We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hand cut chips a must” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Burt's Hotel Restaurant

Burt's Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 27 Restaurants in Melrose
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“hand cut chips a must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Excellent service food and atmosphere can't fault this wonderful hotel never disappoints congratulations to the chef/s

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    96
    40
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A brilliant friendly eatery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Fantastic service, wonderfully succulent steaks and perfectly cooked vegetables. A really lovely meal for all the family.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mrsbloom70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dreary”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Was going to take my daughter here for a birthday lunch. Told curtly on arrival to only sit at a table for two,which is fair enough but only two more people in the place. I have been here a few times and always found it quite elegant a nd cosy Today it looked drab and uninviting.. My daughter who is a nurse remarked that it reminded her of a down market old folks home. Waitress service so had to have a drink before we even had chance to look at the menu and we then decided not to bother Got a very frosty look for saying that we had changed our minds.
VERY expensive drinks. Went to Marmions instead and had a lovely lunch with smiling ,helpful staff. Will not be back to Burts.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janet w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely food at Burt's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Lovely fresh food with a good choice. Desserts were excellent. The Scottish burger with bacon & emmental was mouth-watering!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
92 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good food, service & price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Went with some friends and were lucky enough to walk in on a Friday eve at 7ish and get a table. All other tables were reserved.
There's a good choice on the menu, two of my friends are veggies and they had no issues. The food was good, tasty and fresh. I had the Parmesan Chicken which was nice. One friend had the burger which was enormous! It got good reviews.
Another friend had the fish & chips, which she said was very good.
The staff were attentive and service was good. I'd go again and recommend to others. Reasonable prices too.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sazzle_funk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Burt's Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Gattonside, Melrose
 
Gattonside, Melrose
 

Been to Burt's Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing