We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place for lovely lunch”

Coltman's Delicatessen & Kitchen
Ranked #2 of 43 Restaurants in Peebles
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent place for lovely lunch”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Best to book a table on a busy weekend and enjoyed lovely soup and sandwich combo, teas and coffees for lunch today. The manager in the restaurant part through the back was very helpful and friendly. I'd say this is one of the best places to eat in Peebles and would go back again and recommend it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    137
    25
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lanarkshire
Level Contributor
104 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Scones dry and dense - very disappointed”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Popped in here for a coffee and a cake/scone on a recent visit.. Firstly there was one young girl serving alone through the front and the cafe area was really busy.. She brought our scone and cake to the table and went back to make the tea/ coffee , however the shop was so busy she had to serve all the customers queuing at the counter both to order and pay bills.. We sat looking at our cakes for ten to fifteen minutes waiting on our drinks .. When the drinks did appear the scone I ordered fell to pieces as I opened it.. Was dry, dense and appeared to be stale.. I asked if I could swap the scone and told why.. I was assured scones are made fresh every day.. I then opted for another type of scone from a different batch which was much the same so I can only assume it is their scone recipe which is dry and dense.. They look so lovely and it was rather disappointing as was the slow service which wasn't the girls fault as she did the best she could being left alone.. It appears the customers through in the restaurant are more valuable than the customers in the cafe? Real shame as we had planned on eating dinner later in the day but this experience put us off.. The owners appeared through the front several times to retrieve cakes etc for the restaurant and seemed very pleasant chatting to everyone who was perhaps a regular but seemed oblivious to the fact this poor girl was struggling alone.. They did however refund the cost of both scones which was a nice gesture.. I would say first impressions in the cafe are as important as customers paying more through the back.. Consistency across the board needs addressing perhaps.. Sorry but the little things are what gets noticed..

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jacdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Local food cooked well never disappointed”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Excellent food served in a lovely ambience and we were made to feel special wine can be on expensive side but when the food is so good you tend to forget the price! Very clean and staff willing to help and advise

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous scones!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is a deli and coffee shop/restaurant. The food is very good but the scones are the best! My favourite is cranberry and walnut - with or without jam and cream.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mags R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth a visit for a special occasion.”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Wine very expensive but food delicious. Attention to detail impressive and staff very attentive. Worth the wait as obviously your choice is cooked to order.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coltman's Delicatessen & Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Coltman's Delicatessen & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing