We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Park(Peebles)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Peebles Hydro(Peebles)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Traquair Arms Hotel(Innerleithen)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,030)
Filter reviews
1,030 results
Traveller rating
644
306
50
22
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
644
306
50
22
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsadam roomadams roomhigh streetoverlooking the rivercentral locationopen firefriendly hotelfirst classwedding receptiongood sizecomfortable roomslovely towndining roomlounge areascottish bordersbreakfast was excellenthuge bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
903 - 908 of 1,030 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Just stayed for one night as husband was Mountain biking in Glentress the next day. Thoroughly enjoyed the stay, relaxing lounge area with friendly stay was busy during the afternoon and quieter in the evening as it was a Sunday. We had dinner in the restaurant - food was lovely and prices were very reasonable. Room had been newly refurbished and was clean and tidy with a nicely done up shower room. Corridors still in the middle of being decorated but personally I don't mind this at all as it's proof of investment in the place which can only be good. Would certainly go back!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda_PaulB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateInnes, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2011

Thank you for your excellent review. We always try to do our very best for all of our guests and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Naturally we hope that you choose to return to the Tontine again, either when your husband is mountain biking in Glentress or just to enjoy a short break together in Peebles and the surrounding area.
Kind regards,
Kate Innes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We came here in September for a wedding, hotel smack bang in the middle of a beautiful town of Peebles. Good parking, excellent decor, service very good and staff at all levels very helpful indeed. Room a good size, and very comfortable, drink reasonable too. Although the Hotel didn't have a gym, spa etc there are loads to do around and about in Peebles from fishing, rugby, hill walking, theatre, hockey and so on you wont get bored nice pubs etc too. Noise level didnt here a thing so good for families too.
Value for money on accommodation i would definitely come back here and have recommended this place to several people

Room Tip: None really it is lovely throughout you cant lose here
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m1monroe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateInnes, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay; we welcome all feedback as a means to help us to try to improve the service and facilities here at The Tontine. We are of course delighted by the fact that you have recommended us to several of your friends and relatives and look forward to welcoming you back to the Tontine in the near future.
Kind regards,
Kate Innes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Same as what the wife has said below but i thought the room as overpriced at £150 for one night, on reflection i thought it was only worth around the £90 to the £100 mark.i would expect a bit more luxury for £150 and was a little disappointed, sorry tontine !

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barry_traynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateInnes, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Tontine. We always strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and ensure they have a truly enjoyable and relaxing stay. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us despite feeling that the room was expensive at £150 for 2 people on a Dinner, Bed & Breakfast basis. Guest feedback is very important to the overall running of our hotel and affords us the opportunity of reviewing and improving the hotel’s facilities and service on an ongoing basis. With this in mind I do hope that you will return the Tontine when you come back to Peebles and would appreciate it if you would contact me directly at that time.
Kind regards,
Kate Innes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Myself, husband, cousin and 5 friends stayed overnight on the 5th November 2011 in celebration of my 40th birthday. Hotel was of a high standard and full of friendly people; lovely welcome on arrival. Location couldn't have been better for us, smack bang in the centre of the high street. The group thoroughly enjoyed evening meal and breakfast. My husband and I were in room 35 with a river view, beautiful bathroom and a bed that I would have taken home with me had it fit in my suitcase (comfy, snug and massive).
Would recommend the Tontine to anyone !!!!

Room Tip: good choice of room type: we had kingsize, a single, a twin and a triple............... plenty room in the triple still.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Offskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateInnes, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are always delighted to receive such positive feedback and will always try to do our best for all of our guests and hope that when you are next visiting Edinburgh, Peebles or the Scottish Borders you will once again return to The Tontine.
Kind regards, Kate Innes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel while on a four day coach trip to Scotland. We had really pleasant stay. The staff were so friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. It's a family owned and run hotel and the owners came round to chat to us while we were eating. Asked us how the food was and how we were enjoying our stay. That was nice! Our room was at the back. There was plenty of space and it was quiet and peaceful. Hardly any noise at all from other guests. Only complaint (hardy a complaint really) was they'd run out of porridge for our first breakfast there! Rectified the next day....smiles all round. We've regularly discussed going back for another stay there as we enjoyed our time there so much. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Try for a room at the back. Nice and quiet.
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flatcat15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateInnes, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2011

Thank you for your lovely comments and indeed for taking the time to complete your review, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to The Tontine in the not too distant future!
Kind Regards, Kate Innes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews