We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect base for Glentress.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect base for Glentress.”
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Great spot in the centre of town and only 10 mins from Glentress. After a hard day on the trails it was wonderful to return and be cosseted with a hot bath, a delicious dinner and coffee by a roaring fire. Loads of bike storage and 4 legged friends are welcome in some bedrooms.

Staff are friendly and helpful, although on one night they were a bit thin on the ground. A proactive apology the next morning and good service the following evening pointed to a one off glitch.

I look forward to the next time!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 968944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Thank you very much for your excellent review and comments. We are delighted to learn of your comments regarding location and recommendation for Glentress.
Thanks Kate & Gordon Innes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    285
    46
    21
    8
See reviews for
135
448
46
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Once again my husband and I spent two nights at the Tontine Hotel. In our experience it is very friendly and we enjoy our visit. The staff are efficient as well as friendly - nice food and reasonable costs - what more can you want.

Room Tip: Room 1 has just been upgraded and is lovely - comfy bed and lovely views over the river. As it is at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trish041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we are grateful for the very good overall comments.
You have given an excellent room tip as we also are very pleased with the upgrade and refurbishment in Room 1. We also completed a full refurbishment of 4 rooms in the Riverside lodge as well as the redecoration of the bedroom corridors, earlier this year. Guests should ask for these rooms if available.
Gordon Innes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I stayed for three nights at the Tontine , and was very impressed with the friendliness of all the staff I met.
The food was excellent throughout ... the breakfasts amazingly good, and so tasty..
Although the hotel is old , and in need of refurbishment in certain areas - my room was warm , comfortable and well equipped.

I will certainly stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David271056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments via your post and following your recent visit to the hotel. Particularly grateful to read your notes regarding staff and quality of food.
You make some good constructive comments about the age of the building, 208 years in fact. We are attacking upgrade and refurbishment, currently in the original house and the ladies restrooms. Bedrooms 1 & 2 recently completed but we still admittedly have much to continue with into 2013 and we will as time and finances permit. We are committed to investing in the fabric of the whole building. Be sure to ask for a refurbished room next visit!
Kate & Gordon Innes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Wonderful place with tons of history, very nice staff and great atmosphere. The lounge was always busy, and looks as if this is the sitting room of all Peebles. Very nice! We had a lovely bedroom with excellent bed, nice bathroom, good telly, nice toiletries and the in-room wifi just worked with no glitch at all. The food was a little disappointing; it was good but we had expected a little more style, seeing the beautiful surroundings. Service was a little on the slow side, also at breakfast. We had one lunch there, but my sandwich tasted a bit stale.
Nonetheless, everything else was great so this hotel is heartily recommended.
We could park in front of the hotel, and during the Highland Games we had a great photo opportunity from our window when the bands paraded through "our" street.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SalmonEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Very pleased to note the very positive comments regarding our bedroom facilities and our busy lounge service. Our food is aimed at a very wide market, popular dishes in the main but we take on board your comments about a little more style. This past week we served some specials including Scallops and Rack of Lamb, well received and regular guests often ask for special menu items in advance e.g. Grouse & Lobster served twice recently. We will publicise this fact and I do hope you will visit again to sample?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Just spent three very enjoyable nights at the Tontine on a fishing trip to the Upper Tweed. The hotel is a historic building set back from Peeble's attractive high street which made it an excellent location. One of our party had a room overlooking the river to the rear and the others at the fornt of the hotel. Its a family run establishment with enthusiastic and attentive staff - the restaurant manager had noticed where we liked sitting in the lounge by night 3 and put a reserved sign on the table! The proprietor, Kate, was full of helpful info - always a good sign that a hotel has confidence to recommend other local restaurants.Very enjoyable meal in the hotel's restaurant - venison and ribeye steak perfectly cooked. Good wine list and Broughton Ale's Clipper on draft. The hotel was busy but well managed by a cheerful group. Clearly a popular dining choice locally. Highly reommended.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deepdale2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
We all so much appreciate you posting such a fantastic review, following your recent visit to the hotel and special thanks for your "mentions" of the people who looked after you so well. So delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Kate & Gordon Innes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We spent 3 nights here and although our room was small, it was perfectly appointed with everything we needed and cosy when we spent a couple of hours putting our feet up before bed. The Tontine staff were welcoming and helpful. We loved the building and its history. We hadn't planned on having our evening meals here but soon changed our minds! The food was delicious and plentiful and we were appreciative that everything we ate was locally produced. We hope to visit again in the spring. We would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone just passing through or taking in the breathe-taking scenery of the beautiful Tweed valley.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samasama180312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Very pleased to note the very positive comments regarding our staff and your comments regarding excellent food (our local hero dishes and menu items, are sourced locally and seasonality also plays an important part in the compilation). Delighted to read of your recommendation for the hotel and "The Tweed Valley".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Myself and my partner were on a few days break in peebles and chose to eat at the Tontine Hotel on the second night of our stay. The food was absolutely delicious and chose to come back on our last night. Not disappointed. Sarah, our server was attentive and friendly - an asset to you hotel. Nothing was too much bother for her. The food on the second was not a disappointment either. The steak pie and curry are winners. I can't recommend this restaurant enough. Hopefully I'll get the chance to stay in the hotel next time.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kazza02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
We all so much appreciate you posting such a fantastic review, following your recent visit to dine at the hotel. We are pleased to note your enjoyment of our menu and quality of food served (2 nights on the bounce, thank-you). Thanks also for the feedback on the service and attention of Sarah which we are glad to use in review of our staff training. Keep checking the web site for our accommodation offers next time you visit Peebles and the area.
Thank-you!
Kate & Gordon Innes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peebles
0.5 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
1,961 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
751 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
0.5 mi away
Castle Venlaw Hotel
Castle Venlaw Hotel
#4 of 8 in Peebles
364 reviews
5.4 mi away
Traquair Arms Hotel
Traquair Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Innerleithen
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders

Property: Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
Address: High Street, Peebles EH45 8AJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Peebles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Peebles, we are a family run hotel totally geared up to providing you with a wonderful break. Known for our excellent service and food, we have 36 en-suite bedrooms, secure storage, drying room, FREE WiFi and private parking for our guests. So if you want to escape for some well earned rest and relaxation, or to enjoy some quality time with friends and family, the Tontine is the perfect place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders Scotland
Peebles Tontine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing