We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture-perfect country house restaurant, serving sublime food”
Review of The Restaurant & The Larder - CLOSED

The Restaurant & The Larder
Cuisines: Scottish, Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Picture-perfect country house restaurant, serving sublime food”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

This atmosphere of this country house restaurant is perfect - authentic, warm and welcoming. The service is attentive. And the food is sublime! On this occasion, I had what was far and away the best burger I've ever eaten. The lamb was medium-done. It was served, not in a bun, but on a wide selection of roasted vegetables with tzatziki. The tastes and textures in the vegetables were unbelievable. Even the garnish of salad has a sharp dressing that made it stand out. The brownie was probably a bit rich after that but I really couldn't fault this meal. We've been here several times and the food has always been top-notch.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    23
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Although it was a set menu the courses were first class. All four tasted delicious and presented beautifully. If you didn't like any of the courses the staff offered an alternative. We loved the whole package. Staff were cheery and helpful without being in your face. Def a favourite.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Paddyneville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
196 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Exquisite dining in a special location”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We enjoyed a NYE meal here on the 31st of december and had a magical night. The restaurant is set in a beautiful wooden-panelled converted barn which creates a special atmosphere into which our party including our 3 year old son were welcomed by friendly and helpful staff. The prawn cocktail starter was fresh, tasty and delicious and followed by a main course of sirloin which was huge, cooked perfectly and served well with green beans and a potato terrine. The chocolate pot pudding finished off the set menu well and a bottle of cotes du rhone accompanied the dish perfectly. When the NYE bells chimed we were all treated to a glass of prosecco on the house and it felt like the perfect place to see in a new year. We'll return one day to see the scenery of Peebles and this restaurant in the actual daylight as all we saw was darkness, but what a good and tasty lack of light.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank malcolm79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best place to eat lunch in the Scottish boarders”
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Everything about this little restaurant is 100% perfect. Setting, staff and food is a dream. Spend a couple of hours with friends warming yourself up in this great little place. Food is top quality with a Scandinavian influence. Owners / chef are delightful. A must!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank martinjameshoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely surprise, fantastic food”
Reviewed 25 October 2012 via mobile

Walked here from our hotel, in October sunshine. Was expecting a little tea room and did not expect the unusual and gorgeous food we found. We had the Danish open sandwiches (cannot remember the proper word for them) with cream tea. The ingredients were fresh and tasty the scone and shortbread so lovely. Lovely location, excellent friendly service and a real little gem.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JKayM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Restaurant & The Larder also viewed

 
Peebles, Borders
Peebles, Borders
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing