We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ladies from NOTTINGHAM”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
nottm.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“ladies from NOTTINGHAM”
Reviewed 21 January 2009

Myself and eighteen other ladies, all good friends, stayed at the Waverley Castle from Monday to Friday 12th to 16th of January 09.We all had fantastic time.Food was great and the entertainment especially James the entertainer. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We also had endless supply of tea , coffee, hot chocolate, milk and biscuits plus wine , chocolates and a basket of fruit in the room on arrival.2

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing to complain about
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snodda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    246
    134
    51
    33
See reviews for
90
293
51
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beckenham
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2008

What a great Christmas we had!
Excellent food and entertainment at a very reasonable price. No, it's not perfect - some of the hotel needs refurbishment but it's warm, comfortable and very clean. All the staff are friendly, helpful and very professional.
I really can't fault it in terms of value for money.....also the setting is lovely and great for some refreshing walks once you've overindulged

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — A bit dated
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckenhamMacSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2008

On arrival at the Waverley we found the building very impressive. The appearence of the hotel and the beautiful setting amongst the coniffers and different variety of mature trees was lovely.
After parking in the spacious car park we presented ourselves to reception at 2.45pm. A very pleasant girl informed us that our room wouldn't be ready until 3pm. We had been told that on booking our holiday so were quite happy to sit in the foyer until 3.
When we returned to reception for our key, the girl looked at the clock and we noticed that we were ONE minute early and were informed that if our room wasn't ready could we please bear with them for the time being. No problem with that but you would think that in December and with the majority of coach guests leaving at 10.30am the rooms would be ready by the time allotted!! The twin room we were given was very roomy and had all the facilitys we expected, T.V., en suite, kettle, tissues,hairdryer and radio but ....... it was so badly in need of refurbishment that it was off-puting to say the least. The wallpaper was coming away from the wall at places, the curtain pelmet was of it's rail and the toilet had a terrible musty drainy smell about it. We discovered later that the smell was coming mainly from the shower cubicle.
The games room in the hotel left a lot to be desired! To play darts one had to go down 2 flights of stairs to pay a deposit to obtain the darts only to discover that everyone before you had used the VERY faded red curtains as a duster for the dartboard.
The pool table had no white ball. I can only assume you had to make the 2 flight trip to reception to obtain this ball! This room was so cold and unwelcoming that I can only guess that is why we never saw anyone use it during our stay!
The prices in the bar were ridiculous to say the least! we were charged in the region of £6.80 for a 25ml measure of spiced rum and can of pepsi and a pint of lager. Obviously we went into Melrose and bought our own drink to take back to the hotel.
The entertainment was fantastic. James put his heart into everything. We particularly enjoyed the Scottish folk singer and the Scots entertainment. The dining room staff were also second to none. Our own waiter was excellent. Istravan? at table 55. The food on the other hand was mediocre. A good variety but never seemed fresh. Felt as if it had been kept on a hot-plate until you chose to eat. Over all we enjoyed our stay but felt the whole hotel was badly needing refurbished and if we had been paying peak prices we would have had some very serious complaints. As it was we had a good cheap holiday happy with what we got for the price we paid.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Prices inbar
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jintykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melrose hotels

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2008

Booked a 2 night stay via WA Shearings website at £84 per person (HB) for a family get together.

Will agree with the previous reviewers, great location, polite and helpful staff, food was ok, entertainment was good, but the hotel is getting on a bit and is in need of a facelift.

Would I go back again - Yes

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimb053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2008

We stayed at the Waverley as we wanted somewhere outside of Edinburgh. Melrose itself it a beautiful village - quaint and layback - perfect for a quiet break. The hotel is a Shearings hotel and is unfortunately in need of a severe update. The grounds are beautiful - great for wildlife spotting especially if you love rabbits which are everywhere and externally the hotel is very grand. Internally it is clean and tidy but there are many flaws underneath. For example in our room we had a faulty window, noisy radiator (even though it was off), ripped valance sheet (which my boyfriend got his foot stuck in and went flying), badly fitted carpet, damaged and missing skirting board, damaged and dated chipboard wallpaper etc. That said the bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in - you could not stay awake once you lay down. I would have stolen it if I could have fit it in my suitcase.

On a positive note most of the staff are extremely friendly and amicable - the only problem is a few members who really struggle with English but they do try. The food is basic - breakfast being cereal, juice or fruit with a cooked breakfast and toast. The evening meal is a different 3 course set menu each day (3 starters, 3 main, 3 deserts) with a daily Chef's Special. Some dishes are of a better quality than others but at least there should be something to appeal to everyone.

The waverley could be a fantastic hotel given location and building but it needs a cash injection - but then you would not be paying such a cheap budget price. If your expectations are not too high this hotel offers great value for money.

  • Liked — The fantastic bed - ZZZZZZ & the view
  • Disliked — The dated decor
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Oann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liversedge,West Yorkshire.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2007

We have recently returned from a very enjoyable self-drive holiday in Scotland. We spent 2 long weekends at this lovely hotel, owned by WAShearings, with a few days in Braemar in between.
The Waverley Castle hotel is very impressive and situated in beautiful grounds. We had some very pleasant walks through the grounds and woodland to the river where a heron was always sitting watching for fish.
Rooms are very nice and service in the hotels restaurant was excellent, with polite, attentive staff. We also enjoyed the entertainment.
There are many attractions in the area.In our opinion Melrose Abbey is well worth a visit. We spent 3 hours there, wandering round the abbey and grounds, wearing headphones which gave a personal guided tour. Although it was raining we barely noticed as the tour was so interesting. There is a also a museum and gift shop and there are price concessions for the disabled.
Our 2 stays at this hotel,booked with WAShearings via the internet, cost only £94.05 per person for each 3 night break. This included half board and,( as is usual with with WAShearings),we thought it was excellent value for money and will certainly will return in the not too distant future.

Helpful?
28 Thank Pigeonpost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melrose
0.9 mi away
George & Abbotsford Hotel
1.0 mi away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
306 reviews
0.0 mi away
King's Arms Hotel
King's Arms Hotel
#5 of 7 in Melrose
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
940 reviews
5.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
1.0 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#4 of 7 in Melrose
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Waverley Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Waverley Castle Hotel

Property: Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
Address: Waverley Road | Waverley Road, Melrose TD6 9AA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Melrose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Waverley Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stately looking Waverley Castle Hotel, situated one mile outside the town of Melrose, is set splendidly in five acres of rolling parkland at the heart of the Scottish Borders. Nestling between the River Tweed and the Eildon Hills, it is a stunning building boasting stunning views. Guests can happily relax in the Eildon Restaurant and enjoy outstanding views out over the Eildon Hills. After dinner you can continue your evening in the welcoming bar and ballroom where you can dance the night away to our excellent evening entertainment. The area is perfect for those who like to get out and explore. There are several sightseeing walks to enjoy nearby including one along the River Tweed. Historical Edinburgh is easily accessible by car for a day trip and is well worth a visit for the castle, shops, architecture and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Waverley Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Castle Hotel
Waverley Castle Melrose
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel Melrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing