We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Start of St Cuthberts Way holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fiorlin Bed & Breakfast

Fiorlin Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melrose
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fiorlin Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 11 Melrose B&B and Inns
Southampton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Start of St Cuthberts Way holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We just have to praise Kenny for providing us with the most comfortable accommodation in a great location and with one of the best breakfasts ever.
Porridge was amazing as was all the other food and the little touches.
Great host and a b and b that you want to return to!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DPWayfarers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

I couldn't praise this little gem of a place enough. My mother in law and I stayed here whilst my partner was in during her time giving birth to our first child.

The family here were very flexible with holding on to the room if we needed it any extra nights. They couldn't have done enough for us at breakfast, too. Ensured we were well fed for our busy stay in Melrose.

When coming to pay, the price was very, very reasonable, and would recommend this place to anyone who were in the area.

This little bed and breakfast is one of, if not the best I've stayed in.

Thank you for your hospitality!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
690KennyP, Owner at Fiorlin Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you Adam for your kind words. I hope all is well with your new family!
Come back if you need a quiet nights sleep!!
Kenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

The folk at Fiorlin are so friendly and obliging.-nothing too much trouble. We had a smashing stay over the Bank Holiday. Extremely comfortable beds, lovely [quiet] appointed rooms and as for Kenny's delicious breakfast....well....first class. Will definitely recommend to anyone who wants a great value break without compromising on top quality.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank howsoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
690KennyP, Owner at Fiorlin Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you for your praise, I do hope you and your family make it back for another visit.
Regards to all.
Kenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Very centrally located, surrounded by its own walled garden this is a perfect place to stay. Warm room, comfy bed, soft towels, good TV and hospitality tray, its the perfect place to relax after a long day's cycling. There is a good choice of places to eat in Melrose in the evening, only a few minutes walk away. Next morning the breakfast is fantastic - cereals and porridge - fresh fruit and juice - along with a generous cooked breakfast that sets you up for the day. And even the bikes (which are kept inside overnight) washed and ready to go. Would definitely recommend and return if in the area. Its reasonably priced too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny201008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
690KennyP, Owner at Fiorlin Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, it is nice to know we are appreciated.
You would have had a good day on your bikes with the sun shining and the wind behind you.
Do come back and find more great roads to pedal.
Kenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

iorlin Bed & Breakfast in Melrose, Scotland was a wonderful experience.

Kenny could not have been more helpful if he wanted to. Our room was gorgeous, he bed a King Size [which we greatly appreciated] the mattress so very comfortable and the duvet was really, really warm. We did not even have to turn on the central heating. Being in Scotland from Australia, at this time of year, that is saying something.

Everything was supplied including shampoo, tea and coffee making requirements and biscuit snacks.

Kenny's breakfasts were bountiful [we could not eat it all and believe me we tried] and nothing was too much trouble. We actually got yogurt to have with our cereal [a selection of 4], bonus!

We had a wonderful time during our 5 night stay and used it as a base for our travels to Edinburgh and surrounds.

If you are going to the Melrose area, please do yourself a favour and stay at Fiorlin Bed & Breakfast, you will not regret it!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
690KennyP, Owner at Fiorlin Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for your complements, I am glad you enjoyed your visit here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Spotted this B&B on line when the place we'd stayed before said they were fully booked. Wasn't sure what to expect, but the location was perfect - tucked away in a very private cul-de-sac just over the road from the Abbey and Priorwood Garden, with a choice of restaurants within 2-3 minutes walk. Ample parking, secluded garden, spacious dining room, free wifi. Large, spotlessly clean ensuite room with very comfy beds. Friendly, helpful, down-to-earth owners, happy to make interesting vegetarian breakfasts (the mushroom and goats cheese omelette on the third morning was splendid). We love Melrose and will make Fiorlin our first choice on our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel_Guisborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
690KennyP, Owner at Fiorlin Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for leaving your kind review, I hope you make another trip to Melrose soon, you will be very welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Myself and friends stopped over a this great B&B on a recent bike trip. Bedrooms were spotless and very comfortable and had all the usual stuff you would expect - tv, tea and coffee, en suite shower and toilet. Kenny, the owner was very friendly and provided an excellent full Scottish breakfast (and even power washed our bikes for us in the morning). Would heartily recommend this place to anybody

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fakeGeorgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melrose
0.0 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Melrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.0 mi away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#4 of 7 in Melrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
3.0 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
0.0 mi away
George & Abbotsford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiorlin Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiorlin Bed & Breakfast

Property: Fiorlin Bed & Breakfast
Address: Fiorlin Abbey Street, Melrose TD6 9PX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Melrose
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Melrose
Hotel Class:4 star — Fiorlin Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fiorlin is a quiet detached house set within ts own walled grounds with free parking, comfortable rooms and excellent locally sourced breakfasts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fiorlin Bed & Breakfast Melrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing