We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stay”
Review of Peebles Hydro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Peebles Hydro
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Lower Largo, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very good stay”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Had a bed & breakfast at the Peebles Hydro, Peebles Scotland, it was a very good deal. The rooms were a good size and comfortable with nice views in room 50 across to the hills. The staff were very helpful and professional. There was a small conservatory, which over looked the extensive grounds and the car parking area, where it was a nice place to have coffee. The breakfast was self service and the choice was terrific catering for most tastes. The leisure facilities at the pool were lovely. All in all no complaints.

Room Tip: Room 50 nice views and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CyKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hydropathic S, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Many thanks for your review CyKing, it's great to read you enjoyed your stay at Peebles Hydro. We hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,876 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    592
    390
    246
    168
See reviews for
576
768
49
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (590)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

As a regular visitor to the Hydro I was shocked and dismayed at my recent visit. On arrival it was clear there was a wedding in full flow on the entrance steps to the hotel. This is what you expect as most hotels on a summers weekend, however I was shocked by the language and attitude of the guests who appeared to think they were in control of the whole hotel!

I was sworn at by a male member of the wedding party for interrupting their wedding photos/ video by trying to access the hotel through the main entrance where they were all congregated, there was no sign of any staff directing proceedings and it was very intimidating.

I dread to think what new guests must have thought on their arrivals to Peebles Hydro when met with this wedding party!

The wedding guests totally took over the lounge area later in the afternoon with other guests being subjected to foul language and shouting from them. This is not what guests expect from Peebles Hydro which has always been a genteel location, surely there should be separate areas for a wedding party, especially of that ilk!

It was clear staff were trying to do their best to manage the lounge but continual requests from the wedding party for drinks orders meant that regular guests were left unattended.

Once Fraser had served us he apologised for the delay, even though he was run off his feet he was still pleasant courteous and a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MagsPorter5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hydropathic S, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your comments MagsPorter5 and we appreciate that you recognised our hard working staff managing to satisfy all guest requests, Fraser is especially please that you recognised him. You're right weddings are a popular event at hotels during the summer months and we can only apologise that you felt uncomfortable. We do hope that you come back to Peebles Hydro soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Peebles hotels

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Had a 2 night break early June based on hotel's Spring Offer of £89 for night 1 ( including Dinner ) and £49 for night 2 Bed & Breakfast.
This turned out to be excellent value.
Because of a health problem I needed a room with a shower, preferably a walk-in shower. At the enquiry stage a walk-in shower room was offered and this resulted in an immediate booking. The booking assistant (Robyn ) was cheerful and helpful. In fact we found all the staff were helpful and genuinely keen to ensure you had a pleasant time.
Perhaps we were fortunate but we were given a room at the front of the hotel with a beautiful view down to the Tweed valley.
The room itself was large with an enormous double bed and loads of storage facilities.
The standard of the meals was as good as most 4 star hotels charging much more.
In particular, Breakfast was a real treat both in terms of the range of food and the quality.
Dinner was also enjoyable and came with full waiter service.
The dining room was a large grand Victorian room yet had a cosy ambience.
Use of the indoor swimming pool was included in the price and it proved to be a very relaxing option for a wet weather day.
Have a look at the Leisure Club facilities on the hotel's website : for the price we paid, this was is a pleasant surprise.
The hotel is now being managed by Crieff Hydro and the refurbishment is clearly going to take time. There are some aspects of 'faded glory' but there seems to be a total determination to return Peebles Hydro to its former status as a favourite with discerning guests.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asitwas4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hydropathic S, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Many thanks for your review Asitwas4me, great to read you had a good time visiting the Hydro and your requirement were dealt with such as your bedroom/shower requirements. You're absolutely right parts of the hotel does need refurbished and it is clearly going to take time. We hope you come back to stay with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I have just returned from a holiday at Peebles Hydro my first room smelt damp and musty I was moved the next day but I was told at first that no other room was available until I insisted. The food was good and the breakfast was one of the best I have seen a great self service choice but our table for six always had something missing one of us had no fork, knife ,teaspoons, no serviettes and one morning only three of us had cups. The service was so slow 45 minutes after starter we were served our dinner by the tine we were served we had lost interest in the meal we had ordered.

Room Tip: Ask for a front bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hydropathic S, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your break , eileenm. We aim to provide a quality service throughout your break and we would like to apologise that we did not manage to meet your expectations. Your feedback is extremely important to us, as part of our continuous improvement programme.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Enjoyed an excellent Saturday Night stay at Peebles Hydro.
The whole experience was first class. The room with a view
at the front of the hotel was superb. The food in the restaurant
in the evening was of a very good standard with a wide menu choice.
The staff in the restaurant could not have been more helpful.
I ordered a bottle of Cote de Rhone wine,at a modest price,
which was the best wine I had tasted in years.
The evening entertainment in the ballroom although poorly
supported by the guests was a very good night of entertainment.
As a frequent hotel user I found the Breakfast to be far superior
than the usual chain hotel tasteless food and little choice.
The fruit choice and hot food at Breakfast were a superb.
So all credit to the management and staff for an excellent
hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rayhenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hydropathic S, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you Rayhenderson. We are pleased you enjoyed your recent break at Peebles Hydro. Management and staff loved to hear your comments, we hope you continue to enjoy everything Peebles Hydro has to offer in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed here with daughter and 4 year old and 3 month old baby. Had a lovely big room with adjoining room with bunk beds,the room was clean and tidy, lots of towels, huge big bathroom, small seating area. we had a voucher deal and we stayed weekdays so it was quiet and that was to be expected. Went to the childrens club the first evening we were there and our 4 year old thoroughly enjoyed it though only 3 or 4 kids in, and we had a few hours free time, she was quite disappointed it wasn't on the next day, but as I said the hotel was very quiet. We went swimming 3 times, lovely pool, changing facilities are good.

The breakfast was absolutely fabulous, there was everything you could ever want on offer, from cereal, to continental and fresh fruit and bacon, sausages, black pudding, the works, the only problem was wishing that I could have eaten more.
,
It was a pity there wasn't a bistro type cafe or something that we could have had our tea in instead of having to go into Peebles town, the restaurant was a bit pricey.

We found the staff all very helpful, and pleasant. Would definitely go back.

There could be more information packs available in your room, there was information on a board at reception, but I thought it would be better to have this in your room to read at your leisure. Just a small observation from me.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanym090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hydropathic S, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you joanym090 . Great to hear all the family had a good time. We agree , more information should be available in your room and we are working on it. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunset Beach
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We bought an 'Itison Voucher" for this hotel and were more than delighted with our two day break. Fantastic value for money. Beautiful hotel where the staff were very attentive and professional. Set in beautiful surroundings,this hotel is a gem in this area.Breakfast and dinner were hot, tasty and of excellent quality Both served friendly and well. Bedroom very spacious and clean. The highlight for us was The Leisure Centre. The best we,ve experienced in ages. Pool great for swimmers as it is laned off and health suite is wonderful and spotless. Would recommend this hotel for friendliness,cleanliness,position,facilities and a wonderful experience for breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottieSunsetBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hydropathic S, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you Scottiesunsetbeach. Our staff in all departments, really appreciate your positive feedback. The leisure centre is great for both swimming and the view so pleased you enjoyed your time there. Come back and visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peebles
0.5 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
0.4 mi away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#5 of 8 in Peebles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.6 mi away
Castle Venlaw Hotel
Castle Venlaw Hotel
#4 of 8 in Peebles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peebles Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peebles Hydro

Property: Peebles Hydro
Address: Innerleithen Road, Peebles EH45 8LX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Peebles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Peebles Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peebles Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hydro Peebles
Hydro Hotel Peebles
Peebles Hydro Hotel
Peebles Hydro Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing