We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel in Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Hotel is in Peebles main street which is ideal for browsing the shops. The check in was quick and easy with the receptionist being very friendly and helpful. There is a car park at the back of the hotel which she kindly told us about as parking on the street is limited to 45 minutes during the day. The rooms were tastefully decorated, however the bathroom was in need of tiding up. We stayed in room 32 which was overlooked by the restaurant which give little privacy in the room or bathroom.The room did not have air con, which with the extremely hot weather would have made our stay more comfortable. We did not eat in hotel as choose to eat in the local curry house across the road. This was not a reflection on the food, as just fancied a curry. All the staff we spoke to were friendly and knowledgeable about the local area. If we are in area in the future we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 32 is overlooked by the restaurant and walkway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenga52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you "Jenga52" for this fantastic review via Tripadvisor. Great to read your good feedback regarding the hotel. Please do visit us again and next time if you fancy a curry, try our "house curry" which we love!
Kate & Gordon Innes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (986)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

610 - 616 of 986 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

My friend and I had an overnight at the Tontine on 19th July - was able to park right outside hotel as friend had a disabled card. The staff were extremely helpful , reception quick book in - assistance to room with luggage, had dinner in hotel streak was delicious. breakfast very very good everything any one could ask for.

had a really good time there will definitely return

Thanks to all staff young and slightly older all were magnificent - Ellen Lynch

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thanks "Ellen L" for posting your review on Tripadvisor. All staff "young & old" are grateful for your positive comments regarding our service and thank you for taking time to highlight the team! Delighted to read you had a "lovely overnight" stay @ "The Tontine"
Kate, Gordon Innes & "The Tontine Team".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed for one Thursday night in July en route from Devon to a shared family holiday in Perthshire. It was our first trip with a well behaved dog and the Tontine Hotel excelled in making us all very welcome. We booked by phone as we were taking the dog (I couldn't see how to book on line for a room with a dog?). Staff were very helpful when booking and throughout our stay, we had a very comfortable room, car parking at the rear of the hotel was much appreciated, the dinner we enjoyed was excellent as was the breakfast. The town centre location - but close to good walks for our dog - was very helpful. Definitely value for money as well. We can highly recommend a stay at the Tontine Hotel and our only disappointment was that we were only there for one night!

Room Tip: We were allocated a room where we could also take our dog and we were very happy with the accommodat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you very much "Jean P" a super review for us to reflect upon. We are all very grateful that you have taken time to post such positive comments. Our recent "dog friendly" campaign has certainly found favour as we are well placed to cater for "well-behaved guests" and their dogs.
It is also pleasing to note your positive feedback about the staff, team and service.
Thanks again, Kate, Gordon Innes & "The Tontine Team"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I would recommend The Tontine Hotel in Peebles to anyone who wants a quiet break in this picturesque Borders town. The hotel is stunning and unique. Staff could not be more helpful.They are very friendly and went out of their way to help us enjoy all aspects of our stay. We had dinner, bed and breakfast and the food was absoultely suberb and the service excellent. Thank you to all staff for making our stay so pleasant. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you very much "Katherine M". Your first review on Tripadvisor and we are all so pleased to read your comments. It is again a pleasure to learn of the excellent service delivered by "The Team" both in terms of food quality and service. Delighted to learn you had such a "wonderful hotel experience". Welcome to the "Tripadvisor Community" and we do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again!
Kate, Gordon Innes & "The Tontine Team".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely as always in the frontline hotel, lounge very and the afternoon's tea are 10/10 ,recommend to all to go for lunch or dinner or to stay great place, staff are in plenty supply and very very helpfull

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you "Mark G" for posting this super review via TripAdvisor. Very pleased to read your 10/10 score for Afternoon Tea and as always delighted that you have found favour with the team, staff and service levels, of which we are very proud.
Many thanks, Kate, Gordon Innes & "The Tontine Team"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Staff are all courteous, friendly and importantly seem to enjoy working here. Bedroom with large comfortable double bed, small wall mounted tv and free internet access. Nice bathroom, plenty of large fluffy towels, only small criticism is the shower was not thermostatic and had to be controlled from the bath taps.
Nice restaurant with a splendid dinning room. If making a dinning reservation ask for one of the tables at a window. Food I found to be good value, you could still get a Sunday roast at 8:00pm. Better than average wine by the glass. Breakfast selection is also very good, with hot food served to your table not the all too typical buffet. Well located with parking. Stayed a Sunday and Monday with my wife who was attending a course. We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear "Alan H". Thank you so much for posting such a great review via TripAdvisor.
Your review Title has got to be included in our Vision and Mission Statements and the entire team were delighted to read and review your very kind feedback and comments.
Thank you very much indeed!
Kate, Gordon Innes & "The Tontine Team"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

2013 December we had a night out here with stay over. It was a great night there was 8 in our party, the hall the set out nicely not big but enough for atmosphere. Meal was lovely. The room was to back of hotel with views of river. Nice room very thing there that you need for overnight stay. Breakfast was good plenty of options to hit the spot as a hangover cure! Would certainty go back and Peebles itself is a lovely town and often go there for walk and ice cream with my Dad.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Di_50_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you "Di_50_13" for a great review following your visit to the hotel last Christmas. Your review coincides with a recent meeting we all had to start the plans for Christmas and New Year 2014/15. We agree very much with your observations and comments that we are a great venue for an overnight Xmas break, whether enjoying with family and friends or work colleagues. Do hope you may decide on another "Festive visit"
Kate & Gordon Innes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peebles
0.5 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
2,140 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Park
The Park
#5 of 8 in Peebles
466 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#6 of 8 in Peebles
237 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle Venlaw Hotel
Castle Venlaw Hotel
#4 of 8 in Peebles
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders

Address: High Street, Peebles EH45 8AJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Peebles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Price Range: £57 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Peebles, we are a family run hotel totally geared up to providing you with a wonderful break. Known for our excellent service and food, we have 36 en-suite bedrooms, secure storage, drying room, FREE WiFi and private parking for our guests. So if you want to escape for some well earned rest and relaxation, or to enjoy some quality time with friends and family, the Tontine is the perfect place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders Scotland
Peebles Tontine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing