We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for money.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Reviewed 23 November 2009

just returned from a weekend break in Waverley Castle. frankly , it was a very good value for money stay. the meals are varied, service good. We arrived on Friday and the Carpark was full! that,s a good sign!! checking in was fast and efficient, we upgraded as well. rooms were comfy and spacious, flat screen wall mounted TV as well, the view was nice too. Breakfast is juice ,cereal, and a full English ,plus tea or coffee!! local town is only a mile or so away ,very quaint and full of busy, free parking too!! Galashiels is 3 miles away, with the usual retail park stores as well. night time entertainment had a stars in your eyes finalist. on , WOW!!! i would pay to see her!! evening meal was a 3 course one very good selection as well, the staff are efficient and courteous, and could,nt fault them , i normally post on Florida forums but feel its unfair some of the reviews on here are of people who are expecting a 5 STAR hotel!!! its not but it is clean and tidy and very welcoming, That,s why its ALWAYS BUSY!!!!! you cannot get a a 3 course meal for what they are charging for the ROOM AND HALF BOARD!!!! so take it from me , if you want a good value for money getaway in the picturesque borders stay here.... i,ll be returning very soon....

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (663)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

643 - 649 of 663 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2009

Lovely hotel, pleasant staff, superb position, convenient for places of interest. In particular would like to applaud JAMES MULLANEY for the wonderful entertainment he provided.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sallyBirkdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2009

This was a Shearings Self Drive stay. Booking in was fast and efficient and our room was nicely decorated and very warm, the heater can be turned down to suit. The public areas of the hotel were very warm also, so if you want to sit and read then you could. Tea/coffee making facilities available in room although no biscuits, can get from reception or take your own, also no shower gel or shampoo in room but again easily rectified again available from reception. Enjoyed breakfast, freshly cooked to order rather than picking from a buffet, the dinner both nights had good choices, service was quick might even say too quick as not much time in between courses. Entertainment both nights enjoyable the Saturday night was really good both the solo atrist and the Cheatles. Would recommend to others and will most likely go back. Large dance floor also a plus. Melrose itself is close enough to walk to approx 10 to 15 minutes, there is also a river walk from the hotel but at this time of year it was a bit wet, so if you intend on doing that take suitable foot wear, wellies would have been perfect. Melrose Abbey is open and if you're interested in rugby then Melrose may be playing at home, if you go to the rugby please note that the price of £7.00 only lets you into the ground and not the stand that cost another £2.00.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SunnysideFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2009

Stayed here with Shearings after they cancelled our previous holiday at short notice. Hotel is in need of total refubishment. Countless floor boards and doors creek. Poor quality food. The only plus point is the staff provide a decent service. Don't expect any Customer Service from Shearings either

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Foggy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

I have just returned from a 5day shearings coach holiday at this hotel and i think it is excellent for the price I paid.The staff were smart and some of the politest I have ever met, service was great and the choice at meal times brilliant for the price.Frankly if you dont pay 5 star prices you cant expect five star treatment and I,ve stayed in several 5 star hotels that were a little" tired".The outings included were brill.I think people who complain about trivialities are unreasonable and petty.This is a beautiful hotel in wonderful surroundings.Cant wait to book my next holiday with shearings

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mummie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

I've stayed at Shearings hotels before and found them to be very good, however on this occasion it wasn't. I always ask for a high up room and did this time. I booked before the others in my party, who made no requests.They took no notice of my request but put the rest of my party high up. My 'premier' room was above the kitchens and was very hot due to the unlagged hot water pipe going from floor to ceiling. This hot water pipe was a feature of other rooms in my party, as well as some hallways. The dining room was hot too, but the over head fans were not over-worked. The heat generated was stifling and nothing could be done to cool the room down. One window was painted shut, the other had a chain on that allowed a 1 inch gap. I thought I would shut the window to get rid of the smell, but it did not fit the frame and wouldn't shut. There was a fan in the room, but it was ineffectual.
The food was't as good as other Shearings hotels either although it was the same fare, just over-cooked and sometimes presented cold.
The staff were jolly enough but not as efficient as those at other hotels, for example 25 minutes to get the (cold) cooked breakfast, the bar not being open at 5:40pm (should have been (5:30pm).
Apart from the room being hot, it was otherwise large, spaceous and well appointed.
Some other reviews say the hotel is in need of updating, painting etc. I didn't find it so and have no complaints otherwise.
We did have an unscheduled fire alarm at 7:15am or so, which I thought was handled very well by the staff. It is a pity that some clients wandered along to the assembly points some 20 minutes later, fully dressed and coiffured. If it had been more serious, they would have become a statistic long before then. Some elderly /infirm guests would also have presented a problem on evacuation had it have been more serious.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
2  Thank Tilt-scale-gyro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2009

When booking this trip I checked with the hotel and Shearing Holidays that Gluten Free was available on their menu, I was advised at this time it was not a problem. On arrival I checked again and they advised it was marked on the booking, yet when mum and I arrived for our evening meal the restaurant was not aware which was embarrassing. I was then informed by the head waitress that there was a gluten free menu at reception where we could order our evening meal for the remainder of the stay, which I thought was excellent. Sorry to report my Thursday, no toast for breakfast as they had run out of Gluten free bread and at evening meal my sweet was not provided as they did not have it, when I queried it the waitress was very impolite, and treated us as though we were expecting some privelage. Watch out you Coeliac's as it makes you wonder if they know what they are catering for and if you do want to go to this lovely part of the country take your own pack up to eat especially your BREAD!! as they seem to be in very short supply. It has put mum off any future coach holidays, back to self catering for us.

Would only recommend to Non-Coeliac Friends as the room was lovely (Premier Roon). Spotlessly clean and the hotel although old and in need of decoration, it is comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouiseNewark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melrose
1 mi away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
327 reviews
1 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Melrose
278 reviews
1 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#4 of 7 in Melrose
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
George & Abbotsford Hotel
0.9 mi away
King's Arms Hotel
King's Arms Hotel
#6 of 7 in Melrose
134 reviews
4 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Waverley Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Waverley Castle Hotel

Address: Waverley Road | Waverley Road, Melrose TD6 9AA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Melrose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Price Range: £68 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Waverley Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stately looking Waverley Castle Hotel, situated one mile outside the town of Melrose, is set splendidly in five acres of rolling parkland at the heart of the Scottish Borders. Nestling between the River Tweed and the Eildon Hills, it is a stunning building boasting stunning views. Guests can happily relax in the Eildon Restaurant and enjoy outstanding views out over the Eildon Hills. After dinner you can continue your evening in the welcoming bar and ballroom where you can dance the night away to our excellent evening entertainment. The area is perfect for those who like to get out and explore. There are several sightseeing walks to enjoy nearby including one along the River Tweed. Historical Edinburgh is easily accessible by car for a day trip and is well worth a visit for the castle, shops, architecture and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Bay Waverley Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Castle Hotel
Waverley Castle Melrose
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel Melrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing