We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, friendly BRAVO!”
Review of Station Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Station Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, friendly BRAVO!”
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Cute little hotel in a cute little town. Very clean, modern bathroom and friendly staff. I usually like to venture away from my hotel but their bar and restaurant was very popular so we stayed…and very happy we did!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Summer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    51
    21
    3
    5
See reviews for
25
58
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We booked very late, 4 days before, and they had the 2 rooms we were looking for. Sadly my friends had to cancel due to illness but the hotel still wanted the full price for the room. Policies are polices and rules is rules…however they didn’t have to clean the room or anything and I had a strong suspicion that they had subsequently let the room anyway as the hotel looked full. Wasn’t totally impressed by that attitude so decided to eat elsewhere as I figured they’d had enough out of me with the room rate penalty.

The room that we were given, presumably the better of the two that we had actually paid for, was well below the mark. The carpet was grubby, there were marks on the ceiling and immediately outside the window was the largest extractor fan pipe you could ever see, howling away like a banshee during the hours the kitchen was in operation. Fine if you don’t want to sit in the room before 9.30 pm or sleep after 7am.

The bathroom was very nice however and the breakfast was fine…I toyed with the idea of asking for the two extra breakfasts that we had paid for but weren’t eating but decided that may have been nit-picking.

A reasonable complaint to the management got us a discount because of the room – it is number 2 in case you get put in it and want a discount too – but I wouldn’t go back anyway. I understand that it wasn’t their fault there was a cancellation and we were happy to pay something, but to be charged full whack when the room was a late booking and they didn’t have to do any work for it seemed rather short sighted to me.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burntisland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2010

An excellent stay at this hotel in the lovely town of Melrose.

Rooms were spacious and clean.Food in the restaurant was excellent and well priced.

Had a problem with my shower not bringing through hot water but a plumber came out within half an hour and sorted it - great service!

I would return to this hotel in the future - highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank tinsoldier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2010

As a Virtual Assistant I work for clients all over the country, occasionally I have to visit their site too. I travelled alone and late, the hotel stayed open for a VERY late check in, and there was a packed lunch waiting in my room as I was leaving early before breakfast.
The rooms are beautiful, exceptionally clean and very tastefully decorated, the staff are incredibly helpful and always cheerful. I ate here two nights, the food was gorgeous! I have to add I did not feel uncomfortable at all sitting eating alone - ladies this is one hotel / restaurant where you would feel fine on your own.
Loved every minute of my stay, reasonably priced too, I highly recommend the Station Hotel, Melrose

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shellybabe2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WALES
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2010

nice place, clean, very good food even if a bit pricey but in line with other hotel prices.
staff very friendly and situated in center of town, ideal. enjoyed stay very much. only downside couple of rooms you could hear the extractor fan from outside which comes from the kitchen, we asked for different room which we got and was nice and quiet, room 5.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WILBSWALES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, UK
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2010

We stayed here for one Saturday night while in the area visiting an ill relative. Consequently, we simply wanted somewhere relatively comfortable and quiet to stay. On arrival, we had to push our way through the merry punters at the bar to try and attract the attention of the staff in order to check in. While being fairly at home in a raucous bar on a Saturday night myself it would definitely not be everyone's cup of tea and isn't the best introduction to the 'hotel'. On the plus side, the rooms are very comfortable and well appointed with lovely shower rooms, freeview flat screen tv, wifi (ask at the bar for the password), and kettle, tea, coffee and biscuits in the room. Don't be fooled by the well finished appearance of the rooms though - my wife almost got locked in the shower room when the handle fell off! Happily I was able to open the door from the outside but if you are a solo traveller your stay at the Station Hotel may be longer than you had intended ... The main downside with the hotel though is noise ... not from the other rooms but from the music speakers inexplicably placed at the bottom of the stair linking the bar/dining room to the bedrooms. Although there is a door at the bottom of the stairs it is generally left open allowing you to hear all your favourite 70s and 80s classics until around 1am (on a Saturday night anyway). If you don't mind this and are quite happy checking in at the bar, then this would be a great place to stay ... quite friendly and good breakfasts! Just watch those bathroom door handles!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Methven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2009

Me And my Partner stayed at the Station Hotel and i must say was a very good exsperience Staff were first class one of the best rooms i have stayed in in some time food was first class i would recomend to anyone Well done to all involved in the Hotel

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marleemanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melrose
0.0 mi away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
306 reviews
0.0 mi away
King's Arms Hotel
King's Arms Hotel
#5 of 7 in Melrose
129 reviews
0.1 mi away
George & Abbotsford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
3.0 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
940 reviews
18.8 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Station Hotel

Property: Station Hotel
Address: 26 Market Square, Melrose TD6 9PT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Melrose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Station Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Station Hotel Melrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing