We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Waverley Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

Just back from weekend break at Waverley Castle. Great value for money. Room was lovely and warm with good shower. Good choice of food and served efficiently morning and evening. Bar staff very helpful at all times. Drinks vouchers very handy and easy to use. Only downfall to weekend was that there was no entertainment on the sunday night which i heard alot of guests commenting about. Great weekend overall and will be back again soon.

Room Tip: High floor rooms very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eleanor k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrBinksGM, Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Dear Eleanor k, thank you for taking the time to posting a review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the weekend with us. I will pass your comments on about the lack of entertainment on the Sunday. Hope to see you again. Luke Binks, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    239
    122
    51
    32
See reviews for
86
279
51
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton Aycliffe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

Just back from 4 nights at the Waverley Castle with shearings, and this break was worth every penny. Hotel was welcoming, extra warm and clean. Food was standard shearings menu but was cooked a lot better than other hotels. Only down side was waiter in dining room was so slow he
Didnt seem to have any system , always took about an hour for our meals.
Entertainment was excellent, James was fantastic and lovely with it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emma90_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrBinksGM, Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Dear emma90_11, thanking you for taking the time to post a review. I apologise for the service in the restaurant you received, thank you for bring that to my attention as it is not our usual standard. I will pass your good comments onto my kitchen and housekeeping team. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the entertainment. Hope to see you again soon. Luke Binks, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

My husband and myself stayed at the Waverley Hotel on 18th February to 22nd February. We really enjoyed our stay there, we upgraded to a superior room when we booked as they were the only ones left at the time. The weather was cold but we had two heaters in our room and we were very comfortable.
On our 2nd day we were to go to Edinburgh on business and we had enquired when booking what day the trip going to Edinburgh was and was told Tuesday. We saw the coach driver on our way up and also in the reception area to book other trips which we did, not sure if we were told wrong time of trip or we made an error but we went into reception at 9:04 and the coach had gone.We thought it was going at 9:30 I was really upset we asked about a train but there are none but I had made enquiries at First bus in Edinburgh before we left just in case the trip to Edinburgh was a different day and I said to Mr Binks the manager I know we can get a bus to Melrose and then one to Galashiels where we can get the X95 into Edinburgh. Mr Binks said best go straight to Galashiels, I asked if he could order a taxi for us as we had an appointment in Edinburgh for 11:30 Mr Binks ordered the taxi and told them to put it on the Hotels bill. That was extremely kind of him and we got our bus into Edinburgh and concluded our busiess which we were extremely happy with. After that we relaxed into our holiday and were very happy with everything from the restaurant food and staff and the evening entertainment which incidently included 4 FREE drinks each evening and the resident host and entertainer James Mullaney was fantastically funny and the very accomplished Accordianist Gary Coupland was fantastic also. We met 2 nice couples there also which we will keep in touch with. My only moan was our trip by coach into Galashiels as it appears to be a bit of a run down town but we only stayed there for an hour or so. all others were really good. Thank you Mr Binks for saving the day as I thought when the coach had gone we were not going to make it into Edinburgh on time as that was the main reason of going to that hotel, but we just got there by the skin of our teeth. We would recommend going there to anyone and will return there to do the Edinburgh trip someday. As an ex catering manager we appreciated the complications of keeping a busy hotel running smoothly for this we congratulate you.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Coloms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrBinksGM, Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Dear coloms, thank you for the glowing review. I am glad that we were able to get you to Edinburgh in time for your meeting on time and that this did not put you off from enjoying the rest of your stay. Sorry for your inconvenience on your journey and I will pass your comments on. I hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Luke Binks, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

Lovely Hotel in beautiful grounds with the river Tweed running close by.Comfortable clean bedrooms and good food.Idea for a base when exploring Edinburgh and surrounding area
Melrose Abbey was close and the Abbey Mill tea rooms is a must.The walk back from Melrose to the hotel along the river is beautiful

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrBinksGM, Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Dear megan j, thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. The Waverley Castle is a great base for exploring the beautiful Scottish Borders; we are blest with amazing surroundings with great little towns for sight seeing. I am pleased to read that you found your room to your liking and that you enjoyed the food. Hope to see you again some time soon. Kind Regards, Luke Binks, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlestown, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a great weekend 3 night break. We were greeted at the check in by Jackie and had some good laughter over the all inclusive vouchers .The room we we were allocated was a bay windowed third floor large room with a great view over the hills. We were delighted. We went down for pre dinner drinks and was again greeted by Jackie and Garry who made us very welcome and gave us good service .On arrival at the dining room we were allocated our table for the duration of our stay and the service and quality of the food was excellent. We had no complaints from start to finish during our stay .The entertainment was very good with James a very versatile and a talented person. We thoroughly enjoyed both evenings .We both agreed this was a most successful and fun filled weekend and a bonus of brilliant weather in the Borders .We will be back .
John & Joyce .Fife .

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrBinksGM, Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Dear John F,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

It’s great to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your holiday and that you were greeted by those rarest of gifts (the sunshine).

I hope to see you again in the not to distance future.

Kind Regards,

Luke Binks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

Just back from a 2 day break, which would have been reasonable value if we had not paid an additional £50 for a superior room which promised a luxurious bed.. The mattress on our bed was very uncomfortable and I woke up each morning with a sore back! Also the windows in the room would not open as they appeared to have been stuck down with duct tape! The room itself was warm clean and nicely decorated. A good supply of tea, coffee and milk was also provided. Food was ok although one comment on the dinning experience, this is probably an unusual criticism the service was just too quick, no sooner had we finished one course and the next was presented. In and out of the dinning room in less than 40mins.
After fairly negative comments I have to say that the entertainment was very good on both Friday and Saturday night.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janisScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrBinksGM, General Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear janisScotland,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. All your comments will be investigated.

Kind Regards,

Luke Binks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

We stayed at the Waverly Castle on a 5 day Shearings break. On first sight the hotel is impressive with lots of car parking space.

Our room was on the first floor and was a premier room. We had two sitting areas and a sleeping area, also a large bathroom with bath and excellent shower, only let down by a tiny wash hand basin with large tap stuck in the middle. The room was kept spotless at all times.

The food was mostly good and had a decent enough variety. The staff however were exceptionally friendly and efficient. We had the feeling they could not do enough for you.

With a lot of sunny weather and a couple of good trips out I could not have wished for a better break. I would recomend this hotel. I don't know how Shearings manages to keep their prices so comptetive.

Room Tip: Premier rooms are a bit expensive, but you get more space and bigger bathrooms.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Douglas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrBinksGM, Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Dear Douglas W, thank you for your recent review. I am pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your holiday with us at the Waverley. I will pass your glowing comments onto my team as am sure they would love to receive such positive feedback. Kind Regards, Luke Binks, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melrose
1.0 mi away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
4.0 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Melrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#4 of 7 in Melrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
5.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Philipburn House Hotel
1.0 mi away
George & Abbotsford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Waverley Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Waverley Castle Hotel

Property: Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
Address: Waverley Road | Waverley Road, Melrose TD6 9AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Melrose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Waverley Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stately looking Waverley Castle Hotel, situated one mile outside the town of Melrose, is set splendidly in five acres of rolling parkland at the heart of the Scottish Borders. Nestling between the River Tweed and the Eildon Hills, it is a stunning building boasting stunning views. Guests can happily relax in the Eildon Restaurant and enjoy outstanding views out over the Eildon Hills. After dinner you can continue your evening in the welcoming bar and ballroom where you can dance the night away to our excellent evening entertainment. The area is perfect for those who like to get out and explore. There are several sightseeing walks to enjoy nearby including one along the River Tweed. Historical Edinburgh is easily accessible by car for a day trip and is well worth a visit for the castle, shops, architecture and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Bay Waverley Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Castle Hotel
Waverley Castle Melrose
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel Melrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing