We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golfing Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Have been to this hotel three times and love it. Each time we have been it has been for a few days to play golf. The hotel staff are fantastic and the golf was organised by the hotel. On our last visit we were unable to play as the courses around Peebles were closed, due to the heavy rain, but the golf coordinator kept us informed and helped us to plan our days doing other things. A day trip to Edinburgh was one outing on the local bus - stop just 5minutes from the hotel. All the staff are very helpful especially front desk, dining room staff and golf coordinator. The food is excellent.
Hotel is situated on Peebles High Street and with easy access to shops and a walk along the river (which you might need in the evening to walk off the evening meal)

Room Tip: rooms over looking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happy638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2012

Delighted to read your review and learn that you so enjoyed your golf trip & stay @ “The Tontine” and thank you very much indeed for the very positive feedback. Sarah does do a great job with all golf breaks and their co-ordination and can quickly adapt to cirumstances as they arise! Thank you again!
Kate & Gordon Innes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (959)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

785 - 791 of 959 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2012

I should have written this 10 months ago. Better late than never. What a great weekend. Our annual reunion tripped up in Peebles for the weekend. Old boys from Morpeth. Great hospitality, great food, great breakfast. Laughed a lot and had a fab weekend. Would love to go back one day. Great memory. Sorry I did not review earlier.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2012

Delighted to learn and read your excellent review, yes it was late but very grateful you have taken the time to post on "trip advisor".
Kate & Gordon Innes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Only stayed one night but very impressed, particularly with
the staff who were all very friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeedsrichardB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2012

We are grateful and thank you for taking the time to post a review. Very glad to read that you enjoyed an excellent stay, the food & staff service in particular.
Kate & Gordon Innes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Stayed for three nights for a golfing break. Great location with several good courses within a short drive (avoid Cardrona Btw). Staff very friendly and gave excellent service throughout the stay. Rooms clean and tidy but a little basic, but good value all the same.

Would recommend this hotel and we will be returning

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank Hookhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2012

Delighted to read your review and learn that you so enjoyed your golf trip & stay @ “The Tontine” and thank you very much indeed for the very positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed here for two nights. Firstly, the good... Nice bar with decent drinks selection. Ate in the bistro, fantastic local meat and fish with a decent wine list to accompany. Would definitely eat there again.

Sadly, our room really let the hotel down. It was far too warm with a tiny window which hardly let any breeze in. The bathroom was also in dire need of updating - the shower was barely a trickle, even with the old fashioned shower pump on. Room also a little tatty (damp, peeling wall paper). For £100/night you'd expect more...

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnFromSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2012

Thanks for your review and we are glad when guests respond via trip advisor. We were all delighted to read and learn of the many positive aspects of your stay. Our vision is to keep improving the hotel through a programme of maintenance and up-grade, continuous improvement. You make a number of positive and constructive comments about the room and shower and we will add these to our refurbishment plans for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

The Tontine is a lovely hotel, unfortunately i think we stayed at the wrong time. The towns Beltane festival was on and the hotel was more geared towards running things to that than to their guests. The bustle in the hotel when we arrived on the Friday night was like arriving at a night club. Due to the sheer number of people drinking in the hotel the staff were very distracted when we checked in, meaning that papers we requested for the morning were not put on our bill, which really is no big thing but highlights my point.

The rooms were lovely and clean, the breakfast was nice and the staff were friendly. We had hoped to dine in the hotel but due to the festivities this was not possible but the staff recommended a few places we could try.

The only thing that let it down was we were expecting to pay £90 a night for a nice relaxed luxury hotel in the centre of a quiet borders town, what we got was a hour in traffic when we hit Peebles, we couldn't park in the hotel car park if we wanted to use our car the following day due to the street parades, being in the middle of a hotel hosting a full towns worth of people in their bar and lounge meant we couldn't fully use their facilities.

Although i realise most of these things were out of their control it could be possible to highlight that the hotel is extremely busy during this time and possibly making one of their dining rooms into a residents bar for this event would allow other residents to choose whether they join in the festivities or not as we ended up going to our rooms early to try and relax.

I would try this hotel again to see what they are like when there is not a huge town event on and I would recommend this hotel to others though.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikzageek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2012

We are grateful and thank you for taking the time to post a review. The hotel and its location right in the middle of Peebles High Street, is right at the heart of the town and indeed the local Festival week means that the hotel is very busy. We do make guests aware in advance of the parking options and times when the high street is unavailable for access. I can understand your comments therefore and we will review the information we give to guests ahead of next year’s Beltane Festival.
Gordon Innes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a lovely weekend in Peebles staying at the Tontine Hotel. The outside looks slightly shabby but belies the interior. This hotel seemed to be the hub of the town as it was always busy with people in and out for coffee etc. This created a lovely atmosphere. Our room (48) was in the extension at the back on the lower floor, excellent for the car park but 2 flights of stairs and a passage walk away from reception, no problem for us. The room was great, clean, roomy with a lovely big bathroom with a great shower. The only down side, it was on the dark side, because of the window wall facing, we always needed the light on. We enjoyed beautiful cooked breakfast but on Sat/Sun the breakfasts took half an hour to arrive, too long if you were wanting to get out and about quickly. Monday morning was no problem. We enjoyed one dinner in the Hotel, variety and good quality food, good service. I enjoyed Peebles and we intend to return so will definitely stay at the Tontine again.

Room Tip: Stay in the extension but opt for a room numbered in the 30th not 40th. A bit dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaniceArran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Thank you very much for placing such a super review following your recent stay at the hotel. We are all delighted to learn of the many positive aspects of your stay. You make a number of positive and constructive comments about the rooms and locations and we will add these to our refurbishment plans for the future. We are purchasing new bedside and reading lights and will review the “wattage outputs” from our low energy light-bulbs


Kate & Gordon Innes.
(Proprietor’s).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peebles
0.5 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
2,067 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
777 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Park
The Park
#5 of 8 in Peebles
452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#6 of 8 in Peebles
233 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle Venlaw Hotel
Castle Venlaw Hotel
#3 of 8 in Peebles
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders

Address: High Street, Peebles EH45 8AJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Peebles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Price Range: £69 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Peebles, we are a family run hotel totally geared up to providing you with a wonderful break. Known for our excellent service and food, we have 36 en-suite bedrooms, secure storage, drying room, FREE WiFi and private parking for our guests. So if you want to escape for some well earned rest and relaxation, or to enjoy some quality time with friends and family, the Tontine is the perfect place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders Scotland
Peebles Tontine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing