We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
Nearby Hotels
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Peebles Hydro(Peebles)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Park(Peebles)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Traquair Arms Hotel(Innerleithen)
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Windlestraw(Walkerburn)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,038)
Filter reviews
1,038 results
Traveller rating
650
308
50
22
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
650
308
50
22
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsadam roomadams roomhigh streetoverlooking the rivercentral locationopen firefriendly hotelfirst classwedding receptiongood sizecomfortable roomslovely towndining roomlounge areascottish bordersbreakfast was excellenthuge bed
Filter
Updating list...
792 - 797 of 1,038 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2013

The staff were always cheerful and helpful. The food for the wedding breakfast was excellent in stunning surroundings. Our room with a view was very comfortable and the hotel is lovely. I have no complaints so well done TeamTontine.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janekeScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Thank you so much for your review and kind comments following your recent family wedding. It was certainly a lovely weekend and we all enjoyed catering for such a lovely event.
Kate & Gordon Innes & The Tontine Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Stayed for two nights end march 2013 generally very good only disappointment had to look for bar person when wanting a drink. Great stopping off point for touring,great food and restaurant service very good

Room Tip: Room 2 has a four poster bed but view onto fire escape
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isobel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Thanks for your review and general good feedback. Thanks for your constructive feedback re bar and service which we will monitor on-going and ensure no waits for thirsty customers and very glad to read of your enjoyment in the Restaurant.
Kate, Gordon Innes & Tontine Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

A friend and I had entered this bike race which was held yesterday. We stayed at theTontine the night before. The staff could not have been more pleasant, co-operative and helpful. The crowning point was when we arrived back from the race, soaked to the skin and were instantly offered a hot shower (and not charged for it). It was divine. Borders hospitality is the warmest in the world.
Incidentally, the beef and ale pie for dinner was superb! I'd recommend it very highly. Looking forward to seeing you next year!

Judith Scott and Shirley Ferguson.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jude3952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Have stayed here over a number of years. Food good, service excellent. Good selection of wines, beers and malts. Also has a cocktail list. Great location. Next time will try the afternoon tea which looked awesome.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mountlodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We have stayed several times over the past few years and always enjoyed ourselves. The food is super and the breakfasts in particular are something to look forward to. The service is super and you are always made very welcome. My daughter travels there just for the afternoon teas !Just wish I could go more often.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the river are usually a little quieter although arguably don't have as much character as they are newer !
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triciamcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews