We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great cottage in great location”
other travellers have booked this property
Lavender Blue
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lavender Blue
Cottage with parking for 1/2 cars
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Lavender Blue
Cottage with parking for 1/2 cars
Garden with table and chairs
Welcome basket.
Kitchen
Sitting room
Sitting room
Reading corner in Sitting room
Downstairs toilet
Bedroom as Super King Size
Downstairs hall way.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Melrose, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ontheroad...
London
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great cottage in great location”
Reviewed 1 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed in several places in Melrose, so knew this cottage would work for us as it's close to the restaurants we like. But it was even better than imagined, with considerate supply of cake/milk/etc to get us started, and easy-to-understand instructions for all devices. The size was great for 2 people but you could easily have 4 without feeling on top of each other. Nice decor that was homey without being too personal. In all, a great place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cookie70
glasgow
1 review
“Once again perfect”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Had a fantastic stay, you feel very much at home at Lavender Blue. You can want for nothing here and Melrose itself is stunning. An absolute gem of a property. Don't hesitate just book it and find out for yourself .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The customer service from the owner
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B
1 review
“Simply the best, better than all the rest!”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stayed at Lavender Blue several times now. Immaculate property. Very welcoming hostess. If I won the lottery I would make her an offer for the cottage I hope she couldn't refuse. I want it for me, and just me!
DB.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wandering...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Stay!”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Melrose had been completely booked out for accommodation particularly as we were travelling with a dog. And then we found Lavender Blue Cottage. In the middle of the town but tucked away so that it is quiet and peaceful. Laura, the owner, couldn't have been more helpful and kind and left afternoon tea for our arrival. Fabulous scones! The whole cottage is well set up and comfortable. It was a great start as we set off on St Cuthbert's Way.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymond Y
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great week in Lavender Blue Cottage”
Reviewed 13 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This is the second time I have stayed in Lavender Blue Cottage with my wife and father and mother in-law. The cottage in absolutely superb! It is very welcoming and very comfortable. There is a beautiful walled garden to sit in, which we made the most of in wonderful sunshine. The owner, Laura, leaves a great welcome pack including a very tasty home made fruit cake. The cottage is the best equipped house we have stayed in. The location is terrific as it is right in the centre of Melrose but is very quiet. I am sure we will return next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and its location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allan b
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect holiday cottage.”
Reviewed 5 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had an excellent short stay here.
From the fast and efficient communications on making the booking to the lovely welcome basket, an excellent service was provided.
The cottage was clean, well stocked with the essentials, everything worked and the beds were very comfy indeed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 19 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

A spacious, yet cosy and warm cottage. Fully equipped with quality products and very nicely decorated throughout. The garden is enclosed with a good private parking space. When we arrived, there was fresh bread and milk, plus other treats - which was a very nice touch. Fantastic location, within 1 to 2 minutes walk to Melrose High Street which offers a good range of shops and pubs. Locals were very friendly as well.
Highly recommended and we hope to return again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing