We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely night away”
Review of Cringletie House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cringletie House
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Great intimate hotel. Met at the door, warm welcome, food is not huge portions however quality is very high and we are not left hungry. Just the right distance away from Edinburgh for a romantic night away.
Staff are friendly, John is a delight. House wine very good, grounds are lovely, great place to relax.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mackEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (777)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

450 - 456 of 777 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

We booked this hotel as a change from our usual one just outside Edinburgh. We picked it because of the location, food and expected quality. It was really good - afternoon tea and the evening meal were fantastic, breakfast was good and would have benefited from a good tattie scone! The location is excellent in lovely rolling countryside and we had a cracking walk up onto the hills from there. The room was very good too - plenty of space, clean and comfortable. The shower was excellent as was the service throughout.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BaileyRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The bedrooms are beautiful, the hotel itself is gracious and the staff extremely welcoming. I went to stay there after an operation and I had all the help I needed. The food is of a very high standard and the service in the dining room is excellent.

Room Tip: The rooms are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hazel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Friendly, professional staff waiting at the door to greet you to this lovely old building. Our room was comfortable, if a little old fashioned. Bathroom could do with an update and prefer proper soap not handwash! The bed was extremely comfortable.
Cosy bar with roaring log fire which seemed to set the fire alarm off with some regularity. Delicious canapés served over drinks while we perused the menu. Tasting menu on DBB package was very good (but no choices). Food was delicious and well executed. Staff were friendly and attentive - especially impressed with the young lad who served the amuse bouche.
Lovely grounds to stroll around with boules if you are feeling energetic. Spring is a lovely time to go with all the daffodils out. Also some nice walks from the hotel around the surrounding hills.
All in all, a pleasant stay. The food is the star here.

Room Tip: Had a turret room - wind whistles through the windows if it's windy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geordielass64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We loved the hotel, the staff and the rooms - most done beautifully... the house is very elegant, welcoming and relaxing. Staff are really good, trying so hard to give the best service possible.

The grounds, walks and gardens are just lovely with hundreds of beautiful daffodils covering large swathes of grassed areas. We were quite entranced with the place and will be back again, hopefully, the showers will be cleaned properly though - we had two rooms, both of which had showers with black gunge in different areas on the base of the showers and around the shower controls! This was easily wipeable and put us off having showers! Under the rim of the toilet bowls were not the cleanest either..

We did dine at the hotel and the food was good but there was not really enough food for us: it is "fine dining" but all in all, there could be just a little more on the plates.

Breakfast was served in the lovely dining room and on two occasions had to be sent back because it was just lukewarm and no more - even the reheated version was still not hot by any standards.

We all felt that the staff was quite stretched and could do with some additional help!

We all would love to come back and hopefully will, however, we would really like to see the cleaning issue addressed before we do!

Room Tip: You might want to ask for a room which you don't have to go through the dining room to get to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Following our visit to Cringletie we had a feeling of profound disappointment. The luxury room was dingy and tired looking with a dirty floor rug, cobwebs festooning the chandelier, 2 glasses in the bathroom with toothpaste dregs from previous occupants and 2 glasses on the hospitality tray with lipstick stains. The toilet seat was broken and dangerous, as was the glass shelf in the bathroom.
This room was patently not cleaned or serviced to an acceptable standard and could not be described as "luxury" by any standards.
Dinner was enjoyable unlike the traditional cooked breakfast which was utterly appalling, burnt beyond redemption and possibly incinerated by micro-wave.Sadly we will remember our visit to Cringletie for quite the wrong reasons.

Room Tip: Avoid room "Glentress"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Hazel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This is a beautiful hotel in a lovely setting. As we had nearly decided to stay there during our trip to Peebles, we thought we would visit and have lunch. On arriving at the hotel we went in the front door and stood in the hall for ages. There was an open door to what appeared to be an office but the person in there seemed to ignore us. We were not sure if it was reception as there did not appear to be a sign. We noticed a bell to be used for 'service' but decided to speak to the person in the office first. Apparently it was Reception. We were told that lunches were not being served but we could have soup or sandwiches. We were shown to the sitting room for food. Strangely although not serving food I noticed the dining room was set up and music playing in there when we went past. We had sandwiches which were fresh and scones but I think that they were probably made the day before as they were a bit hard which was a shame. It was also quite expensive.
The impression was of some disorganisation which was the feeling we had when enquiring about booking. Hopefully this will resolve as it is an ideal location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Lolalayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peebles
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
2,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Park
#5 of 8 in Peebles
450 reviews
Castle Venlaw Hotel
#3 of 8 in Peebles
371 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cringletie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cringletie House

Address: Edinburgh Rd, Peebles EH45 8PL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Peebles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Price Range: £93 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cringletie House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cringletie House is a luxurious Country House Hotel, set in 28 stunning acres, just outside Peebles and 30 minutes south of Edinburgh, in the Scottish Borders.With 4 Red Stars, Cringletie Hotel is the only AA Top Hotel (Inspector's choice) in the Scottish Borders. No other hotel in this location has been awarded 4 Gold Stars by Visit Scotland. The Sutherland Restaurant at Cringletie is considered one of Peebles' top restaurants and our Head Chef ensures his menus reflect the changing seasons with locally sourced produce. The hotel's bedrooms are individually decorated and all have glorious views over the gardens and rolling countryside. All rooms offer FREE WiFi, LCD TV, Bathrobe & Slippers and a range of Molten Brown Toiletries. The hotel has a specially designed accessible room with wheelchair access - and lifts to all floors. For our guests who seek the outdoors the range of opportunities are truly limitless. The region boasts some of the best mountain biking in the UK at Glentress, fishing on the Tweed (Europe's premier salmon fishing river), and some of the best field sports and golf in Scotland. If you are touring Scotland with your best (four-legged) friend we welcome dogs to the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cringletie House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cringletie House Hotel Peebles
Cringletie Hotel Peebles
Cringletie House Peebles, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing