We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious dinner, shame about the bed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stayed one night with our little border collie, Megan. As we'd expected, this meant that we were relegated to one of the less salubrious rooms way out the back of the hotel. Which was fine, perfectly acceptable. The only down-side was a quite hideous tiny double bed. Probably one of the worst night's sleep we had in a 9 day trip around scotland (including the sleeper train home from Inverness). The staff were all friendly though and I have to say I had one of the best dinners of our trip there - local venison was fantastic. Just a shame that Megan couldn't join us by the fire in the bar and had to stay in the car whenever we left the room.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Gemma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We loved your comments reagrding our food and staff service and yes we agree with your recommendation regarding the local venison dish at Dinner. We also agree with your constructive feedback regarding the bed in Room 47, the bedroom allocated for your stay with us. It is one of our older specimens and does need replaced. We have recently refurbished Rooms 42,44,48 & 49 in this corridor all with new beds, king size "zip & link" giving us great flexibility. We will target Room 47 this year. As you are now hopefully aware we are undertaking a huge programme of investment and bedroom up-gardes as time and money permit and will continue to do so throughout 2013. I do hope we will welcome you back again and please do ask for a newly refurbished room.
Kate & Gordon Innes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (956)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

729 - 735 of 956 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2013

This is a very good, mid-range hotel with very welcoming and helpful staff. The bedrooms are comfortable, if unexciting, but the main dining room is handsome and has great views - apart from overlooking the roof of a modern extension. Food is very good and the bar and sitting area warm and comfortable. Positioned in the town-centre of Peebles is is a great location and not too noisy at night. Recommend it strongly.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter and more modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Thank you for your review and a great recommendation. We have also recently refurbished rooms in the original house, so please do ask for the allocation of one of the hotels recently redecorated rooms, but those rooms in the Riverside Lodge overlooking the river are as you say really well located with great views. We also like your comment about our town centre location. Thanks again for taking the time to post your review!
Kate & Gordon Innes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013 via mobile

We took advantage of the low price 2 night special, bed and breakfast both nights & evening meal on 1 night.
The hotel has some lovely views and a potentially beautiful dining room. The whole place is slightly run down and could do with a complete make over.
The staff are a strange mix of really attentive and polite people and some who really should not be in contact with customers. I asked one of the staff if there was a way through the hotel to the rear car park so I could bring my bags in without being in the rain, he said yes and walked into another room and shut the door! The opposite can be said of the young lady on the reception, she was happy, smiley, helpful asked if we required anything, the perfect receptionist.
The food was ok, nothing special to write about.
I'm sorry to say we would not go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyDebra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. We would have been pleased to receive your feedback personally regarding the young man who was less than helpful to you regarding directions. All staff wear "name badges" and this customer service is not, we feel a true reflection of our ethos here at "The Tontine". However apologies are due to you on this ocassion.
We feel your comments about the "wholeplace being run-down" are slightly unfair. You will have read our comments and replies to other reviews that we are indeed giving the hotel a "makeover" on an on-going basis. Throughout 2012 we have refurbished bedrooms and corridors in the "Riverside Lodge". Rooms 1 & 2 in the old house and the ladies restrooms were completed towards the end of 2012 and this year, already we have just completed the re-decoration of Rooms 10 & 11. A 200 year old building presents huge issues regarding investment and up-grade and we do hope we are attacking this as time and monies allow us.
We are sad to learn that you would not recommend us or indeed re-visit yourselves but again thank you for the constructive nature of your feedback and review.
Kate & Gordon Innes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

This hotel is excellent. Staff very welcoming and they always do whatever they can to meet my requirements. The hotel is being upgraded. Some of the rooms in the old part of the hotel need upgrading but I have always had a lovely stay. Rooms in the back have been decorated to a high standard and the ladies powder room within the main building has just been finished and looks wonderful. The lounge is very comfortable with a coal fire. Staff extremely attentive and well trained. The dining room is delightful. Breakfasts are excellent and I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Speak to reception who are more than willing to advise your best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Thank you very much for such a positive review. Your commentary and observations rearding "upgrade" are very much up to date. We refurbished the ladies rest rooms prior to Christmas, before starting works to bedrooms 10 & 11 in the old house. As always with this 200 year old building, improvements and upgrading projects are "on-going" and we will continue to invest in the fabric of the building throughout 2013. We very much look forward to welcoming you again and don't forget to request a recently refurbished bedroom!
Kate & Gordon Innes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We stayed for one night , the staff were very welcoming, friendly and couldn't do enough for us. Ours was a gift and a voucher for afternoon tea and bed + breakfast, the afternoon tea was more than enough for two+very enjoyable. We also ate in the restaurant at night and the food and service were top class. Room was spotless, we had four poster bed which was very comfortable. all in all we enjoyed a great overnight stay, I would recommend and would definitely go back there.

Room Tip: There is no lift so first floor in main building was good for us , as it was only up one flight of s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meemaw30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Thank you very much for your review and recommendation. The team were delighted to read of your review regarding service and welcome and the fact you so enjoyed your stay at "The Tontine". Thanks also for your tips regarding first floor rooms and ease of access.
Kate & Gordon Innes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Stayed three nights over Christmas. Welcoming attentive staff. Good quality breakfasts. Lunch on one day was reasonably priced and well presented. You obtain the distinct impression that this family run hotel pay a lot of attention to motivating the staff to provide good customer service and we could see several impromptu meetings during our stay. The only downside is that the ugly flat-roofed extension on the river side of the old building that contains many of the rooms is reached by a covered enclosed bridge that is very old fashioned and furnished like a old people's home. The rooms themselves are well furnished and fitted. This hotel is probably the best place to stay in Peebles (we checked all the other options before booking here).

Room Tip: The rooms in the "extension" facing the old building (as against the south facing rooms ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulBerni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Thank you for your review and comments via Tripadvisor and delighted to read of your satisfaction following your Christamas break. You are indeed correct to observe that we are privately and independently owned and we very much appreciate reading your recommendation. Many thanks again.
Kate & Gordon Innes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We took my glamorous 88 year old mum in law for a run in the car on a beautiful winters day visited Biggar-no suitable winter boots there- on to the romantic high street of Peebles with its lovely old fashioned high street- mum in law got her boots now afternoon tea.
The shop manager recommended the Tontine.
The Tontine was a coaching inn in the 19th centuary-it is now a comfortable cosy hotel with stunning views of the hills from the dining area at the rear.
We wanted the view of the high street so had tea at the front.
Two of us had afternoon tea sandwiches scones cakes and shortbread the other two had soup cakes and coffee. There was so much food we all ate far too much-coffee and tea was excellent service was attentive
Spotless loos..
The hotel was busy even in January I would have no hesitation in staying there for a weekend break

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank ancell98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review of the hotel following your visit for "Tea". Delighted to read your very positive comments and that you all so enjoyed your day out. Keep checking the web site for those wekend offers! You really do deserve that weekend break soon!
Thanks again, Kate & Gordon Innes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peebles
0.5 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
2,062 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
777 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Park
The Park
#5 of 8 in Peebles
450 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#6 of 8 in Peebles
233 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle Venlaw Hotel
Castle Venlaw Hotel
#3 of 8 in Peebles
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders

Address: High Street, Peebles EH45 8AJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Peebles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Price Range: £69 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Peebles, we are a family run hotel totally geared up to providing you with a wonderful break. Known for our excellent service and food, we have 36 en-suite bedrooms, secure storage, drying room, FREE WiFi and private parking for our guests. So if you want to escape for some well earned rest and relaxation, or to enjoy some quality time with friends and family, the Tontine is the perfect place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders Scotland
Peebles Tontine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing