We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Had to visit Edinburgh at very short notice and could not find anywhere close to stay - found this hotel on a deals website and I was a bit nervous about staying as some of the reviews were not great but it was cheap so I decided to give it a go. What a good decision that was, receptionist was very helpful & friendly, my room was a good size for a single, as most of the other visitors were older it was very quiet at night and I got a wonderful nights sleep. The next morning I went to breakfast and despite the fact that it was packed I was served very quickly with an excellent breakfast.

Overall I would have said it would have been great value if I had paid twice the amount, I'll definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Akbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrBinksGM, General Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Akbrad,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am glad to see that you did not let the negative reviews put you off from staying with us here at the Waverley and that you enjoyed your stay.

Hope to see you again soon,

Luke Binks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    245
    132
    51
    33
See reviews for
90
288
51
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

12 of us went on Holiday to Melrose last month, and stayed at the Waverley Hotel, and I can honestly say (speaking for all of us) it was one of the most enjoyable stays we have had at a Shearing hotel. The hotel itself is very imposing, and actually looks like castle, the food was excellent, the staff very friendly, the bedroom very spacious and spotlessly clean, and as for the entertainment, James had us all in stitches all week. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Book eartly and ask for a twin bedded room, there bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shirlgirl186408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrBinksGM, General Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear shirlgirl186408,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am glad to read that you and your party enjoyed your stay with us. I will make sure your comments are passed onto my team at the next meeting.

Hope to see you again soon,

Luke Binks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelty, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

went back once again to the waverley castle in melrose. had a great time. the staff the food and the entertainment especially james was first class. won't be long before we go back again.thanks to everyone at the hotel.

Room Tip: i prefer rooms at the front or the side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilias B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrBinksGM, Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Lilias B,

Thank you so much for your review and we all do hope to see you again here at the Waverley Castle.

Kind Regards,

Daniel Robert McDonald
Trainee Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays Thurrock, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Just returned from a Shearings short break ( Mon 31/03/14-fri 04/04/14 at this hotel and cannot fault any aspect of the holiday---The driver, Jake, was an absolute diamond--he made a potential wash out---it rained every day, the only downside, but clearly beyond Shearings ability to influence-- in to a joy--anyone who has him as their driver should jump at the opportunity of not only the included excursions but also the optional extra ones, of which there were 3 at a cost of just £23pp--his ability to tell a story about everywhere we went was magnificent,
The hotel was clean tidy and had a real pleasant feeling about it from the moment we arrived--Every single one of the staff that we had any dealings with--reception,kitchen,bar,room staff and the duty manager were total professionals and always willing to help--Indeed the head chef on both the Tuesday and Thursday accommodated a late request for a "plain meal" as we both have dietary issues--this in no way reflects on the menu available as this had quite a variety of dishes--it was a personal issue only--well done to all involved.
The entertainment was entertaining--what more can you ask? James, the resident entertainer on two nights and Jay Jackson on the other were both excellent.
To sum up --this was a great holiday and makes us definitely want to go with Shearings again--this was our first time with them--FIVE STARS ALL ROUND

Room Tip: First floor is on the level of the restaurant, bar and entertainment
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrBinksGM, Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Janet L,

How wonderful it is to read your review,

I must say our regular drivers have been coming here for many years now and still do amaze myself with their knowledge of the surrounding areas ha-ha.

I will pass on all your comments at our next team meeting and I am sure to say they will all be greatly received.

I do hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Daniel Robert McDonald
Trainee Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Spent Friday to Monday15 - 18th March at this hotel. The staff (especially the waitresses and waiters were extremely helpful and friendly making you feel welcome. The room was clean and comfortable and had tea and coffee making facility. There was entertainment every evening and a separate room if you just wanted to blether. There was a good selection of food all of which was well prepared and presented. Only downside was £1.75 for a can of Pepsi

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Celia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrBinksGM, Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Celia Y,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review on us here at the Waverley Castle.

I am delighted to read that you have really enjoined your stay with us and I am sure the staff will be overwhelmed when I pass on your kind words to them.

I do hope you consider us again when it come to booking your next holiday.

We all look forward to seeing you again soon

Kind Regards,

Daniel Robert McDonald
Trainee Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We have just returned from a short break with Shearing's to The Waverley Castle in Melrose.
And as with all our holidays with Shearing we had a very nice holiday. The trips were good and our driver Pat was very informative when we were out for the day.

We found the hotel and the food good with plenty of choice and the four vouchers a day for each person is a very good idea. Melrose is such a pretty little place and the village is only 15 minutes walk from the hotel or you could get a bus right outside the hotel if you did not want to walk.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pigletns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrBinksGM, General Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear pigletns,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am glad to see from your review that you enjoyed your stay and that Shearings are continually offering good holidays.

Hope to see you again soon,

Luke Binks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worldwide
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

stayed here iin february with shearings, the food was very good as is most of shearings hotels, rooms good, entertainment was very good. i think i was expecting too much from this hotel as people were saying how great it was, yes it was good but i have stayed in better shearings hotels and a bit cheaper.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannah20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrBinksGM, General Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear hannah20,

Thank you for your review on the Waverley Castle hotel.

I apologise if you think that we did not offer value for money compared to other hotels in this case. I am glad to see that you did have a good time, but I am sad to read that we had not met your expectations.

Kind Regards,

Luke Binks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melrose
1.0 mi away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
304 reviews
0.9 mi away
George & Abbotsford Hotel
0.0 mi away
King's Arms Hotel
King's Arms Hotel
#5 of 7 in Melrose
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
928 reviews
1.0 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#4 of 7 in Melrose
148 reviews
5.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Waverley Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Waverley Castle Hotel

Property: Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
Address: Waverley Road | Waverley Road, Melrose TD6 9AA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Melrose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Waverley Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stately looking Waverley Castle Hotel, situated one mile outside the town of Melrose, is set splendidly in five acres of rolling parkland at the heart of the Scottish Borders. Nestling between the River Tweed and the Eildon Hills, it is a stunning building boasting stunning views. Guests can happily relax in the Eildon Restaurant and enjoy outstanding views out over the Eildon Hills. After dinner you can continue your evening in the welcoming bar and ballroom where you can dance the night away to our excellent evening entertainment. The area is perfect for those who like to get out and explore. There are several sightseeing walks to enjoy nearby including one along the River Tweed. Historical Edinburgh is easily accessible by car for a day trip and is well worth a visit for the castle, shops, architecture and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Waverley Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Castle Hotel
Waverley Castle Melrose
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel Melrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing