We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“All you could want in a Holiday Rental!”
other travellers have booked this property
Exterior of Saddlery Cottage in summer
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior of Saddlery Cottage in summer
Saddlery Lounge Saddlery cottage dining kitchen for six people.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Exterior of Saddlery Cottage in summer
Saddlery Lounge
Saddlery cottage dining kitchen for six people.
Saddlery cottage patio and parking for 3 cars from the garden
Driveway to Saddlery Cottage
Saddlery dog-friendly gardens from Saddlery cottage patio.
Driveway to Saddlery cottage.
Part of the cottage gardens
Melrose Abbey
Picturesque town of Melrose
Swan Pond near Saddlery Cottage
Part of driveway to Saddlery cottage.
Our Pointer Zac in Saddlery garden
Saddlery Four Star Grading
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Melrose, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Irene S
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“All you could want in a Holiday Rental!”
Reviewed 10 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We have stayed at The Saddlery several times and it always lives up to expectations. Well furnished with fully equipped kitchen. An excellent situation, within walking distance of hotels, pubs and restaurants. Well placed for a variety of walks and within distance of a range of tourist attractions. Thanks, Donald and Claire, for another great stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large dining kitchen to entertain family and friends.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2015
Thank you for this great review. It was really nice to welcome you back again.Enjoyed seeing how your family are growing up! Thanks for taking care of our cats when we were away over New Year!Hope to see you again.
Claire and Donald
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephy210...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“fabulous & friendly!”
Reviewed 31 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed in october with our 2 year old son and friends. The cottage is finished to a very high standard in an idylic location. The secure garden was an added bonus for us because our son could play outside safely. The owners are a wonderful family, who are not at all intrusive. Melrose itself was a beautiful town with lovely shops and pubs. We look forward to returning next year to saddlery cottage! xx

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2015
Thanks for posting this review of Saddlery Cottage. We are so pleased that it suited your needs. Would be lovely to see you again.
Claire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia B
Bebington and Bromborough, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed 16 August 2013 for a stay in October 2012

Stayed at the cottage at the end of October last year with my partner, 2 year old daughter and my parents. The cottage is in a wonderful location and is very peaceful. The owners are wonderful and just let you get on with enjoying your holiday. The house is equipped to a very high standard with everything you need for your stay. We enjoyed ourselves so much we are going back in 2 weeks time and will be booking again for 2014.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2015
So glad you had a good time and want to come back!
Claire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage, gardens, setting, welcoming owners, everything really
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Oct 2015
Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review.
Claire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fredafrog
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous Cottage, Great Location”
Reviewed 4 August 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We have been stayed Saddlery cottage quite a number of times over the last few years as a couple and love it. In April we decided to invite our daughter, son in law and two young grandchildren and their dog to join us at Saddlery Cottage.
The large kitchen is well stocked and maintained and very quickly became the favourite room to get together at the start and end of the day. We had everything we needed in the cottage and it was perfect for our needs. The addition of wi-fi was very welcome and the children made full use of the large garden (great for an Easter Egg hunt).
The owners, Claire and Donald have obviusly put a great deal of thought ito the layout of the cottage and have worked really hard to ensure their guests have a lovely stay.
The only addition I would like to see is a second toilet but even with the 6 of us staying there we all managed ok with just the one.
As for the location, it couldn't be better. It is very quiet and private and only a mile outside of Melrose. As a family we all enjoyed climbing the "mountain" in the adjoining field and the gentle easy stroll on into Melrose.
I am constantly badgered now by the grandchildren asking when they are going back and I have to admit to be just as keen as they are to make a return visit very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The home from home feel of the cottage.
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2015
Thank you for your review. Really glad you had such a good time and that the grandchildren enjoyed themselves so much. We have thought about adding a second toilet so if we get a gap in our bookings we might just consider that! Thanks for booking with us.
Claire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarleyAll...
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely cottage with lovely grounds!”
Reviewed 3 August 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We had a spledid week at Saddlery Cottage with the family and dogs. There's a nice big area outside for the dogs to exercise. And the cottage itself was very well equipped and in a nice location. Claire and Donald were good hosts, without being too intrusive. Would definitely vist again! Great week had by all.
Thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage and grounds
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2015
Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again!
Claire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tommcwill...
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
“Incredibly friendly hostess, fantastic location and very comfortable accomodation.”
Reviewed 2 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

we had a fantastic holiday staying in Saddlery cottage, we were made so welcome and our boys loved the freedom to play in the beautiful garden with Zac the dog!
Very handy for walking or cycling into the village of Melrose and also to get up onto the beautiful Eildon Hills.
Cant wait to come again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: very relaxing location close to the hills and the village
Liked least: liked everyrthing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2015
Delighted you had such a good time here in Melrose! Thanks for coming to stay with us.
Claire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing