We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A weekend away” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Waverley Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A weekend away”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Spent Friday to Monday15 - 18th March at this hotel. The staff (especially the waitresses and waiters were extremely helpful and friendly making you feel welcome. The room was clean and comfortable and had tea and coffee making facility. There was entertainment every evening and a separate room if you just wanted to blether. There was a good selection of food all of which was well prepared and presented. Only downside was £1.75 for a can of Pepsi

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Celia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrBinksGM, Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Celia Y,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review on us here at the Waverley Castle.

I am delighted to read that you have really enjoined your stay with us and I am sure the staff will be overwhelmed when I pass on your kind words to them.

I do hope you consider us again when it come to booking your next holiday.

We all look forward to seeing you again soon

Kind Regards,

Daniel Robert McDonald
Trainee Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    239
    122
    51
    32
See reviews for
86
279
51
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We have just returned from a short break with Shearing's to The Waverley Castle in Melrose.
And as with all our holidays with Shearing we had a very nice holiday. The trips were good and our driver Pat was very informative when we were out for the day.

We found the hotel and the food good with plenty of choice and the four vouchers a day for each person is a very good idea. Melrose is such a pretty little place and the village is only 15 minutes walk from the hotel or you could get a bus right outside the hotel if you did not want to walk.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pigletns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrBinksGM, General Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear pigletns,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am glad to see from your review that you enjoyed your stay and that Shearings are continually offering good holidays.

Hope to see you again soon,

Luke Binks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worldwide
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

stayed here iin february with shearings, the food was very good as is most of shearings hotels, rooms good, entertainment was very good. i think i was expecting too much from this hotel as people were saying how great it was, yes it was good but i have stayed in better shearings hotels and a bit cheaper.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hannah20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrBinksGM, General Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear hannah20,

Thank you for your review on the Waverley Castle hotel.

I apologise if you think that we did not offer value for money compared to other hotels in this case. I am glad to see that you did have a good time, but I am sad to read that we had not met your expectations.

Kind Regards,

Luke Binks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

We have just returned to Essex after spending 3 nights at this hotel.It was well worth the drive.
The staff are extremely friendly and accommodating and our standard plus room was very clean and comfortable.There is entertainment every evening and should you want to sit in a quieter location these could be easily found.
There was a good choice of food and drink,served by willing staff.
Altogether a good value break in a stunning setting.
M & J Parrish

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrBinksGM, Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Maureen P,

How wonderful it is to read that you enjoyed every part of your stay. I will pass on your kind remarks to all the staff and we do hope to see you again in the ever so near future.

Kind Regards,

Daniel Robert McDonald
Trainee Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Single room cost £25 which just can't be beaten. Accommodation tired but perfectly functional. TV channels limited. No free wifi in room. But staff lovely. Will probably stay again if room rate repeated.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank GeorgeMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrBinksGM, General Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear GeorgeMcG,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I have taken your comments on board and will action them where needed.

Thank you once again for your feedback and am sure that if you keep an eye on the websites you'll find similar rates to the one you booked.

Hope to see you again soon,

Luke Binks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

James, what an asset for any hotel to have. We have returned from Waverly Castle after a 5 day break. The food was excellent, however I would have appreciated a better selection of Diabetic desserts. As much as I like ice cream a little variasion would be nice. My friend and I both diabetic, came across 6 other diabetics during our visit, surly other desserts could be provided. However at the end of our evening meal we did have James to look forward to, what an entertainer he is, my friends and I came away looking forward to another visit just to see him. Many thanks to James.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VLOU2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrBinksGM, General Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear VLOU2014,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Your comments about the diabetic deserts are being looked into; however at any point during your stay, if you had mention that you would have liked a different desert, we would have sorted something for you.

I will pass your praise onto James, as am should he would love to hear so.

Hope to see you again soon,

Luke Binks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We spent 4 nights at The Waverley Castle Hotel in March 2014, on a National Holidays tour and (for the price we paid) it was excellent in all respects and very good value. The room was a reasonable size, clean and comfortable, with all of the facilities that we needed for a short stay. Every day, the food was very good and very well presented, with plenty of choice. All of the staff were very efficient, friendly and helpful (particularly in the dining area and the bar). We were sorry to leave and we would be very happy to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DANDIMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrBinksGM, General Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear DANDIMS,

What a fantastic review, thank you for sharing your experiences. I will make sure that your comments are passed on to the staff.

Hope to see you again soon,

Luke Binks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melrose
1.0 mi away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
4.0 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Melrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#4 of 7 in Melrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
5.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Philipburn House Hotel
1.0 mi away
George & Abbotsford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Waverley Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Waverley Castle Hotel

Property: Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
Address: Waverley Road | Waverley Road, Melrose TD6 9AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Melrose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Waverley Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stately looking Waverley Castle Hotel, situated one mile outside the town of Melrose, is set splendidly in five acres of rolling parkland at the heart of the Scottish Borders. Nestling between the River Tweed and the Eildon Hills, it is a stunning building boasting stunning views. Guests can happily relax in the Eildon Restaurant and enjoy outstanding views out over the Eildon Hills. After dinner you can continue your evening in the welcoming bar and ballroom where you can dance the night away to our excellent evening entertainment. The area is perfect for those who like to get out and explore. There are several sightseeing walks to enjoy nearby including one along the River Tweed. Historical Edinburgh is easily accessible by car for a day trip and is well worth a visit for the castle, shops, architecture and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Bay Waverley Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Castle Hotel
Waverley Castle Melrose
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel Melrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing