We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Castle Venlaw is ok : Staff are great.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castle Venlaw Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Just returned from a wee break at Castle Venlaw.The public areas of the hotel are great.The decor is in keeping with the age and style of the building and the bar,restaurant and breakfast room are all nice,inviting spaces.Unfortunatley the same cannot be said of the rooms.The decor is a bit tired.I don't really mind that but I was dissapointed with the cleanliness of my room,the bathroom in particular:there was fungus/mold around the bath and the toilet seat was discoloured ( quite off-putting at 1st glance ! )
The Breakfast was great but the restaurant menu is just quite frankly bizarre.All the food is nicely cooked and the portions are good but there are some very strange choices especially for a Scottish country house hotel.Hawaiian burger anyone ? Or how about baked Camembert with chutney and onion rings ? Onion rings ? Really ?
The saving grace of the hotel is the friendlieness,courtesy and professionalism of the staff.They are fantastic and deserve to be recognised for this.
Not much more to say other than I would be happy to stay here again as the fantastic staff compensate for the few downsides.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauraGlasgowGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

Just returned from a two night stay at the Venlaw Castle Hotel in Peebles. Found the hotel almost on the first attempt. It's located just off the Edinburgh Road on the edge of Peeebles: up a 500m or so drive. The drive rises gradually to the carpark at the front of the hotel and affords some nice views over the town. From the outside the building is as you would expect from a 300 year old property and looks quite grand.

We were warmly welcomed by the staff and show around the public areas before be shown to our room (rooms are all named after a malt whiskey). The public areas are in nice order and are in the Scottish castle style: the bar and restaraunt being particularly nice.

We found our room to be acceptable - in need of a little TLC perhaps. We were slightly dissapointed with the bathroom which really needs to be refurbished, but in the mean time could be doing with a deep clean to remove mould from grout etc. A weekly spray with mould and mildew remover (available readily for a £1 a bottle) would make a hugh difference to the bathroom and just help to make the shower/bath area feel crisp clean instead of almost clean. That said it was clean enough but you wouldn't want to have a soak in the bath.

Breakfast was good with plenty of choice and again, very helpful and friendly staff. We had dinner in the restaraunt on our final night and, after some intial fear reading the menu (which is a bit haphazard in it's planning) found the food to be pretty good and value for money. Again, just a wee bit more thought to the menu - a bit more themed perhaps - would really make the meal memorable instead of just satisfactory. The addition of a cheese board is, in my opinion a must. Good wine list at reasonable prices also helps the dining experience. After the meal you can relax in the bar with freindly attentive staff ready to serve.

Peebles itself is a very nice town with plenty of bars and eateries to choose from, some nice architecture and good walking along the river and nearby forests.

Overall the total experience of the Venlaw Castle was good and we did enjoy our stay. But the tired rooms and the poor bathroom stop me rating it higher. To be honest I'd have went for a rating of good rather than very good if that had been an option. Still worth a visit though, with the freindly attentive staff making visit worthwhile.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GFC69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Third stay in as many years and gets better every time. So welcoming, good food, good service and reasonably priced. Booked directly this time on autumn deal. Superior rooms are twice the size and well worth it. Thanks to all the staff, they make you feel so at home !! Our special down time place for a good rest without stuffiness. A good place to go to get away from the children. Thoroughly recommend it and OK a bit draughty, but it is a Castle! A few of the lovely malts and cognac hot chocolate's from the bar and we were sorted. Had a great night's sleep in a very comfy bed and fab breakfast in the morning with homemade jams that really are lovely. Met friends there one night for dinner and needed a gluten free - seems to be very normal here and plenty of options. All very happy and advice offered on gluten free when asked. Will be back when we can.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SalukiDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Just returned from two nights at Venlaw and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Décor throughout was in keeping with the age of the place, especially the bar area; if only the big open fire had had a few logs roaring away in it! Room was well-appointed, comfy and clean if a teeny bit chilly, but what do you expect in a late-October Scottish castle? Nevertheless, we had a big bed, supremely fluffy towels and possibly a wee visit from the room's resident ghost.....maybe! The kitchen turns out big, tasty, keenly-priced evening meals and a knockout full breakfast. Bar is well-stocked with a decent pint of best and a fair spread of malts as well as good coffee. The grounds and surrounding land offered fab autumnal walks, stunning views and a lovely footpath through the woods down into Peebles. Many thanks to Ania for welcoming us and keeping the glasses full, and to Emma for all-round top service as well as enduring our meandering chats. A special mention to Beth the housekeeper, who found the valuable item my absent-minded partner left in the room; his grovelling thanks for her honesty. We'll be back, no doubt.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JibbaJabba43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Just returned from 2 nights at this old castle hotel.The accommodation was very good indeed ( though a lift would have been very welcome) and the food was excellent both at breakfast and at dinner---the steak pie is to die for! The staff were very welcoming and friendly and we would definitely recommend it to future guests.Maybe daily newspapers could be intoduced as well and a few more trees taken down to improve the views over the town .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edward m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed for three nights whilst touring around Scotland. The location is great for exploring Edinburgh and greater area. Traquair house, the oldest inhabited house in Scotland, is only a few miles away. The Peebles area is lovely.

The hotel was lovely and we really enjoyed our stay. The staff do their up most to make your stay as perfect as possible in a non-intrusive and easily going way. It was lovely just sitting in the bar having a few drinks or coffee after a days exploring. The food in the restaurant is more like bar food but was absolutely delicious, well presented and timely serviced. Breakfast was really good also with home jams.

My husband felt he had never slept so well in any hotel before and our room was lovely with views over the surrounding hills.The bed was really comfortable. The room was meticulously clean.

An added bonus is there is a little path beside the grounds and if you take that and keep walking you eventually end up on the hills and the views are lovely. Wear your walking shoes.

We actually went on to stay at a 4 star country house hotel after Castle Venlaw but both of us agreed we wish we had stayed another 3 nights at Castle Venlaw instead. There is something a little bit special you just can't put your finger on.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Castle-holic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Lovely big room with views over the gardens and a large clean bathroom. Friendly, efficient staff in the hotel and the restaurant where good food was served at a reasonable price. Felt that the menu was a bit basic, but overall a fantastic stay. Definitely one to go back to.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CityGirlScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peebles
0.5 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
2.3 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
776 reviews
0.6 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Park
The Park
#5 of 8 in Peebles
449 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#6 of 8 in Peebles
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Venlaw Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Venlaw Hotel

Address: Edinburgh Road, Peebles EH45 8QG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Peebles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Price Range: £62 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Venlaw Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in approximately 4 acres of woodland grounds, Castle Venlaw Hotel is a small family run hotel, offering peace and tranquillity in a relaxed and informal setting. We offer various types of accommodation, all en-suite and some quirky. In line with the setting and outlay of the building all rooms differ and no two rooms are the same. We currently have a Table D'Hote menu which offers good home cooking - using, where available, local produce. We are ideally located for cycling, walking and are approximately 25 minutes from Edinburgh City Centre, which can be reached by bus or from the nearby Park and Ride in Straiton, which is approximately 20 minutes drive away. Please note that the hotel is suitable for over 16's only and we cannot cater for or accommodate children or infants under this age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Castle Venlaw Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Venlaw Peebles
Hotel Castle Venlaw
Castle Venlaw Hotel Peebles, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing