We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Itison Deal / Friday 22nd February 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Itison Deal / Friday 22nd February 2013”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Gifted to us by our kids!! Dont know how much it cost!! Fantastic Hotel, Great Location, Lovely Rooms, Food great and Staff very welcoming and friendly. We had Afternoon tea with Prosecco as part of the deal, served in the Lounge next to a roaring coal fire. Breakfast cooked to order, lovely!! Had a pub crawl in the evening. Lots of local bars and lovely restaurants nearby. Walked round the Town in the morning. Fab night and would deffinately go back to this lovely hotel. [Stayed in room 2 with 4 poster bed and lovely big bathroom]

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 on the 1st floor [only has ground +1 floor]. Beautiful big comfortable 4 poster...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janysbanany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Delighted to learn and read about your enjoyable stay with us here at "The Tontine". We believe and agree, it was a great deal and we were so pleased that many indulged. Keep checking our web site for similar deals this spring and beyond and we look forward to welcoming you back again!
Kate & Gordon Innes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    281
    46
    21
    8
See reviews for
128
445
46
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
317 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on Tuesday 12 th February with Itson offer too. well worth every penny! We had the afternoon tea where they actually ask what sandwiches you would like from a choice of five or six, freshly made. There was also home-made shortbread, gingerbread, scones and meringues, and a glass of Prosecco and tea and coffee. We had it in the lounge where there is comfy sofas and chairs and a lovely REAL fire blazing away. We also ate in the restaurant and that is mostly what I would describe as homely food, fish and chips, burgers, scampi, gammon steak etc. Our room was to the back (we upgraded that for an extra £10), and we had a super view of the River Tweed and the mountains. The water from the shower was piping hot and loads of fresh white towels. ALL the staff were polite, friendly and could not do enough for us. It was snowing outside and very cold but when you walk into the Tontine it is warm, cosy and friendly.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scottishperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Thank you for your review and delighted to learn of your delight and satisfaction with your stay. As is evident from other reviews the "itison" promotion is finding good favour and providing very good value for money. We thank you for your comments reagrding the hot water and linen towels as it does justify our recent investment (2009/2010) in a new boiler and hot water system. As we refurbish bedrooms it also allows us to install new thermostat control radiators, towel rails and modern sustainable showers, piping hot water and adjustable pressure. The coal fires, situated in the public rooms, despite their age, do tend to create a more traditional warmth but we love them too!
Our Restaurant menu does focus on the homely favourites but you can also dine on local Venison, Corn -fed Chicken and Sea Bass. Our menu changes each quarter to reflect local dishes and seasonality of produce.
Thank you so much for your recommendation.
Kate & Gordon Innes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

another good visit for my birthday. An itison deal, very good value, upgraded to a superior room, on first floor, excellent, good breakfast. dinner ok, menu been the same for a while. Afternoon tea, excellent, £10 on menu, but included in itison deal, so nice touch for the trip. Another very good birthday. it rained, then sleat... so we enjoyed the views, especially from the dining room, hotel cosy and warm, friendly and attentive staff.

Room Tip: superior room was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murphy-edin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Thanks for your review and delighted to read of your birthday treat and overall satisfaction. The "itison" promotion has produced well for us throughout January & February and we are pleased to learn of the good value placed on our offers. The Superior room up-grade is a great tip and recommendation for other guests!
We do actually change our Menu every quarter although some traditional favourite dishes are long standing features for which people return on a regular basis. We do hope to welcome you back for a further visit to Peebles and "The Tontine".
Kate & Gordon Innes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stayed one night with our little border collie, Megan. As we'd expected, this meant that we were relegated to one of the less salubrious rooms way out the back of the hotel. Which was fine, perfectly acceptable. The only down-side was a quite hideous tiny double bed. Probably one of the worst night's sleep we had in a 9 day trip around scotland (including the sleeper train home from Inverness). The staff were all friendly though and I have to say I had one of the best dinners of our trip there - local venison was fantastic. Just a shame that Megan couldn't join us by the fire in the bar and had to stay in the car whenever we left the room.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gemma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We loved your comments reagrding our food and staff service and yes we agree with your recommendation regarding the local venison dish at Dinner. We also agree with your constructive feedback regarding the bed in Room 47, the bedroom allocated for your stay with us. It is one of our older specimens and does need replaced. We have recently refurbished Rooms 42,44,48 & 49 in this corridor all with new beds, king size "zip & link" giving us great flexibility. We will target Room 47 this year. As you are now hopefully aware we are undertaking a huge programme of investment and bedroom up-gardes as time and money permit and will continue to do so throughout 2013. I do hope we will welcome you back again and please do ask for a newly refurbished room.
Kate & Gordon Innes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

This is a very good, mid-range hotel with very welcoming and helpful staff. The bedrooms are comfortable, if unexciting, but the main dining room is handsome and has great views - apart from overlooking the roof of a modern extension. Food is very good and the bar and sitting area warm and comfortable. Positioned in the town-centre of Peebles is is a great location and not too noisy at night. Recommend it strongly.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter and more modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Thank you for your review and a great recommendation. We have also recently refurbished rooms in the original house, so please do ask for the allocation of one of the hotels recently redecorated rooms, but those rooms in the Riverside Lodge overlooking the river are as you say really well located with great views. We also like your comment about our town centre location. Thanks again for taking the time to post your review!
Kate & Gordon Innes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013 via mobile

We took advantage of the low price 2 night special, bed and breakfast both nights & evening meal on 1 night.
The hotel has some lovely views and a potentially beautiful dining room. The whole place is slightly run down and could do with a complete make over.
The staff are a strange mix of really attentive and polite people and some who really should not be in contact with customers. I asked one of the staff if there was a way through the hotel to the rear car park so I could bring my bags in without being in the rain, he said yes and walked into another room and shut the door! The opposite can be said of the young lady on the reception, she was happy, smiley, helpful asked if we required anything, the perfect receptionist.
The food was ok, nothing special to write about.
I'm sorry to say we would not go back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyDebra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. We would have been pleased to receive your feedback personally regarding the young man who was less than helpful to you regarding directions. All staff wear "name badges" and this customer service is not, we feel a true reflection of our ethos here at "The Tontine". However apologies are due to you on this ocassion.
We feel your comments about the "wholeplace being run-down" are slightly unfair. You will have read our comments and replies to other reviews that we are indeed giving the hotel a "makeover" on an on-going basis. Throughout 2012 we have refurbished bedrooms and corridors in the "Riverside Lodge". Rooms 1 & 2 in the old house and the ladies restrooms were completed towards the end of 2012 and this year, already we have just completed the re-decoration of Rooms 10 & 11. A 200 year old building presents huge issues regarding investment and up-grade and we do hope we are attacking this as time and monies allow us.
We are sad to learn that you would not recommend us or indeed re-visit yourselves but again thank you for the constructive nature of your feedback and review.
Kate & Gordon Innes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

This hotel is excellent. Staff very welcoming and they always do whatever they can to meet my requirements. The hotel is being upgraded. Some of the rooms in the old part of the hotel need upgrading but I have always had a lovely stay. Rooms in the back have been decorated to a high standard and the ladies powder room within the main building has just been finished and looks wonderful. The lounge is very comfortable with a coal fire. Staff extremely attentive and well trained. The dining room is delightful. Breakfasts are excellent and I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Speak to reception who are more than willing to advise your best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Thank you very much for such a positive review. Your commentary and observations rearding "upgrade" are very much up to date. We refurbished the ladies rest rooms prior to Christmas, before starting works to bedrooms 10 & 11 in the old house. As always with this 200 year old building, improvements and upgrading projects are "on-going" and we will continue to invest in the fabric of the building throughout 2013. We very much look forward to welcoming you again and don't forget to request a recently refurbished bedroom!
Kate & Gordon Innes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peebles
0.5 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
1,920 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
740 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#5 of 8 in Peebles
220 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle Venlaw Hotel
Castle Venlaw Hotel
#4 of 8 in Peebles
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders

Property: Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
Address: High Street, Peebles EH45 8AJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Peebles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Peebles, we are a family run hotel totally geared up to providing you with a wonderful break. Known for our excellent service and food, we have 36 en-suite bedrooms, secure storage, drying room, FREE WiFi and private parking for our guests. So if you want to escape for some well earned rest and relaxation, or to enjoy some quality time with friends and family, the Tontine is the perfect place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders Scotland
Peebles Tontine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing