking forward to coming back again in the future.Wish we could have stayed longer !

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avril333, Owner at Roulotte Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you for your very kind words. We are so glad that after waiting so long that Roulotte Retreat lived up to your expectations. Yes, we are so lucky having dark skies which is excellent for star gazing and the dramatic meteor showers as well as occasionally the elusive Northern Lights! There's something so nice about sitting outside enjoying some wine then cosy-ing in by the wood burning stove. As the Danish would say - hygge (a sense of place and wellbeing; a feeling of friendship, warmth, contentment and peace with your immediate surroundings).
I shall pass on your compliments re the pork and pear cider sausages, these are a new variety which we haven't had before. Look forward to seeing you again and next time do remember your returning guest discount. Have a lovely Autumn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

We booked this nearly 12 months ago and we're somewhat apprehensive when we arrived given 1 or 2 negative reviews. A subjective reviewer could either describe a caravan in an over grown field or a unique experience in a natural mature meadow.
We were of the latter view and loved the experience. This is after all a caravan holiday, even if it is a unique concept, if you expect 5 star facilities my advice is to book a hotel elsewhere.
We were met on arrival by Alan who gave us a detailed and welcome explanation on how best to use the fire and hot tub. The facilities were more than adequate, shower, oven fridge and enough cutlery, crockery and glasses etc.
Overall we had a great time in a tranquil and very quiet environment. You honestly don't realise how much you get used to having TVs in every room and how lovely it is for them not to be there.
Bowden, the nearest village is very quiet but you are close enough to Melrose to walk over the hills which was an experience and was only 7 or 8 pound back in a taxi.
Sitting in the dark in a wood fired hot tub looking at the stars is fantastic and overall we had a great time and will recommend this to others. You just need to enjoy a bit of peace and tranquility.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank spennite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avril333, Owner at Roulotte Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us, we very much appreciate your thoughts and reflections on your stay at Roulotte Retreat. We are glad you enjoyed the meadow and appreciated its wild natural state as well as the unique experience of bathing under the stars in your own Japanese style eco hot tub whilst staying in an authentic French roulotte in a Scottish wildflower meadow. You certainly understood what we have always tried to achieve here - creating a simple natural place, in which to leave all the busy-ness behind and enjoy life's simple pleasures! We have tried to provide all the essentials of comfortable beds, hot showers, kitchen facilities, wood burning stoves, etc but without the trappings of tv/computer/social media, clocks, etc. A rare balance of taking time for yourselves without the distractions and getting back to 'being' rather than 'doing'. We are so glad you enjoyed it and hope to see you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

This place is amazing, we eloped here and couldn't have dreamt of a better location.

We were made to feel so welcome and comfortable right from the start.
Our stay in Gitana was extremely cosy and relaxing, especially at night with the hot tub just outside.
On the run up to the wedding, Avril helped put us in touch with everyone we needed around Melrose; registrar, photographer, florist and someone to conduct the ceremony, which made organising our wedding a breeze.
Cannot recommend this place enough if you are looking for somewhere unique, and beautiful to marry, or just to relax and unplug for a few days.

We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avril333, Owner at Roulotte Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

What can we say ....it was such a joy and an absolute pleasure and privilege to host your elopement and be your witnesses on your Wedding day. You were both such STARS on the day, and we shall look forward to seeing you time and time again at Roulotte Retreat, you are always welcome. We just LOVE your photographs which reflected you - a beautiful couple full of fun and love for each other and for life itself! We wish you all the best on your new adventure together. Until next time .... thank you for choosing Roulotte Retreat for your Special Day. xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

We stayed in Rosa Bella. I liked it. It lived up to being quirky, nicely decorated and had everything you would need for a stay. I would warn anyone who is tall or larger that the the bathroom is very narrow with "not much wiggle room" as my husband described it. If four of you go you will need to be very well acquainted.

There was ample wood supplies for the log burner and the place was cosy and comfortable on the colder nights.

The decking chairs are very basic wooden chairs which become uncomfortable after a while so take cushions if you plan on sitting outside. There is also quite a bit of road noise when the boy racers are out. The meadow was overgrown and we couldn't see much of the pond but this also helped with privacy. (Rosa Bella is easily seen as people walk to and from the car park.)

It's quirky and we enjoyed our stay. I don't think I'd go back as it's very overpriced for what it is hence 3 stars. The roulottes themselves are lovely and we had a look in some of the empty ones. Each is well decorated and stocked and each very different. It was a nice few days chilling but we've since found equally as chilled accommodation a few miles away that is more comfortable and a good deal cheaper. If you want something different for a few days though it's worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Inca102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avril333, Owner at Roulotte Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we note that you’ve changed your original review where you said you couldn’t wait to come back and even emailed us a few times about re-booking?
Nevertheless it was lovely to meet you and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. I enjoyed our chats about tai chi and hearing you play your hang/handpan on Rosa Bella’s deck.
As you say Rosa Bella is one of the first roulottes in the meadow and you can see the occasional guest passing by in the distance but she is screened by shrubs and enjoys a sheltered deck to the east and south.
Our meadow is wonderfully wild, and nature just loves it that way, though sadly at the end of each year we do have to manage it and tame the wildness in order to make room for new growth the following season.
The lochan is such a joy to sit around and watch the wild moorhens and their babies as well as the wild ducks who visit and enjoy the privacy and safety of the smaller of our wildlife ponds.
Re boy racers, I’m thinking you must have been here on a recent motorbike rally. The main road is some distance away over fields and behind trees so we are sorry this disturbed you but as you mentioned in your original review this is nothing we can do anything about.
Rosa Bella is certainly quirky and what she lacks in carvings she more than makes up for in uniqueness, more space, with a sizeable kitchen area and a salon, though the toilet and shower is small, but it is a roulotte after all. Some of our other roulottes have much more spacious ensuite facilities than Rosa Bella and interestingly, even although she has 2 double bedrooms and an extra salon area she is the one with the lower arched entrances into rooms.
Thank you for your compliments and recommending a stay which is different and worth a visit, this is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Finally got to live in a gypsy caravan, an experience I have wished for since a child. The Roulette "Gitana" was home for two nights in August and I loved it. The craftsmanship was beautiful and the amenities in the caravan excellent.
The table and chairs outside were a bit too weathered, but, so are mine.
The Hot Tub was bliss. An experience for me trying to light a wood burning stove, but with a little help from Alan the fire was blazing and heating the tub up so it was ready for use once the rain let up.
I loved being in the meadow, very private and just the right amount of time to chill out. I even had an unexpected signal on my phone so I could keep track of the weather report.
I would gladly do this again. I did intend to go on my own, but my daughter came along and we had a lovely time together to unwind.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank karongilliland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avril333, Owner at Roulotte Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us and thank you for your kind compliments.
We are glad you fulfilled your dream, it is so magical - almost like running away and escaping to a Gypsy caravan - and especially enjoying time together with your daughter.
We hope you do come back and enjoy some 'meadow time' again to chill out. I liked your comment about the 'weathered chairs' being just like yours - we have managed to get around almost all of the garden furniture, repainting the metal and Danish oiling the wooden furniture, but as always, still some to be done.
The eco hot tub is such a cherry on the cake, being able to watch the stars whilst bathing in the warm/hot water - pure bliss, and a real feeling of self achievement too creating your own heat through the fire. Glad you enjoyed this. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews