We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Wedding Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castle Venlaw Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Wedding Location”
Reviewed 20 June 2012

My wife and I had our wedding at this Castle. We are from the US and this was the perfect place to have our destination wedding. By the end of the trip, my 30 person group was on a first name basis with the staff and some of them still stay in contact with them. The morning breakfast was great and many of our group would stay and eat dinner at the Castle. The owners of the Castle were absolutely amazing and made the wedding go so smoothly. Planning this wedding from the US was difficult, but they made it much easier. I was extremely satisfied with the rooms and you could tell that they had recently been updated. We had our whole wedding party (30 people) stay in the castle and it was a perfect experience. Personally, we stayed in the Honeymoon suite and truly enjoyed our time. We look forward to returning to the castle for an anniversary week in the coming years.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite is amazing, but definitely the most expensive as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    85
    33
    16
    13
See reviews for
29
237
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
312 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 359 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Good secluded location, view from window showed gardening really needed a lot of work. Went as part of a discount deal and this may have been why the sample menu in the room was quite different to the rather basic boring about 5 item menu I was given for the meal. The food was bad.The 4 poster room was drab, really NO wow factor and the food poor. Really needs updating. A dissapointment. Really would not be worth full price.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whatbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We took over the whole of the hotel for a family wedding last weekend. Lorna had been to great lengths to discuss all the guests with me prior to our arrival in order to ensure that everyone was in a suitable room and all went smoothly. The rooms were excellent and the beds comfortable. But Lorna and Roy were the stars of our stay, from putting the wedding flowers in their chiller for a night to waiting up until 3.30am on Saturday night to make sure everyone was safely back in the hotel. They were up at 9am on Sunday, serving us breakfast with a smile!

The food was delicious and extremely reasonable, and the wine list was short but excellent. They produced a buffet for 21 of us on Friday evening and took all the late arrivals and dietary requirements in their stride. Emma's jams and marmalade at breakfast are to die for! We were thoroughly spoiled and can't wait to go back.

The hotel is set in the most lovely countryside and there are wellingtons at the door for anyone who might have left theirs behind and wants to go for a walk. I couldn't recommend it more highly. Nothing is too much trouble and Lorna and Roy never stop smiling!

Room Tip: Incredibly comfortable beds and rooms, all that I saw had lovely views. The Romantic Suite is parti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ruthdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardrossan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

My wife and I spent a weekend at Venlaw Castle to celebrate our anniversary and were very pleased with the friendly welcome given by the staff. The room was comfortable and had a pleasant view across Peebles, the food was well cooked and imaculately presented and the petit four gorgeous. The new owners only took over in November, but have made great strides in presenting the Venlaw as accommodation of character, excellence and taste.

We would recommend the hotel to anyone wishing to have a relaxing break, in a warm friendly atmosphere, where refinement and attention to customer care, go hand in hand, the staff coud not have been more helpful.
Well done to the new owners, they could not have been more attentive to our needs and we hope many others will give the hotel a try, it was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crook, Co Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stayed at Venlaw while it was in receivership and so things may have changed since Sept 2011.

We stayed for a week and used the Hotel as a base for days out in the borders and from a location perspective the Hotel was in a good central location, although quite a way out of the town.

The rooms were nice but tired they needed some updating and a lick of paint but the overall ambience and furniture used was of a high standard.

The food we had was great, nice quality produce and served by a very friendly staff.

The prices were also great but this again may have been due to the receivership.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at Castle Venlaw sat 28th April following a 5pm deal! We paid £119 for 3 course dinner, four poster bedroom and scottish breakfast! I received a call to say that they had overbooked the four poster room so they upgraded us to a junior suite! I emailed the hotel as I couldnt see any photos of the junior suite and was duly sent various photos of the room we were going to stay in. The staff on arrival were very friendly and we were shown to our room. Dinner was booked for 6pm, we were the only people in the resturant, it was a set menu but have say the food was master chef standards, out of this world! We will be back very soon hopefully.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

My daughter asked me if Castle Venlaw was 'grand' and I said no, it was better than that. Because, although there are all the trappings of a Scottish castle - the lovely fireplaces, four-poster, arched windows - it was quite unstuffy. The wellie boots at the front door set the scene - this felt more like being welcomed into a private country house rather than visiting a fancy hotel. But a very charming house with real touches of luxury: the four poster in our room was not only beautiful, it was extremely comfortable and all the furnishings were of excellent quality. The flat screen tv (which we didn't even switch on, preferring the view and the peace) the wi-fi and the luxurious bathroom were nods to the 21st century. My slight disappointment was that the menu wasn't particularly inspiring but it was a Sunday night, there was enough variety and the food was excellent. All the staff we met were very friendly and attentive.

Room Tip: we stayed in the Glenmorangie which had three lovely arched windows, a very comfortable four-poster...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Padavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peebles
0.6 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
1,916 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
2.3 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
412 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
0.4 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#5 of 8 in Peebles
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Venlaw Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Venlaw Hotel

Property: Castle Venlaw Hotel
Address: Edinburgh Road, Peebles EH45 8QG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Peebles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Venlaw Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in 4 acres of beautiful woodland grounds overlooking the Royal and Ancient town of Peebles, Castle Venlaw hotel continues the country house tradition, bringing a perfect combination of relaxed informality and the elegance of another age. The hotel comprises of 12 guest bedrooms including four rooms with four poster beds. All rooms have full en-suite facilities. Enjoy a special meal made with fresh local produce in our two AA rosette restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Castle Venlaw Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Venlaw Peebles
Hotel Castle Venlaw
Castle Venlaw Hotel Peebles, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing