We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good start to a week in the borders”
Review of King's Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
King's Arms Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Stayed for one night before starting a walking holiday. Staff friendly and room nice and comfortable if not large. Were advised to book eveningmeal and were glad we did because the place was busy. Bar was also busy. Evening meal excellent and breakfast next morning pretty good too. Great start to our holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Webbs82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
There are newer reviews for King's Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2012

This is a genuine review. Booked and paid deposit to stay for two nights. Vacated after one night. On arrival were told how much was owing (before we'd registered) but we refused to pay up front.
Were asked what time we'd be down for breakfast. Gave a half hour slot 8am to 8.30am.
Faulty light in bathroom meant a change of room (easier than replacing bulb obviously).
No glasses in bathroom or bath mat. No telephone and no hotel information available in room.
Before going for a meal someone came to our room to ask what time we'd be down for breakfast. We repeated the time we'd given, but a precise time was required!! We said 8-8.30am. "I'll put that down as 8am but that you might be late" was the response.
Mediocre meal was eaten that night in the bar at a sticky table - moved tables to another wet and sticky table.

Went down for breakfast at 8am. There was no staff in the hotel. Sat on stairs and telephoned the hotel number 17 times with no reply. When the owner/chef arrived it was 8.45am. No printed breakfast menu and were asked what we wanted for breakfast. Nearly ordered a large G & T! Checked out and moved a few yards up the street to the George & Abbotsford where we were given a room which was superior to the one we'd left with first class service and excellent food. My concern is what would have happened had there been a fire in the Kings Arms. There was no member of staff available to handle evacuation or know who was out of the building or inside. Six guests were left on their own for the night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JanButNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Stayed overnight as part of a Borders cycling trip. Rooms were good and food okay but for some reason everything had to be paid upfront. Also manager very brusque and never provided an adequate answer to why rooms, food, drinks, etc had to be paid upfront. To be fair younger bar staff friendly.

There was a function with a lot of 18-25 year olds that got very rowdy as the night wore on. Fortunatley I was that tired from cycling it didn't disturb me although that may not have been the case if I was not tired.

So hotel okay for my cucling trip but wouldn't go back if I was looking for a relaxing break with my wife and kids.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wyjhg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Stayed here for a wedding at nearby Kippilaw House. Location was good, only £9 or so from the venue. Right in the middle of the town centre though, which is an attractive town in the Borders. Two nights for £140 so not the cheapest compared to other local options, but a spacious room. Plenty of stairs to get to it...!

Room very pleasant, though the TV signal wasn't the best. Free wifi though was good, and the signal pretty strong. Comfortable bed and nice pillows/bedding.

Bathroom is where the hotel could do some work, with tired fittings (particularly flooring) and low pressure on the shower.

Breakfast was very good, I didn't take full advantage of the full breakfast but other guests did and it looked good. Lovely sausages! The chef (owner?) was very friendly and helpful.

I'd happily stay here again, didn't eat here other than breakfast but friends have told me the food is good. Cheap beer anyway!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This is a very nice hotel in which to start your tour of Melrose and the Borders.

Friendly staff and a fine selection of food at very reasonable prices well worth a visit.

Try the salmon dish its local and very very tasty

Room Tip: The back rooms are away from the main street but Melrose its a very quiet place at night
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012 via mobile

My wife and I took the opportunity to explore the Borders and chose Melrose as place to stay.
Having looked at a number of B&B and hotels for the town we opted for Kings Arms and glad we did.
As with a number of hotels in the town it is in a great location with the Abbey a short walk away and recommended.
The rooms are clean and even though it overlooked the high street there was very little noise.
The highlight for us was the food.
The menu has something for everyone and very reasonably priced.
Would stay here again if visiting Melrose

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redcap01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We were made very welcome by the staff at the King's Arms Hotel, Melrose. Right in the centre of this charming little borders town. We arrived late in the day and the restaurant seemed quite busy, but the staff were more than happy to hold a table for us later in the evening. The food was beautiful and the bar was full of locals- great for us aussies. The owner (who is the chef as well) and his staff could not have made us feel more welcome. Had one of the most enjoyable nights of our trip here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melrose
0.0 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Melrose
274 reviews
0.0 mi away
George & Abbotsford Hotel
0.0 mi away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#4 of 7 in Melrose
155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
0.0 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Arms Hotel

Address: Melrose, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Melrose
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Price Range: £73 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — King's Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your King's Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Arms Melrose
King's Arms Hotel Melrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing