We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sleep Ever!!”
Review of The Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Park
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Certificate of Excellence
Bonnyrigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Sleep Ever!!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed for three nights in May '14. We booked via LateRooms.com and save a fair wee bit of the standard price. Room was lovely, had a lift to the 1st floor, breakfast was served at a great time and was excellent (I love my food). We had a meal in the hotel on the first night (Steak Pie was good). The rooms were nice and have plenty of room, with plenty of storage. They have a flat panel tv (with empty HDMI ports) you get freeview in the room, free wifi and tea / coffee making facilities with biscuits (they replenished every morning when they cleaned the room). If you need an excellent place to stay in Peebles I highly recommend this place!!

Room Tip: If possible try and get a room at the back of the hotel, it has some amazing views over the Peeblesh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank callumjanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    150
    57
    32
    22
See reviews for
66
220
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Spent a weekend at the Park a few weeks ago during the peak of the good weather which we had recently.
Although I had asked for a room with a view to the rear, which I didn't get, our trip wasn't spoilt as the overall old style charm of the hotel was lovely even though it requires a freshening up in terms of decor.
The breakfast was plentiful with lots of choice and arrived with a smile from the friendly and attentive staff.
No hesitations in recommending this hotel as it still offers the feeling of what a stay at an old traditional hotel should be.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the rear and avoid the second floor albeit there is nothing wrong with the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Dunbartonshire
Level Contributor
214 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had booked this deal via an Itison deal like many others and opted for the 2 nights at £75. We had stayed near Peebles (Barony Castle at Eddleston) 2 years ago for our 18th wedding anniversary and it is a beautiful area. We looked around to get somewhere in that area and when this deal came up grabbed it quickly and booked straight away. I was informed that the place had been recently taken over by the group that runs the Crieff Hydro and that they also are the booking service for Peebles Hydro. The good thing about the Park is that it is smaller and no children there and we were able to use the facilities of the spa and leisure facilities at Peebles Hydro! It was fab and we made good use of them on both Sunday and Monday. At the time of booking I had asked if there were any upgraded rooms available and was informed that there wasn't but the booker said she would put us into room 73 which was a superior room and there was no extra charge.
We were pleasantly surprised on arrival at the size and quality of the room and the lovely view of the immaculately kept gardens at the rear. The room was spacious and the bathroom huge. Everything nice and clean though as has been said before about the hotel, it is a bit dated but I think it adds to the character of the place!! We thoroughly enjoyed the whole time spent here and the helpfulness of the staff.
On the Sunday evening, we were offered a 4 course meal for £25 per person. We looked at the menu and it was very nice but the thought of 4 courses seemed a bit too much for us so we went instead to the bar and had a delicious meal there served by Mari who was absolutely delightful! She gave us a nice table beside the patio doors and we were able to sit and watch the baby rabbits frolicking all over the lawn as we waited for our dinner. I chose the seafood skewer served with a lovely romesca sauce and rice/salad. Fab!! David chose the Sunday roast with trimmings and it was chicken wrapped in bacon etc and he loved that too!
On the Monday morning we had a fabulous breakfast as they have delicious treats set out at the buffet as well as the offer of a cooked breakfast with only the fish of the day requiring a £2 supplement. Beautiful dining room with lovely views of the garden to enjoy while eating.
We wandered through the main street after breakfast and saw that at the Burgh Hall there was going to be a memorial service commemorating the 100 years since the start of the 1st world war at 11 am. We had a nose about then returned for this. It was very moving and a highlight of our trip. Nice to be able to attend one on this day.
We went for a drive to Biggar and visited the Mill Inn at Coulter for a drink before returning to the Park and going back up to the gym etc at the Hydro. On return there was a complimentary bottle of wine on ice from the hotel management! That was such a lovely thing for them to do! So unexpected as we hadn't said to any of the staff since arriving but it may have been the Anniversary cards in the room that were a giveaway. No worries how they found out (unless it was from the booking service) but the gesture was so much appreciated! I would also like to give an extra special mention to Louise on reception as she was absolutely the best person to have on the job! So kind, friendly and helpful! Lovely girl!
We had a wonderful breakfast on the Tuesday morning prior to our drive home! Lovely relaxing time here and would thoroughly recommend anyone to give the place a try. I understand that the Hydro is going to be given a major facelift and eventually the Park Hotel will be too! It will make a difference but both to us were lovely! Thanks guys!! Xx

Room Tip: We were in room 73 but the best apparently is 72 which can be booked plenty in advance! rooms to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Halls007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We have just returned today from an overnight stay which was purchased via a voucher at £39. Having read historical reviews before we booked we were aware that the hotel was deemed as being a little dated.

We had not visited Peebles or The Park Hotel before but we enjoyed our stay and we will return again in the future. The hotel is a bit dated however the hotel and the rooms are clean and tidy.

The staff were friendly and drinks reasonably priced and the breakfast was very good.

We did request a rear room to obtain a view but we were allocated room 76 which is at the side of the hotel and unfortunately this is next to the large extractor system on the roof next to our room which seems to serve the kitchen which was rather noisy.( we had to keep the window closed at all times ). So if we return we will avoid room 75 or 76 otherwise we had a lovely short stay.

Room Tip: trip very hard to obtain a room with a rear view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weagieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Visited here on a Sunday for Afternoon Tea.
Wallpaper torn, carpet filthy-decor desperately needs attention and updating along with training staff etc.
Bar staff looked hungover. Some, not all members of Staff young and couldn't care less. Afternoon tea was a shambles. Cakes were dry and tasteless. Finger (80's style) sandwhiches have to be the worst I have ever had in my life. Felt as though I would be ill after eating them. Coffee not hot enough. When asked if we could box up some of our un eaten cakes which got binned anyway the manager could not have been less enthusiastic if she tried.
This Hotel has the potential to be a great Hotel but its not!
Faulty Towers did come to mind as I took everything in!
I would not recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank LMLMMAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed here to attend a wedding in town. I am really surprised at all the great reviews - not sure if people wanted the Faulty towers look/experience but the hotel is definitely not up to scratch! Saying that very few of the other guests that stayed in most of the towns other hotels were in any way complimentary about the hotels or facilities - it was however clean although tired.

The staff were very friendly and helpful but the rest is really in dire need of refurbishment. Room was big, bed was tired - not just me! - one window could not be opened properly (had to prop it open with a shoe!). No aircon (come on people its 2014!!!!!!) furniture tired and really not a pleasant experience. Guess you have a captive market for the area but really not acceptable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesnt face the main road....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Food_Travel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Firstly i would like to say we are not serial moaners or complain to get some kind of freebie but Judging by some of the other reviews I think we were given the worst rooms in the hotel. See photos.On arrival we were given room 71, a decent size but rather depressing. Two windows, one a view of the fire escape the other a view of the wall of the opposite extension. Headboard had two dirty head marks on,Shower was filthy, see photo, heated towel rail permanently on as control missing. Extractor thick with dust. We asked to be moved but the nice young man on reception said there were no other rooms available. Asked to speak to manager, who advised us via the young man on reception that they did have another room after all. Room 81 was marginally better. It had a view to the outside world ! As this was the only room left we decided to try to ignore the VERY threadbare carpet and the mould and mildew on the grouting in the relatively new bathroom and the shaver light not working as we were only staying one night. Incidentally, according to on line booking agents they still had three rooms available at 10.30 that night. The bed base was in a poor condition and the bed valance ripped. The evening meal we had and the breakfast was excellent as were the helpful and obliging staff. The public rooms of the hotel are pleasant but are somewhat dated. Unfortunately we will not be staying at the Park Hotel on our next visit to Peebles. There are superior and cheaper hotels in Melrose and St Boswells not too far away.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 71 or 81
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peebles
0.4 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
1,920 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
2.8 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#5 of 8 in Peebles
220 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
0.5 mi away
Castle Venlaw Hotel
Castle Venlaw Hotel
#4 of 8 in Peebles
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park

Property: The Park
Address: Park Hotel Innerleithen Road, Peebles EH45 8BA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Peebles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Park 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you open the door, our quirky welcome is sure to spark your imagination. Discover upcycled bits and bobs from the March Street Mills, character packed spaces to enjoy our new bakery and butcher inspired menus, a vintage double decker bus and a gallery showcasing local artwork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Peebles
The Park Peebles, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing