We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent !”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Melrose, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Rachael M
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent !”
Reviewed 23 March 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Very kindly invited by my Katie - had a fantastic week over the Christmas period. Couldn't fault it apart from no outside tap to hose the dogs down..... It was very wet !!!! A massive thanks to all concerned

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2016
Hi there, Rachael, Many thanks for your review! And I'm pleased to say that we've now made plans to be even more dog-friendly for future guests... Our newly improved facilities (for up to 3 well-behaved dogs!) include a basement seating area where dogs and owners can relax together, a 'doggie wash station' with towels, in the lower courtyard, and two lovely large wicker dog beds for those who prefer to bring a bit less clobber with them... Thanks again for reviewing us and hope to see you again some time (B&B is always a good 'stand-by' option...)! Yours aye, Marianne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schofield...
Chorley, Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't hesitate - book... You won't regret it!!”
Reviewed 14 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were a group of family and friends, from aged 10 to aged 56.. all together to celebrate my 40th birthday. On arrival I was so impressed, every corner, every door opened just showed how amazing this place is. There was nothing missing, nothing else needed. The kitchens, living rooms, bedrooms, bathrooms are amazing... A well, a Victorian flushing toilet, drying room, two dishwashers, heated stone floors. This place just kept on giving. The bedrooms and bathrooms are huge!! No one was disappointed. No expense had been spared. Marianne is helpful and a pleasure to speak and deal with. We all had an amazing time and no one wanted to leave. Sir Walter Scott holds a piece of my heart, this man was incredible.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for your really kind words, Sarah. I'm sorry I wasn't around when you left, but just to reiterate we loved having you all to stay and are really glad you left recharged and inspired. (Yup, surprising as it may seem on first appearances, Scott is definitely 'the Man'!) Next time - just make sure you can do the 'three nights for two'!! ;-) All the v. best, Marianne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AThomas28...
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“SCOTTISH CROWN JEWEL DISCOVERED!”
Reviewed 1 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

So it turns out Walter Scott's home at Abbotsford actually has a wing where rooms can be rented. It was built by Scott's family so they had somewhere to retreat to when Scott's fame produced an endless stream of visitors to the house. It's lovely, and in keeping with the main building, with period bathrooms, library, billiard room etc...

We had our very pleasant overnight stay in September, with a personal tour of the wing when we arrived from the lady looking after the place, who made us a superb breakfast the next morning, while also providing a lot of history on the author and the house.

A tour of the house itself is an interesting hour, and a new visitor centre up the hill provides more background on Scott himself. We were not on any organised tour and I don't think we suffered any. Rather the opposite.

Getting there was an easy taxi from the new rail station at Tweedbank, and in the evening we walked along the river to Melrose, which was also very nice - an hour and a half along the mainly flat, marked path along the pretty river.

Recommended for a better paced visit to a wonderfully historic home.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melvin G
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absorbing history, affordable luxury and astonishing service.”
Reviewed 1 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The combination of Scottish literary history, luxurious and beautiful surroundings and homely yet world class service made our stay at Abbotsford utterly magical.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floris C
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“if the spot and its wonderfully important and attractive history appeals to you at all, by all means go and stay there!”
Reviewed 3 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

It is really the ideal place to immerse yourself in Scottish history, for which you need not be a Scot at all - were are Dutch. The wing itself, as the rest of Abbotsford, exudes history wherever you look or move, while being at the same time entirely up to date in terms of tasteful modernisation and quietly, luckily not exuberantly luxurious care for the guests. It is so easy to use terms like 'unforgettable', but for both my wife and me our stay will remain unforgotten for as long as memory still serves. The above statement definitely includes the always careful and attentive, never intruding services of the manager, Marianne Rustad, with her genuine interest in the needs and interests of her guests.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: well, the sense of history that the place exudes
Liked least: the Scottish wheather (although it was good enough for this part of our stay, and only turned bad later, near the Highlands
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KristenH1...
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unforgettable Wedding and Vacation”
Reviewed 25 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We recently stayed a week at Abbotsford, renting out the whole house for my wedding. We had a group of 13 people including two small children that got to stay with us during the week. We live in the US and while researching getting married in Scotland (his family lives there), this popped on our radar- and we are so glad that it did. 80 people traveled over from the states to be a part of this amazing experience. Not only was the house beautiful on the outside and so picturesque (the best wedding pictures I have ever seen), but the residence has been decorated sparing no detail. Every room is wonderfully decorated and comfortable. The staff goes above and beyond what you could ever expect. I have traveled a lot and have stayed at many different places (hotels, motels, B&B's, apartments, etc) and I have never had an experience like this. The whole house if yours. We spent many nights just relaxing in the large kitchen and enjoying each other's company. There was no one to bother you or tell you you were being too loud, or did you have to deal with other guests mulling around. The rooms are spacious and are above 5 star quality (each and every room). In my opinion the bathrooms were the best part!! The staff really makes you feel at home and they really take care of you - from the minute you arrive till your last minutes there. Marianne and her staff make you feel like royalty. They even have activities for kids to do during any down time.
You have full access to the grounds of Abbotsford, which allows for hikes, walks on the Tweed River, seeing the wild horses every morning. I simply cannot say enough about my experience at Abbotsford. For the last three weeks that we have been home, all we keep saying is that we wish we could do it all over again- and who says that after a wedding?!?
As part of our stay, we did get married on the grounds as well. Our ceremony was in the Sir Walter Scott's library and was decorated simply and beyond our expectations. The reception was held in the walled gardens under a marquee. The staff really adhered to whatever we asked and really made the day special for us and our guests. Kat did an amazing job giving us our perfect wedding and making sure every last detail was taken care of.
We had the whole thing catered by Ochiltrees, their restaurant sits on the grounds. It was amazing food and they were very accommodating seeing that we were planning from so far away. Everyone really went out of their way to make our experience memorable.
I cannot say enough about what an amazing place Abbotsford is and if you are looking around in Scotland for places to get married - go here. I would recommend getting married here but also staying here. It really is worth it and you will have the wedding/vacation of your dreams!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Getting to stay at the house, as if it were your own house (but with way better amenities and house keepers!)
Liked least: The fact that we didn't book it for two weeks!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederik...
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing