We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”
Review of Station Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Station Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Certificate of Excellence
burntisland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed 2 June 2010

An excellent stay at this hotel in the lovely town of Melrose.

Rooms were spacious and clean.Food in the restaurant was excellent and well priced.

Had a problem with my shower not bringing through hot water but a plumber came out within half an hour and sorted it - great service!

I would return to this hotel in the future - highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank tinsoldier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    49
    21
    3
    4
See reviews for
23
56
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2010

As a Virtual Assistant I work for clients all over the country, occasionally I have to visit their site too. I travelled alone and late, the hotel stayed open for a VERY late check in, and there was a packed lunch waiting in my room as I was leaving early before breakfast.
The rooms are beautiful, exceptionally clean and very tastefully decorated, the staff are incredibly helpful and always cheerful. I ate here two nights, the food was gorgeous! I have to add I did not feel uncomfortable at all sitting eating alone - ladies this is one hotel / restaurant where you would feel fine on your own.
Loved every minute of my stay, reasonably priced too, I highly recommend the Station Hotel, Melrose

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shellybabe2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WALES
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2010

nice place, clean, very good food even if a bit pricey but in line with other hotel prices.
staff very friendly and situated in center of town, ideal. enjoyed stay very much. only downside couple of rooms you could hear the extractor fan from outside which comes from the kitchen, we asked for different room which we got and was nice and quiet, room 5.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WILBSWALES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, UK
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2010

We stayed here for one Saturday night while in the area visiting an ill relative. Consequently, we simply wanted somewhere relatively comfortable and quiet to stay. On arrival, we had to push our way through the merry punters at the bar to try and attract the attention of the staff in order to check in. While being fairly at home in a raucous bar on a Saturday night myself it would definitely not be everyone's cup of tea and isn't the best introduction to the 'hotel'. On the plus side, the rooms are very comfortable and well appointed with lovely shower rooms, freeview flat screen tv, wifi (ask at the bar for the password), and kettle, tea, coffee and biscuits in the room. Don't be fooled by the well finished appearance of the rooms though - my wife almost got locked in the shower room when the handle fell off! Happily I was able to open the door from the outside but if you are a solo traveller your stay at the Station Hotel may be longer than you had intended ... The main downside with the hotel though is noise ... not from the other rooms but from the music speakers inexplicably placed at the bottom of the stair linking the bar/dining room to the bedrooms. Although there is a door at the bottom of the stairs it is generally left open allowing you to hear all your favourite 70s and 80s classics until around 1am (on a Saturday night anyway). If you don't mind this and are quite happy checking in at the bar, then this would be a great place to stay ... quite friendly and good breakfasts! Just watch those bathroom door handles!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Methven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2009

Me And my Partner stayed at the Station Hotel and i must say was a very good exsperience Staff were first class one of the best rooms i have stayed in in some time food was first class i would recomend to anyone Well done to all involved in the Hotel

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marleemanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORTH SHIELDS
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2009

My husband and myself met up with my 1/2 brother and his wife FOR THE 1ST TIME!.The Station was a great place to stay for this 1st meeting .The rooms are very nice , the food fabulous , and the staff friendly and very professional. They all , including some of the regulars , helped to make this a truely memorable occasion for my brother and I. We will certainly stay again !!!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CECPURPLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2009

arrived no reception area, its at the bar. had to wait until the locals had finished conversation. room small, no seating, looked out at bare wall and chimney from kitchen, made constant noise until late evening, could not be opened for ventilation anyway.
breakfast very limited, no choice e.g. fresh fruit. does not warrant star rating, is overpriced

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dagsdecision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melrose
0.0 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Melrose
259 reviews
0.0 mi away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
303 reviews
0.0 mi away
King's Arms Hotel
King's Arms Hotel
#5 of 7 in Melrose
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
0.1 mi away
George & Abbotsford Hotel
3.0 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Station Hotel

Property: Station Hotel
Address: 26 Market Square, Melrose TD6 9PT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Melrose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Station Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Station Hotel Melrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing