We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“What a pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

What an incredibly nice hotel with the most helpful and friendly staff. Owner run and managed by folk who really go the extra mile. We cannot wait to be able to visit again. Food was also good. Room was excellent, we felt like royals being spoilt. Thank you so much

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy_M_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you very much indeed "TimothyMarkSight" for your excellent review posted via TripAdvisor. We are incredibly pleased that you have highlighted the service received from "The Team" and indeed highlighted our aim of "going the extra mile". Very pleased that you so enjoyed your visit to Peebles and "The Tontine"
Kate, Gordon Innes & "The Tontine Team"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    273
    44
    20
    8
See reviews for
126
428
46
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Due to my husband taking part in the Tour O' the Borders cycle event we stayed at the Tontine for 2 nights. Our room had a lovely view of the river, was spotlessly clean and comfortable with lovely, quality toiletries provided. The food for breakfast and dinner was both excellent and plentiful. Staff were very friendly and helpful and I was impressed that the hotel put on a very early breakfast option for cyclists, provided a lock-up for bikes and offered the use of a drying room if required. We both had a great weekend and look forward to when we can return.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the rear car park also have a great river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear "Carol P". Thank you, a great review via Tripadvisor and we really appreciate your "Mighty Fine" recommendation! You have given some excellent feedback regarding our MTB and cycling facilities and we are delighted you came to Peebles and took part in the annual "Tour of The Borders". Peebles and The Tweed Valley is certainly becoming a great venue for both MTB and road cycling and we are certainly geared up to welcome you all! Hope to see you again next year, if not before.
Kate & Gordon Innes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarrow, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Spent one night at the Tontine unfortunately, would have preferred longer! The hotel is situated on the Main Street of Peebles you couldn't miss it . Quite a big hotel and the interior is very well decorated the rooms are traditional with traditional Harris Tweed cushions and matching curtains, we were in the basement which is not recommended if you have mobility difficulties as it is down two sets of stairs, the view was not good in this room but the room was so lovely you didn't need a view.
Breakfast was delicious with a wide selection of cereal and fruit, there was a few choices of hot food but I plumped for the Scottish breakfast which was delicious . The whole weekend was such a treat and the staff couldn't have been anymore helpful and very friendly.
I will definately be returning soon.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you very much "Liz W" for writing your "very nice" review. Thanks for highlighting our great central location again and we are also grateful for your positive feedback regarding our newly refurbished bedroom product. We also love your super feedback regarding the team of staff here at the hotel, who all love reading a great Tripadvisor review.
Many thanks! Kate, Gordon Innes & "The Tontine Team".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Peebles is a lovely border town. I've visited several times previously, but never stayed at the Tontine.

The main hotel and 'Classic' rooms date from the early 1800's and though I'm no expert, many original features appear to be intact and add to the overall atmosphere.

Our (family) room was spacious and comfortable. I wouldn't say 'luxurious', but certainly more than adequate.

The staff were friendly and attentive and the food in the restaurant was good.

The location if the hotel us perfect, it being right in the centre of Peebles High Street, with the River Tweed/ Tweed Green to the rear.

I'd certainly be more than happy to stay again.

Room Tip: Classic rooms are in the original hotel building, others are in an annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philh27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you "philh27" for your Tripadvisor review. We agree very much with your feedback regarding our central location, right in the heart of the town. Your room tips are great too, with "Classic" rooms located in the original house and in our "Riverside Lodge" with some enjoying great views of the River Tweed. We all hope to welcome you and your family again!
Kate & Gordon Innes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this lovely hotel and were sorry it was only for one night. We would certainly stay here again if we have the opportunity.
The staff were friendly, professional and welcoming.
The room was roomy, well appointed and had a huge bed. The shower was good too
The food was excellent and plentiful.
As there no lifts you may need to ask for help with the luggage but the staff were so helpful I am sure this would not be a problem.

Very good value and a very good base for touring around the Scottish Borders.

Room Tip: We liked the ambience in the old part of the hotel but there was some traffic noise as it is on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you very much "Fiona L" for your review via Tripadvisor. Many thanks for mention of the super staff and team and indeed for your great overall recommendation! We are all delighted to learn you would recommend and visit again.
Kate, Gordon Innes & "The Tontine Team".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel sits on the main street in the beautiful borders town of Peebles. The staff could not have been more helpful and courteous and made for a very pleasant stay. I was in a room in the annexe at the back of the hotel. You may need some help with luggage if staying in this part as there are 2 staircases and no lift. The receptionist offered assistance with the luggage so no problem. The room had been refurbished recently and the bathroom was very large with modern fittings. Although a little dark inside the room, it was very nicely furnished and decorated. The bed was a little hard however for my taste. The breakfast was excellent, offering both traditional cooked and continental choices. The view over the hills from the dining room is lovely so try to grab a seat by the window! The Tontine is a historical building and the owners have sympathetically refurbished it to reflect its past. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to experience time in a beautiful small town set within outstanding countryside.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Valerie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Many thanks indeed "Valerie P" for posting your review which I have to say we loved reading. You give some lovely feedback about the staff which we love! Overall your review is very positive with a couple of great constructive points regarding the location of our bedrooms.
Super feedback and grateful thanks again!
Kate, Gordon Innes & "The Tontine Team".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earlston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We happened upon this hotel after the disappointment of a nearby café where they were obviously not wanting our custom (Tatlers Café, which you should avoid!). Five of us, including an elderly relative in a wheelchair arrived fairly late into lunch and were met by attentive and smiling waiting staff who could not have been more helpful or pleasant. The soup was piping hot and exceptionally tasty and the sandwiches well filled and presented nicely. The bistro had a lovely atmosphere and superb views to the hills at the rear. The pictures of old Peebles as well as the more modern art (available to buy) provided an interesting backdrop which we took time to look at whilst waiting the short time for our food to arrive.

The hotel looked to be very popular with locals and visitors alike, and we'll definitely be back when next in Peebles. Very well done.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fyfie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Many thanks indeed "Fyfie2014" for taking time to post your review, following your recent visit for Lunch. We were all delighted you made mention of the team who looked after you and we are grateful for your very positive feedback and recommendation.
Kate, Gordon Innes & "The Tontine Team".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peebles
0.5 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#4 of 8 in Peebles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle Venlaw Hotel
Castle Venlaw Hotel
#5 of 8 in Peebles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders

Property: Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
Address: High Street, Peebles EH45 8AJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Peebles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Peebles, we are a family run hotel totally geared up to providing you with a wonderful break. Known for our excellent service and food, we have 36 en-suite bedrooms, secure storage, drying room, FREE WiFi and private parking for our guests. So if you want to escape for some well earned rest and relaxation, or to enjoy some quality time with friends and family, the Tontine is the perfect place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders Scotland
Peebles Tontine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing