We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Getting bettter for all ages”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Peebles Hydro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Peebles Hydro
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
140 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Getting bettter for all ages”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Peebles Hydro now under new ownership has started making changes to make it like Crieff Hydro - great for families at weekends and equally suited during the week for us slightly older folk and great anytime for tourists outwith Scotland (ideal for touring the Border country, Edinburgh, Lothians and even Glasgow). Walking distance of the lovely market town of Peebles, beautiful grounds, plenty to do; golf, swimming, outdoor chess and tennis. An ideal family, friends or couple holiday. Food is good but it is not cooked to order more bulk cooked and finished off when ordered - still not bad for the price. Pick your accommodation well -rooms at the front have great views. Book during an offer and you'll love it.

Room Tip: Ask before you come and especially if it is a special occasion. The view from front rooms is breath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you PhilEdinburgh. We are pleased that you enjoyed your break at the Hydro. The Scottish Borders is indeed a great area to visit, with lots to see and do. We promote an atmosphere where both adults and children feel comfortable and we're glad you recognised this. Let us know when you're coming back to visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    571
    380
    244
    168
See reviews for
559
751
47
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (577)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
432 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Nice for a short break and good value if you get a deal, but could be better. An aging establishment so you can expect signs of wear and tear but kept clean in the rooms. Breakfasts were good, meals average and some staff could improve. Surprised that in a large hotel the bar was locked at 5.30 and was told that the bar did not open until 6pm. So sitting in the lounge for a beer, the table had crisp crumbs from the previous occupant and the new drinks just placed on top. Dinner was mediocre, served in the large ballroom style dining room, but lacking flavour and seemed to be more catering for quantity rather than quality. Breakfast was much better, self service cereals and juice, had to wait and eventually get waiter's attention for coffee and toast and the cooked breakfast was again self service. Tables sometimes not cleared and staff seemed overworked at peak times and strangely I couldn't find marmalade or jam for the toast, so buttered toast only every day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to post your feedback David T. We aim to provide you with quality service throughout your break and would like to apologise that we failed in some aspects. We take all guest comments very seriously and are considered when working towards improvements in the hotel. We hope that you will consider coming back to the Hydro when organising your next break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We had a lovely night but found the huge hotel a bit soulless. It was a beautiful day but we couldn't find anywhere to sit outside since the whole area was a car park with only a bench. The bar was dark and when we brought our drinks up to sit in the open area it just felt as if it lacked something. The views from the front of the hotel are stunning and it's such a shame since a few car spaces could be changed into a wee area to sit outside in quite easily. The pool and leisure area was clean and tidy. We had taken the dog but she was not allowed in any of the areas where as the Hilton at Dunkeld was very welcoming as long as we were where there was no food being served.

Room Tip: Ask for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meascott27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Peebles Hydro is now under new ownership meascott27 and we are looking at various ways to improve our guest experience. So thank you for your comments, as we always listen to our guests suggestions for improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed here last weekend and although the hotel is a bit tired looking, it just needs some tlc! Despite this we left feeling very relaxed as the setting is gorgeous and the activities and pool etc are great to de stress. I wonder if hotel is brought up to standard will it lose it's charm...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alibee_aleebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your review, the Hydro is set in a great location alibee_aleebee, ideal for a relaxing break. We agree some areas are looking a bit tired, but, the pool area is fantastic, the spa treatments are very enjoyable and just relaxing in the lounge enjoying and afternoon tea and the views is a real treat. We promise, when improvements are made Peebles Hydro will not lose its charm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed here last year and was very disappointed. Hotel very down at heel and food not particularly pleasant. Decided to revisit this year as Crieff Hydro has recently purchased the hotel. Although there is still a mountain to climb regarding décor etc, already the atmosphere is much improved. Staff as before were very efficient, pleasant and helpful. Food in restaurant much improved and definitely moving in the right direction. Rooms still very dull and depressing but hopefully will improve in time. Looking forward to seeing improvements in the future.

Room Tip: Although rooms at the front have beautiful views it can be a bit noisy during the night and early mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LesleyR86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Many thanks for your review Lesley R. Glad to hear you are already seeing improvements at the Hydro. You're right there is a mountain to climb, but it's a challenge we are all looking forward to. We hope you will see more improvements each time you come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed for two nights which included breakfast and evening meal. Our first impression was that the Hydro is magnificent building, albeit the interior is a little tired. Our room was spacious and clean but little touches were missing such as complimentary bottles of water and one mini packet of shortbread between two seemed a bit mean.A Do Not Disturb sign would have been welcome because staff knocked and entered immediately on three occasions - once to deliver a Spa leaflet, which could have easily been slid under the door.

The best assets of the hotel are the staff, nothing was too much trouble for Clara or the really helpful young man attending the pool area.The leisure centre at the Hydro is very good and the pool and jacuzzi are lovely. Children are made welcome and there was an endless supply of floats and inflatables to amuse them.

Breakfast was adequate and plentiful the but the evening meal was very disappointing - fatty beef and watery gravy which bore no resemblance to Chasseur and very small portions. We were offered replacement meals but declined because what was on offer didn't look much better. We cancelled dinner for the second night and were refunded the difference - no quibbles. We chose to eat out and found an absolute gem of a restaurant called 'Sunflower'. The food was wonderful - freshly cooked, very tasty and excellent quality - prices on a par or a little less than the Hydro - highly recommended.

There is a well stocked shop in the hotel offering souvenirs, nick nacks and cold drinks which are all very reasonably priced. Room service however is overpriced. We ordered two cheese toasties at £4.50 ea and two cokes £1.00 ea but were charged £7.00 (£3.50) ea to bring them along to our room. One charge would have been acceptable but two was not and in essence our reasonably priced cheese toasties cost £16.00.
Overall, for the price we paid to visit the Hydro, we were slightly disappointed because it wasn't cheap.Without too much trouble these issues could be addressed so hence the reason for a generous four stars.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElaineH64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback ElaineH64. We aim to provide our guests with a quality service throughout their stay and it's great to hear our staff described as "best assets". So we are disappointed to hear your evening meal was not satisfactory. Now under new ownership all aspects of our service is currently being assessed and improvement plans being worked on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed for a couple of days as needed to get out of London. Could not have picked a more perfect location for total R & R, location is beyond stunning.Hospitality of the staff could not be faulted, food offering for breakfast & dinner was really very good. Highly recommended and will most definitely return soon.

Room Tip: make sure you get a room with a view, worth the upgrade cost...just amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
So happy to hear you enjoyed your relaxing break at the Hydro Kerry D. Our staff work really hard and it is such a boost for them to hear your positive comments. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peebles
0.5 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
0.4 mi away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
391 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
723 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#4 of 8 in Peebles
210 reviews
0.6 mi away
Castle Venlaw Hotel
Castle Venlaw Hotel
#5 of 8 in Peebles
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peebles Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peebles Hydro

Property: Peebles Hydro
Address: Innerleithen Road, Peebles EH45 8LX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Peebles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Peebles Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peebles Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hydro Peebles
Hydro Hotel Peebles
Peebles Hydro Hotel
Peebles Hydro Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing