We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Attention to detail at its best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Finlay Grant

Finlay Grant
Ranked #19 of 27 Restaurants in Melrose
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Attention to detail at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We visited this gallery/teashop 3 times during our week long holiday near Melrose.
The customer service provided by the very interesting Mr Grant was excellent.
The hot towels and water in crystal glass on arrival was the beginning of a lovely and tasteful experience. During our visits we sampled fine tea and delicious coffees served in vintage crockery, the scones, soup and light bites were all great. The whole ambience of the gallery/teashop is both pleasant and calming.
Any future trips to Melrose will most certainly include a visit to Findlay Grant - keep up the excellent work.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BrianT422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    1
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I had the perfect latte and macaroon. Given a hot face cloth to cleanse hands and a glass of water in a crystal glass with my coffee. Macaroon was served in a tiny silver 3 footed dish. Lovely china, tea cloths.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sheila I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience, delicious teas/coffees”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stumbled upon this place quite by accident on a visit to Melrose and it was a great find.
Lovely service (the hot towels on arrivale were a lovely touch), beautiful space, interesting art and fine teas and coffees. The cakes looked great too.
The vintage crockery and decor was really fun and well chosen and the service was friendly and attentive.
Definitely a worthwhile stop.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David_B186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Customer Care at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

This is one of the nicest places that I have ever experienced.

The atmosphere within this cafe/restaurant together with the excellent service provided made this a very enjoyable visit.

I would definitely recommend this venue to anyone visiting Melrose.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent retro cafe - great food & service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Beautifully set up cafe with excellent, high quality food and drinks. Menu not hugely extensive, but everything we tried was very good indeed. Service very attentive and thorough - hot towels brought before food served and glasses of water all round too!
Artworks and craft items for sale - all of high quality and diverse range.
Will definitely be back when back in Melrose.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jack_Bosworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Finlay Grant also viewed

 

Been to Finlay Grant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing