We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little hotel but overpriced”
Review of Station Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Station Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice little hotel but overpriced”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We stayed at the Station hotel for 1 night as we were attending a wedding at the Dryburgh abbey hotel in St Boswells. We stayed in room 3. The room was small but clean and modern and with a large modern bathroom (great shower!). There was no view and we could hear the kitchen extractor fan outside but that was not a problem at all. We had a good night sleep. We did not try the breakfast as it was served between 9am and 10am on a Sunday and we were still asleep. The owners were friendly. We paid £85 for the night which in my opinion is overpriced.

We also had dinner at the restaurant. I had salmon fishcakes. I was disappointed that there was not much salmon in them at all, it tasted like mash. My partner had the fish and chips and said the fish was not very good as the batter was very soggy.

Overall it is a nice little hotel and we would stay there again but only at a cheaper price.

A warning to anyone attending a wedding at the Dryburgh abbey hotel in St Boswells: it cost us about £20 cab drive each way to get there and back from Melrose !

Room Tip: Avoid Room2 which is right next to the kitchen extractor fan (very noisy). Room 3 has no view and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmanuel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    48
    16
    2
    4
See reviews for
22
52
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We didn't stay at the hotel but had Lunch for 9 which was enjoyed by every one of us. At £7.95 per head the Sunday Roast was a bargain! The decor in the dining room was fab and it was a really spacious interior. The childrens food was also superb and the staff were first class. We will be back here whenever we are in the Borders area.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidElizabeth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We did not stay at this hotel, but we did have a meal here. For some reason, Tripadvisor is not ranking this as a restaurant, which is sad, as we had a lovely meal!
There are two types of meals: the to-be-expected bar meals, which seemed lovely, and a more innovative restaurant menu, with specials. The wine menu has a good variety at good prices, and the presentation of how the wine was served was great.
The sticky toffee pudding we had as desert was amongst the best we ever tasted.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip_Coppens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We stayed here this summer while doing the Abbey Walk through the Scottish Borders, all the reviews we saw were great. They allowed us to store our suitcase for a few nights while we were walking. I was disappointed in the room size it was the smallest we had in our 2 weeks in the UK , the bathroom on the other hand was large. it was clean and very nicely appointed. I guess I iwas expecting more based on the reviews.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2011

After spending 3 weeks in the Scottish Borders with work and moving hotel nearly every other day, the family run Station Hotel in Melrose had to be the best of the lot! A warm friendly welcome was given, and rather than being handed the room key and sent on your way, you are shown to your room and all features explained. The rooms are very modern and comfortable, extremely clean and nice spacious bathrooms with walk in showers. Free wifi throughout the hotel is a big bonus given the poor signal in the area. The bar was always busy during my stay and had reasonably priced drinks. The food was excellent and the portion sizes were large for the prices. All in all i wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Station Hotel to anyone visiting the borders.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas_Fairley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
up north
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

we stayed at the hotel last night after attending a family wedding nearby. staff were friendly, room was ready early. would definately stay here again...........parking is the only problem..........especially on a saturday

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tallybelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

stopped 1 night midweek while working in galashiels. Very nice stay, staff were friendly, rooms clean and modern with nice en-suite, great food evening meal and breakfast were plentifull. Public car park to rear of hotel. would recommend without hesitation

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tworods2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melrose
0.0 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Melrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.0 mi away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
0.0 mi away
King's Arms Hotel
King's Arms Hotel
#5 of 7 in Melrose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
3.4 mi away
Buccleuch Arms Scottish Borders
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Station Hotel

Property: Station Hotel
Address: 26 Market Square, Melrose TD6 9PT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Melrose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Station Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Station Hotel Melrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing