We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, well worth a visit.”
Review of Abbotsford House

Abbotsford House
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Melrose
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Perhaps nowhere else in the world can evoke the power of the romantic past more than Abbotsford, stunningly located on the banks of the River Tweed in the Scottish Borders. Abbotsford sits at the heart of the landscape that inspired the poetry and novels of its creator, Sir Walter Scott. Unlike the homes of other great writers, this is a house that the writer himself designed and as such uniquely embodies a physical representation of the Romantic Movement that he helped to create. When you touch the bricks and mortar of Abbotsford, you are touching the soul of Scott. Our new FREE to access Visitor Centre is home to a Stylish Restaurant, Gift Shop and Exhibition on the life and legacy of Sir Walter Scott.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I visited on a recent trip to Melrose. The house itself is lovely, and the tour very good. Shame the upstairs is off limits, but I’m not sure there’s anything there anymore. The grounds and gardens are lovely and staff very friendly. We also had lunch at the cafe/restaurant which was very nice, though not cheap.

Thank SylvieF90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbotsfordScott, Public Relations Manager at Abbotsford House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your visit to Abbotsford Sylvie. It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your visit.
You're right in saying that the upper floors of the house did not survive, with Scott's descendants using them as living quarters until 2004, and we hope this did not detract from your experience. We would very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"sir walter"
in 111 reviews
"the river"
in 108 reviews
"the ground floor"
in 39 reviews
"audio tour"
in 79 reviews
"walled garden"
in 50 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 70 reviews
"first floor"
in 15 reviews
"gift shop"
in 41 reviews
"cafe restaurant"
in 14 reviews
"his life"
in 19 reviews
"dining room"
in 12 reviews
"great man"
in 13 reviews
"stately home"
in 13 reviews
"visitor center"
in 12 reviews
"cake"
in 10 reviews
"beautiful grounds"
in 11 reviews
"the study"
in 10 reviews
Filter

14 - 18 of 813 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We frequently break our journey here as there is much to see and enjoy. The guides in the house really care that the visitor sees the house at its best. The present exhibition explores the link between Scott and Turner. The gardens are a delight and well kept. There is a shop and pleasant restaurant on site.

Thank CumbrianLady2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbotsfordScott, Public Relations Manager at Abbotsford House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you so much for this delightful review! We're very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your visit and will make sure to share your lovely feedback with our volunteers. We would very much look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent a lovely day at abbotsford last week the Visitors centre is worth spending time in
All the people we meet who worked there were very clued up about the house and grounds

Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbotsfordScott, Public Relations Manager at Abbotsford House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your visit to Abbotsford. It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we very much hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A beautiful day at Abbotsford house.arrived with my partner and two whippets.a lovely visitor centre which is a must before visiting the house of Walter Scott.lovely gardens and lots of walks.a day isn't long enough to explore.easily accessible and dog friendly.though no pets in the house.Tweedbank rail station 10 minutes away.

Thank foxykaz5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbotsfordScott, Public Relations Manager at Abbotsford House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you very much for the wonderful review. We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Abbotsford and hope your dogs had just as much of a good time. We would very much look forward to welcoming you all again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a gem of a place, so tranquil.
Staying in the area a visit here was a must, we are so glad we did. Just a short drive from Melrose we parked up and took a step back in time.
We did the house tour using the audio guide, what a fascinating place. Telling the story of Sir Walter and some of the history of his family the Scotts of Harden.
After the house we stepped into the gardens then the walled gardens with a wonderfully colorful display of tulips.
This place is just so peaceful, it must have been a joy to live there.

Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbotsfordScott, Public Relations Manager at Abbotsford House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you so much for this great review Tony! We're very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your visit and our gardens team will be delighted to hear you enjoyed our tulip festival. We would very much look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Abbotsford House also viewed

 
St Boswells, Borders
 

Been to Abbotsford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing