We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfy hotel”
Review of The Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Park
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very comfy hotel”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

When I checked in I was told that my room would be ready shortly but it was actually ready after 45 minutes which was disappointing. Apart from that the hotel was excellent. It was very comfy, the food was excellent, the service efficient and the price of the half board package very reasonable. Lovely gardens and the rabbits are really cute!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    146
    55
    31
    22
See reviews for
63
214
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I read the review of Coco5555 prior to arriving at the Park Hotel Peebles on 26th July 2013. Coco5555 must have been stopping at a different hotel that we have just returned from . The room we had 76 was comfy "clean" and very roomy . The food in the hotel is cooked to order and plenty of choice at dinner "four course" . Breakfast cooked to order . The staff were very attentive to all the guests . Of course some people , if they complain hard enough hope to get a reduction in their bill . Could Coco5555 be one of these people ? !! . I hope the Park charged the full amount to Coco . We are world travellers and have stopped in 5 star in India to 3/4 star in to many numerous countries to mention . Coco5555 does not give a true honest review of the Park Hotel Peebles . Keep up the good standard Park Hotel we will be back . Pity we missed the Leg of Lamb on Monday evening .
World Traveller Leslie .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMcMillanFamily, Owner at The Park, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Leslie S - Thank you so much for coming to The Park's defence! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much, as most Park guests genuinely do. The Park has great staff, and a great chef and your experience was just as we would hope it to be. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and we'll be happy to put leg of lamb on the menu for you next time. Best Wishes, The McMillan Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Oh dear, this was a disaster! We had booked a Superior room, which should have been an upgraded room. Upon viewing the room we were absolutely gobsmacked.The room was dirty, dusty, grotty mouldy black grouting all over the shower, horrible dusty rock hard bed and pillows, the windows when opened were filthy on the inside and outside. In the dated tired bathroom,there was also a nursing home bath chair. We went to the reception desk to see if an alternative room was available but sadly none. The nice chap went to the room and agreed that it was dirty and said the regular housekeeping staff were off (they must have been away for a few months)
The breakfast was a bit of fruit or cereal and I ordered a fried egg easy over and bacon, which came floating in grease and a rock hard fried egg. I asked for the egg to be redone, easy over and it came back exactly the same. Totally inedible! As there were only 2 other people in the dining room, I thought at the least they could have got that right.
We were given a satisfaction questionnaire, which was slipped under the door of the room.
I filled it in and handed it to the manager upon check out. The Manager asked how our stay was and we relayed our experience. Her response was Yes she new the shower needed redoing and yes she knew the room was not clean as the receptionist had told her. So dismissive.
Apparently a Superior room at the Park means a larger room, not a better cleaner upgraded room.
The Manager just kept making excuses for this hotels lack of service and quality.
There is NO EXCUSE for a dirty room, this was unacceptable. Also very overpriced, £92 per person equaling £184! What a waste of money, but hopefully they can now hire a cleaner and regrout the shower.
On a positive note, the view was nice and the rabbits grazing on the lawn. Other than that, I can't think of anything else to say. I will never go back here!

Room Tip: Check out the room first and use a white glove for dusting.Don't stay in room 94
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Coco5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMcMillanFamily, Owner at The Park, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
This couple have submitted two reviews of their one stay. The other one is entitled ‘Should be titled Park Car Home’, and contains mostly the same criticisms. It is really difficult to respond to reviews like this without coming across as overly defensive, but on the other hand, should we just sit back and allow our staff and business to be unfairly pilloried? Fair criticism is one thing, but this isn’t fair, so if you have read the review, please do read the response as well. Sorry it’s so long, but hopefully it should reassure you that a stay at The Park is really not as described above.

This lady and gentleman reserved a superior room at The Park. These rooms are categorised as superior only because they are the largest rooms with the wonderful views. Not for any other reason. This is made really clear on our web site and is explained when booking. We are sorry this lady and gentleman didn’t like their room, but unfortunately they have not told the truth about what happened next. They complained to our receptionist that their room was dusty (not dirty, but dusty). We couldn’t offer them another room, so during dinner, both he and a housekeeper went to dust the room for them. They dusted fully, with a white duster, and quite honestly found no dust (or dirt). The duster remained white! Our receptionist did not agree with the guests that the room was dusty, nor did our Manager. In fact they both felt the couple were not being honest or reasonable, but in the interests of diplomacy, they did not openly contradict them. We do confess to the fact that there was some black on the grout. This has now been sorted.

It also isn’t fair or true to say that breakfast at The Park is ‘a bit of fruit or cereal’. The breakfasts at The Park are fantastic. The cold buffet offers eight types of cereal, fresh bread, toast, butter, jams, marmalade, prunes, grapefruit, peaches, and fresh fruit salad. There are five flavours of yoghurt, porridge with cream or honey, croissants, cinnamon pastries, fruit juices and milk. To follow, there is a very full selection of grill items, as well as kippers, Finnan haddock or even The Park’s very own version of Eggs Benedict. All included in the price. We have a great chef and kitchen team at the Park and we honestly can’t imagine that the grilled bacon was ‘floating in grease’. It was grilled! All that was mentioned at the time was that the lady’s fried eggs were not cooked the way she liked them. We apologised of course.

We believe that the main reason that these guests complained was that they had misunderstood that the rate quoted to them was a per person rate not a per room rate. Their bill was twice what they expected and they were trying to get it reduced. The rate was clearly explained to them at the time of booking and then confirmed out in writing. The couple also complained that the room was ‘not a four star room’. The Park is a three star hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bude
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Thankyou for an excellent four course meal in the restaurant! It was lovely and we were stuffed! Even got to try haggis as a starter! All the courses were excellent! The staff were friendly and efficient!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Stayed at Park on 5th July, first impression on arrival from outside was I hoped the interior was better then outside, a good coat of paint is required, unfortunately my wife and I were disappointed.
The "superior" room was only named as such because it was larger then standard. The tired look was evident but there is no excuse for dust, carpet that my wife would not walk on in bare feet, a shower that contained grouting that had turned to a brown mould, windows that when opened contained loose dirt that sat in the surrounds and would blow into the room when windy. The single beds were rock hard as were the two easy over eggs my wife ordered at breakfast. The manager apologised telling us she was aware the shower was grotty but they were going to improve it shortly. The only good point was the helpful lad on reception when we arrived. If you need to know what it would be like to live in a Care Home go to the Park Hotel.

Room Tip: Check it before unloading
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMcMillanFamily, Owner at The Park, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
This couple have submitted two reviews of their one stay at the Park Hotel. If you have read this review, please do read our full response which can be found below the review entitled 'Superior Room should be inferior room'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleethorpes
Level Contributor
325 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I was a bit apprehensive about booking here as I had intended booking the hydro whivch I know well but it could not accommodate us so we booked this which is owned by the same family need not have worried got excellent advanced rate in the premier room with lovely bed décor and gorgeous picture window with lovely views the food was delightful and the staff brilliant I would say however that this hotel seems to attract the elderly particularly and we jn our 50s were the youngest eating in the restaurant on both nights you have children the hydro is a better bet but the hotel blurb actually highlights this however we loved it and it was an excellent finish to our holiday its also much handier than the hydro for the town centre

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CleethorpesGtfcfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I was recently with a coach trip of retired people and we had booked the Park Hotel for lunch. As we had a few people with walking difficulties we had pre-requested table service rather than the buffet. However on arrival the buffet was prepared although the staff were willing to then take the platters round the tables. Unfortunately they only served one dish at a time so that we had a slice of quiche on our plate then when that was eaten the samosas were served. Likewise little sausages and vol au vents. Every time I had a look, people were sitting with empty plates. At no time did we have a plateful of food in front of us which made our lunch very 'bitty'.
In addition no vol au vents were served at our table and when we asked for some, the waitress said she would go and see if there were any left. Obviously there were none as she never returned.
Tea and coffee were served with short bread and gingerbread. There were eight people at our table and we were given four pieces of gingerbread and five pieces of shortbread. We had to ask for more. Moreover the coffee was cold and had to be sent back.
For the twelve pounds it cost for this poor lunch we could have had a substantial pub lunch. This hotel obviously treats coach trips as passing trade who can be given substandard service.
My advice is, if you are taking a coach party to lovely Peebles look to one of the other many hotels in the area and give this establishment a miss. We certainly won't be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrspeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMcMillanFamily, Owner at The Park, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
We are really disappointed to read this review. The person who has written it was obviously not the person who made the booking. In fact, table menus and buffet menus were both offered and the buffet menu was chosen. It was not mentioned at the time of booking, that some of the guests had walking difficulties, or we would have advised table service. Our staff were more than happy to serve from the buffet platters to the table and did their best with no advance warning. We are sorry if service was a bit too slow, but to be fair, for a whole coachload of guests, we would have had more staff on duty and the tables would have been pre-set had we been expecting to cater for full table service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peebles
0.4 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
2.8 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
0.2 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#4 of 8 in Peebles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle Venlaw Hotel
Castle Venlaw Hotel
#5 of 8 in Peebles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park

Property: The Park
Address: Park Hotel Innerleithen Road, Peebles EH45 8BA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Peebles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Park 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you open the door, our quirky welcome is sure to spark your imagination. Discover upcycled bits and bobs from the March Street Mills, character packed spaces to enjoy our new bakery and butcher inspired menus, a vintage double decker bus and a gallery showcasing local artwork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Peebles
The Park Peebles, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing